We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My return to Holiday Village in 2011 review”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarigerme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Village Turkey Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sarigerme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Went back again in August of 2011 and again was not dissapointed... This time we did a couple of excursions... I would recommend the Safari jeep for the whole family... Me, hubby and 2 girls... one 11 and the other was 15 at the time... all had the most amazing day out with the Turkish reps..They are just tooooo funny. I defy anyone not to enjoy the safari trip.... We also did the Turkish night which was fab.... I have put some pictures up this time so you can see for yourself.. Oh and don't forget to try the pancakes. There is a lady that sits most of the day in a open cabin making these yummy pancakes.......Mmmmmm

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
13  Thank KimberlyAR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,882 - 2,888 of 4,532 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend went to this hotel last septmeber/beginning of October. We stayed for a week and travelled with first choice. Having had a bad experience the year before with Thomas cook, and having read some of the reviews were a little nervous. However we didnt need to worry as the hotel was fantastic.

We had a very speedy transfer, only taking 20 minutes, on arrival at the hotel (about 2am) we were checked in very quickly and showed to our room. Make sure you have some change with you as the night porter will not go away until you have tipped. We made this mistake and the boy actually wedged his foot in the door! it's not rude, it is what they are use to.

The rooms are ok. We had a fairly big room. Unfortunatly we were stuck with twin beds that arent the most comftable in the world. In all the room was very clean, with our bed's made daily and fresh towels. We had a balcony and the room was very quiet. It was also a good distance from the pool and main reception, so we never had to walk very far.

The food was fantastic, there was always something new to eat and you never went hungry. Unfortunatly I am allergic to peanuts and had an allergic reaction to the homus. so please be careful! other then that food was fab and you could eat whatever you wanted. We also dined at the asian restaurant and the turkish. Both restaurants were freezing as there air-con was on too much, but again food was good and service fantastic. Dont forget to check out the pancake lady, the pancakes are delicious and are a great afternoon snack. some people are very greedy and take so much, dont forget to say thank you!

We spent alot of time at the chill out bar and had some lovely cocktails, although all spirts are free poor and the vodka was very strong!

We also booked in for a turkish bath with the rep until we realised that they take you off site to somewhere else. There is a perfectly good beauty salon in the hotel, run by locals and is about £5 cheaper. They are fantastic we even got a free facial. The staff did such a good job, and i have never felt so relaxed and clean! We then booked in for a full body massage the day before we left, just to make sure we were really relaxed! it was amazing, we had our massages together which i would recommend as my 'male' massuse seemed to become a bit excited!

We also booked in for a boat ride and to explore the sea, we were taken by some local lads to a cove which had amazing sea caves and the water was so clear that you could see the sea bed. We were allowed to get out of the boat and swim in the sea or jump from the rocks. We were then taken on to see rabbit island, which was a little disappointing as we only saw 1 rabbit! we then stopped again where everyone could do some snorkelling or swimming. This was again booked with one of the guys around the pool, not through the reps as these were so expensive! please use the locals as they dont earn much money and the reps are a complete rip off.

On the sunday we went into the local town, which is about a 20 minute walk to experience the market, and what an experience it was! we got down there at about 10am as we thought it was a morning market, this was a bit of a mistake as we were one of the first people here. My advice is dont get into a conversation with the sellers and keep your head down and be firm! My boyfriend got talked into buying a belt that he didnt want! The locals are very charming but they wont let you leave until you buy something. We got some excellent deals and the fakes are very good, and dont forget to haggle!

For us the town was a bit too quiet. we like the option to go out for dinner or drinks if we want to, but there was no where really to go. However the seafood restaurant is worth a visit. stay away from the dolphin bar, the cocktails are horrible and taste exactly the same and look like WKD, I couldnt drink mine as it was so sugary.

We wern't told by first choice that the hotel provided beach towels. So we ended up taking our own which was a waste of weight and space in our suitcases. You really dont need your own towel as they give you a clean swimming towel whenever you need it. We didnt have a problem with the sunbeds as the hotel was much quieter when we went, but we did still go and put our towels down before we went for breakfast as we did find a really good spot which had the sun all day.

Dont change up your money in the uk, do it when you get there, we changed up our money at the newsagent in the town. The guy who runs it, speaks fantastic english and is really helpful and we got a good deal, also the hotel will change it up for you as well. You get a much better exchange rate in turkey then you do in the uk. I think we got 2.90 to the £1.

In total, this holiday was fantastic. I wouldnt go back as I dont like to go to the same place twice, but I will definatly will be using first choice again and have just booked to go to egypt this year with them. Please dont pay too much attention to the bad reviews, its usually by people who cannot be pleased. The holiday is what you make it, but the hotel is fantastic and the weather was amazing. would recommened this holiday to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Abbey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We went here on honeymoon in October 2011 and took along our 5 year old son. We were a little disappointed with our suite..it wasn't as grand as we had expected. The fold down bed in the lounge was extremely uncomfortable, however it was clean and tidy. My son especially enjoyed the jacuzzi bath. I liked the robes and slippers that were provided..a nice touch.
There was a good choice of food on the daily buffet and the Turkish a la carte was also very tasty. The local lager and red wine was very nice and my son enjoyed helping himself to juice. We did find the bar staff to be quite surley though. Not at all friendly.
The animation team were very hard working and constantly on the go. Quite disappointing the the UK kids club was only for an hour per day.
It was a bit of a trek to the local town (worth getting a taxi back as its all uphill!) and the town itself was a bit drab.
Lots of complaints about the rep sold outings as some were very similar and ended up doing the same things at the same places. A few people demanded money back.
A nice enough hotel but we won't be back

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mrszombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Visited in September of last year, coach journey from airport wasn't too bad and check in didn't take long. Upon arrival at our room I ordered room service as it was late at night, hot dogs and a can of coke, they kindly gave us extra chips free of charge and the food was a welcoming snack at a great price.

Pool area was nice with lots of activities but we were ushered into a meeting room on the first day with the sole purpose of selling excursions. LET ME SAY NOW, DO NOT BOOK EXCURSIONS VIA THE REPS, they are a lot more expensive than walking into town to book the same trip. WHOLE HEARTEDLY RECOMMEND PANDA TOURS!!! You can book your trip and only pay once you get back, Adnan, the owner of the company is such a lovely guy and made our holiday perfect, even offering to let us borrow his Land Rover to go shopping even though I broke the window! We went off roading in the mountains and swam in mountain streams, went to Turtle Beach, a Turkish spa, anything we wanted Adnan would cater for, a true gent and took him for a steak dinner to say thank you for making our holiday perfect.

Restaurant was nice with a large (if not sometimes strange) selection of foods, catering for all nationalities, we were never left hungry.

Day time snacks were plentiful and you cannot miss the pancake bar just down from the main pool, they are amazing and worth the wait!!

Evenings were full of activities and entertainment even if at times they were supplied by some other guests, we met some lovely people there which we still keep in contact with.

The spa was lovely, we visited twice and was certainly worth the money.

Only problem we had was with reservations to the al a carte restaurants, the woman behind the desk wrote the wrong day on our ticket, when we arrived it was closed so we went back but she said there was nothing we could do and that we had missed our booking. Once speaking to the hotel manager (a lovely English woman) things were swiftly rectified, although the bookings ladies' nose was clearly put out of joint for having her word over-ridden! Food was nice and certainly a nice change from the normal restaurant.

Room was always clean and fridge stocked with bottled water, and you can always get more from the plenty of fridges located throughout the hotel complex.

Sarigerme town is probably a 20-30 minute walk from the hotel and it is a nice walk with plenty of views to break it up. The market was, well, interesting to think of a better word. The stall holders clearly don't know when to give up. Never accept their first price and don't be afraid to walk away, they will generally call you back and accept a lower price. Also, sad to say it but when they offer to shake your hand kindly decline, they will not let go and try to literally drag you in to their shop or stall.

There is also plenty of nice reasonably priced restaurants in the town too.

Free wifi in the hotel reception was a godsend, making it easy to stay in contact with my business at home via skype on my phone.

Lots of lovely little areas to chill out and relax with hotel complex, and the chillout bar near the beach is great.

Although there were lots of Russians THEY WERE NEVER A PROBLEM, if anything it was a couple of the British families which lowered the tone on one or two occasions, however it only made for great evening entertainment and didn't cause any issues.

Lots of young children and families but again there are plenty of places to get quiet time if you are a couple.

Would not return only because we don't like to go to the same place twice, but many people we met have already rebooked for 2012.

A lovely holiday, made perfect by the excursions from Panda Tours!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mucho-mogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

hotel as i said faultless, very clean, turkish staff worked very hard almost around the clock!? buffet was amazing so much to chose from, cant believe so many people were just eating chicken nuggets, chips, pizza etc?? some of the bar staff were a little snappy but i think this was just due to the blatent rudness of some of the holiday makers? Great hotel kids love all the pools, very dissapointed though by the advertised private beach which was disgusting full of fagbutts and rubbish, dirty sand, sea went from walking into it to dropping down, there was no close toilets and no close refreshments hut! definetly not a picture postcard beach as advertised by firstchoice, we even tried the beach in sarigerme which you go to by taxi and that was equally as disgusting and rated top 5 in turkey going by reps? totally rubbish! The evening entertainment was also very cheesy, repetitive and rubbish it was the same every night! was like being in Butlins in Turkey and when the main act came out which was basically nearly ever night the same 4 reps trying to sing and dance and we all had to watch kids were'nt even allowed to dance! They are on holiday and want to have a good time this means for many dancing! very dissapointing and boring for adults and kids? Would of been nice to see some local Turkish entertaIners some nights as we are on holiday in Turkey as i said if we want to see cheesy English wannabees we would go to Butlins!? If you want to get away from the hotel you can walk into the main town 20minute but to be quite honest theres not much there there is only about 3 restaurants and a small street of shops. We did manage to get away on 4 excursions for which were full days and well recommended sarigerme tours Alfie was our yourr guide he is awsome guy go and see him! ( especially dalyan mudbaths and Jeep safari which the kids love) also we did book 1 trip through firstchoice which was turkish night as noone else did it and that was really good. To sum up this holiday we had a good time our 3 kids aged 3,7 and 9 loved it also (didnt use kids clubs?) but the evening entertainment and beach let it down alot and the area is very small not much to do unless you go on the excursions.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank goodguyadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

A lot of bad reviews about holiday village !but to be honest food was good rooms were clean complex an ground well groomed.The beach is a little walk through the village and u can't take sun beds to waters edge due to turtles who lay there eggs here,so it's a 50 mtre walk for a dip but u don't have to go on sunbeds.The complex is in sarigerme which has a little row of shops an a market once a week if ur looking for busy like bodrum then here's not for u,but if u got kids this place is brilliant ,I went with my wife on late deal an was very happy.Take dolmus outside hotel to sarigerme 50p cab £5 any questions be happy to help .

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank harveyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This review will sadly sound like the Meldrews abroad, as our experience at this hotel was really disappointing. We feel pressured into writing about our experience here, as our response from TUI comprised of little more than a standard photocopied letter which addressed none of the issues we raised with them, after what became an endurance test rather than an enjoyable holiday.
We were recommended this hotel by our local First Choice agent. It would not even be our last choice in future and in the end we were made to feel that we wished we'd stayed at home! We have had quite a wide range of experience with this grade of hotel, so our expectations were quite high. Sadly we were very disappointed for several reasons.
Mainly because my wife suffered severe food poisoning from eating the salad the second day we were there. She was bed ridden for at least two days and was unable to eat properly again until the day before we left. This made us all very wary of everything we ate from then on, and we made sure that we only ate the well-cooked choices. Not having Mum join my son and I for meals, and confined to the room for over half the holiday, spoilt the holiday for us all.
Although this was the most serious of our issues, things kicked off to a bad start the minute we arrived. There were no reps to greet us or explain the procedure on arrival, which resulted in confusion when we were asked in broken English not to touch our cases until we had checked in. The reason for this became apparent when we then had to attach a sticker to our case after check-in, and leave it by the coach, so that we could pay a porter to drag our case the 100 or so feet to our room (having managed to get the case from the UK to the hotel ourselves, I'm sure we could have managed to wheel it the last few feet!)
We had requested either a quiet room or one with a view over the pool-sadly we got neither! There wasn't a single night where we were allowed to sleep through, thanks to the inconsideration of the other British hotel users. Had my wife not been so ill, then we would definitely have requested to move rooms, as the design of the hotel is such that every floor has been opened up to the one above, so that the indoor plants and trees have space to grow. This means that everyone in the hotel “benefits” from the noise of all the uncontrolled kids coming back from the only entertainment on offer by the hotel, which appeared to be only geared at the younger generation. We were sold a fantastic entertainment package, but the only area that appeared to offer any form of entertainment, and therefore the place where everyone congregated at night was the very small, claustrophobic and very stuffy conference room! The few “ shows” that were put together were very amateur and aimed at kids only, and these went on till at least 11pm, so it was hardly any wonder that the hotel was full of over-excited children and very bored looking adults till late every night. More frustrating was the fact that the hotel had many facilities, including an outdoor entertainments arena. But these were not used throughout our entire stay, making us feel like we’d paid for something we were not getting. OK, we were nearing the end of season, but if the hotel is happy to take people in at this time of year, then they should also offer the full events programme too!
On the positive side, the hotel was kept generally very clean, and the pools, although very cold, were well maintained and very attractive. It will not be somewhere we will ever choose to go back to though; too noisy, the staff looked very unhappy and as a predominately English fed hotel, the standard of English was quite low. Not for us, I’m afraid.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarigerme
0 mi away
TUI Family Life Tropical Resort
1.2 mi away
TUI BLUE Sarigerme Park
TUI BLUE Sarigerme Park
#3 of 10 in Sarigerme
327 reviews
12.1 mi away
Rixos Premium Gocek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The One Club Hotel
The One Club Hotel
#6 of 10 in Sarigerme
202 reviews
12.7 mi away
D- Resort Gocek
D- Resort Gocek
#1 of 19 in Gocek
383 reviews
1.8 mi away
SENO Resort Sarigerme
SENO Resort Sarigerme
#5 of 10 in Sarigerme
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Turkey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Turkey Hotel

Address: Sarigerme 48600, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Sarigerme
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sarigerme
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sarigerme
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sarigerme
Price Range: $121 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Village Turkey Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Turkey Sarigerme Hotel Sarigerme
Holiday Village Turkey Hotel Sarigerme
Sarigerme Holiday Village Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing