We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caria Holiday Resort
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sarigerme
Reviewed June 8, 2010

I read all the reviews on here, so went with an open mind. Our room, standard twin, was very basic and outdated. Some of the restuarant staff were ignorant, there wasn't enough seats, cutlery was dirty, not enough staff at the bars in the evening.
On the plus side, the views are fantastic. The private beach was clean and had adequate facilities.
The only thing that makes this resort is the Animation team. They are fantastic and if you have children, they will do anything for them. Max, Barney, Ce Ce & Ty Ty need commending on a brilliant job!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoznJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Caria Holiday Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 123 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2010

4 women booked a cheap deal to the caria. After a 3 hr delay arrived at hotel in the middle of the night, no water or an offer of a cuppa. Took to 8th street which appeared to be the worst street next to workman's digs at hte highest point on the hill side. Rooms were clean but hairdryer hanging off wall, phone didn't work and had no hot water for last 3 days.Had to walk up 187 steps daily from the pool to the room, not good for the elderly, disabled, children or even us desperate housewives!!! although our arses now look like J Lo's. Got pool towels on the 1st day but were unable to get clean ones for the rest of the week. Pool large and clean but could have done with an adult only one. Food was average and often not replemished often went down for meals and there would be no water or coffee. Tables were often left and table cloths dirty. Poor kids in the restaurants run off their feet, not enough staff and appeared that managers just picked on them and they are all over worked. Thank god none of us got deli belly! On a more positive note we had a chilled out week, laughing at others downfalls and been entertained by Max, Firby, Barney, Gi Gi and Ci Ci, thank god they were there and the weather was great too. Also has 2 fab massagers and stunning views. Lots of changes need to be made and defo not a 4 star. Love the 2010 Desperate Housewives lol

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickysafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Just returned home from the Caria, the place is very clean the cleaners work all day, the food was very good. The rooms are basic but clean. The hotel is updating the rooms ,theve started from 1st street and are working there way up. the village is only one street of shops so not a lot of bargins to be had.This hotel is not for the elderly, young children,or anyone with walking difficulty as the hotel is built on the side of a mountain.I had a lovely relaxing week.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We arrived very early morning and it was a quick check -in then a porter drove us to the 7th street - on a very steep incline. When I asked (in the car) if we could move further down the hill he said they were fully booked! The front door did not fit properly and you could see into the apt and when I pointed this out to the porter, he just smiled and shrugged his shoulders.
The view from the "lap of the gods" s was breathtaking, but so it was from the ground floor (which we later found out when we got moved to level one on the 4th day).We were quite happy about the room, which had a bigger than usual bed in the bedroom and another in the living room with the sofa.
There was absolutely no kitchen utensils in either of the apt`s we stayed in other than 2 small glasses, so take your own travel kettle!!!!! oh, and there was a fridge! As We always say, you only sleep in the appartment and ours were cleaned every day with different designs made out of towels and petals (swan, heart etc). We did tip the maid so maybe this was part of the thankyou :).
As it was the school week off the place was very crowded and mainly full of - dare I say it - very, very rude Russians who didn`t know the meaning of the word queuing!!!! We observed many a run in between the Brits and the Russians and as the Turks dont really queue either, they didn`t bother telling people to stand orderly in the queue for food and this caused a few heated problems. i`d say it was 80/20 Russians to Brits!!!.
The food was JUST ok and because there were so many people pushing and shoving for food, it became a joke and so we ate out 3 out of 7 nights as we couldn`t be bothered with the hassle (puts a new meaning to all inclusive!). As previously said by other reviews, you couldn`t eat outside of an evening because of the wasps and the mozzies. A lot of people were bitten by mozzy`s, so take loads of spray with you (this could be just this time of year however).
The pool area was very clean and very well looked after. the night time entertainment wasn`t very good either and with very limited choices of alcohol, it didn`t bode well for a riveting night. As for cocktails - forget it......... they had one cocktail for the whole week and you took it or left it and this was only at one of the 3 bars...the others was beer, gin, vodka and occassionally whisky or brandy. Dire, to say the least!!!!!!
The staff seemed ok....not much communicating between us and them becasue their English was very limited. No reall gripes there however!
The town (which we called The OK Corral) as it was one main street, was a welcome break from the hotel and like people before me have said, book your trips from here and not the hotel as its cheaper. As you get out of the taxi in the town, there is a wonderful restaurant on the left (Ist one on the strip). We got recommended the peppered steak from a family staying in our hotel (£10) and it was to die for.well worth a visit. The town has many labelled fakes and very good fakes they are too (Bench, G-Star etc) also my favourite Radley bags are good copies and very good prices if you have the bottle to haggle :o).
Personally, we had a nice relaxing break, however the Russians spoilt it for us (their manners and the ratio of them to us - infact we thought it was a Russian owned hotel, which we have since been told its definately owned by Turks -but I`m still not convinced). I have nothing against Russians per say, just their attitude and manners to others.
This really is a cardiac hill hotel and to be honest, if you go then you cant complain about the many steps you may have to make to your apt, but everyone, including us, still did. I dont think you really appreciate how steep it is, you see, until you get there and believe me, its horrendous if your high up. We had to pack our bag for the pool with everything from sun spray to paractamols as we couldn`t face the climb back up in the heat of the day.......a little off putting. I did hear you could request a lift up from the porters in their cars, but we only found that out on the last day and it was definately not common knowledge if true!.
One thing I forgot to mention about the pool (which I know others on here have). There is very loud music round the pool, which didn`t bother me too much as it kept me from getting bored, but they only have about 3 cd`s, so the music is repeated and this becomes VERY irritating and annoying by about the 3rd day, so take your own music to the pool and make sure you have it loud to drown out their music (ipod and earphones to the ready), which you will know all the words to by the end of your stay!!!!

I went for a Turkish bath in the hotel that cost me £25 for 2 hrs. They recommend you have it on arrival to get rid of dead skin and prepare your body for the sun - apparently!. I have to say it was amazing and you get a full body scrub, a bubble massage and an oil, full body masage.I came out walking on air and definately recommend this.
Finally, to sum up.........We wouldn`t go back to this hotel again and as we haven`t been to Turkey before, this experience could have tainted our views on Turkey, however everyone said to try other areas as this was definately NOT a true picture of Turkey.........so, roll on next year!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazcade123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

This hotel was awful it was clean outside by the pool different story in are room.There was sewage coming up from the showers are room was cleaned twice and we were there for 10 days.evening meal is cooked outside with lots of flys and wasps.Entertainment was very poor and they have to nights of so unless you like sitting in a bar with jazz music to listen to.you are very restricted in this hotel as it is set in the mountains and have to get taxis everywere.It is not good for people with babys as its all hills and to get to the pool its all stairs.I did talk to the manger who was not intrested as he had already took my money i booked this holiday on the internet if i had a rep i would of got moved but dont think anyone like thomas cook or first choice would have this on there books.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al23456Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

we stayed at caria from 21st to 28th may 2010 .short transfer was good but hilly and lots
of steps was not good for pushchairs and unfit people.staff were friendly ,rooms all clean.good pools cleaned every night.food tasty and on par with what we have had elsewhere in turkey although no pizzas only pancakes .wine was most drinkable we have had in turkey ,no extra charge for cocktails.entertainment had a turkish night half way through week rest was animation team good for small kids only.flumes /water park unsupervised not up to uk safety stds but ok if you bear that in mind.mind you that probably relates to most things in turkey! overrall good value for money but more going on in big resorts if you like the hustle and bustle/nightlife. spent the least money on any holiday in turkey and never went short of anything.beach was best by far of our turkey visits a/i hut at beach was brill .local town small but friendly and cheap

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabandkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Caria Holiday Resort in Sarigerme, Turkey all inclusive for one week May 7th 2010. We booked flights, accommodation and transfers through Sunshine.co.uk. There were no problems with the transactions. The weather was hot and sunny all week.
The Caria Holiday Resort is in a lovely position high up on a hillside overlooking the sea and to snow capped mountains in the distance. If you have mobility problems forget this resort as to get anywhere on the complex involves steep climbs.
For the first 3 days of our stay there was more staff than holidaymakers at the resort as it was early in the season and they had only opened on the 1st of May. We found all the staff extremely polite, friendly and helpful. Dining room staff were so efficient they frequently removed our plate before we had finished eating – amusing at first but annoying as the week went by. There was probably only 20 or so other holidaymakers there so that meant no queuing in the dining room, bars, and loads of room around the pool with no one reserving sun-beds at 5am. If the resort was reasonably full I would imagine the pool and pool area would be far too small. Likewise with the dining room and bars.
The food was reasonable for Turkey with a choice of meat or fish most days and lots of salad, rice and spaghetti. Sprouts and broccoli were well overcooked. Some evenings they ran out of certain dishes an hour or so before dinner time had finished and did not replenish them. Whereas some all inclusive resorts charge for drinks with your evening meal, this was not the case at this resort. You just get whatever you want from the bar and take it through with you. There is not a wide choice of alcoholic dinks, lager, vodka, gin and some unpleasant liquid they try to pass off as whisky or brandy. The red and white wines are drinkable.
As it was early in the season there was very little entertainment. Also, daytime activities were lacking but became more frequent as the week went by. There was a problem concerning the volume and type of music being played around the pool area all day. Many people were complaining but although it was turned down a little it would soon be turned back up again. This meant a nice peaceful spot on a hillside with beautiful views was turned into a bit of a hellhole blasting out trance music. One got the impression the music was more for the staffs’ benefit than those on holiday.
To categorize the resort you would have to break it down into different areas. It is officially graded as 4 stars. The pool and dining room would pass as 3 or 4 star but both would be quite inadequate in the height of the season so I would rate them as 3 star. The apartments are old, tired, drab, in need of a complete refurbishment and could only pass as 2 stars. We personally found the size of the bedding inadequate. The gardens/grounds and flowerbeds near reception were looked after but the ones around your accommodation were completely overgrown, full of weeds and grass and only served to make the apartments look more shabby. The water-park has a very shallow pool at the bottom which could prove a hazard. There is a shortage of comfortable seating areas for the evening and it is difficult to get away from the excessive noise. If you are allocated an apartment near reception beware – there is a small waterfall and pool there where the frogs croak away with their mating call very loudly all night.
The resort is about 4K down a steep road away from a lovely clean beach but there is a frequent free shuttle bus provided. There is normally a charge for access to the beach but if you show your all inclusive wrist band at the gate you get free access. There is a beach bar belonging to the Caria Resort where your all inclusive status still applies for food and drinks but not activities. There are a variety of water activities which you pay independently for. The sea water was warm in May and it stays shallow for around 50 metres.
We liked the resort but would not return because of the pounding loud music most of the day.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEFFNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarigerme
0.8 mi away
TUI BLUE Sarigerme Park
TUI BLUE Sarigerme Park
#2 of 10 in Sarigerme
315 reviews
1.5 mi away
TUI Family Life Tropical Resort
1.1 mi away
SENO Resort Sarigerme
SENO Resort Sarigerme
#5 of 10 in Sarigerme
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The One Club Hotel
The One Club Hotel
#6 of 10 in Sarigerme
202 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Dalaman Sarigerme Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
TUI MAGIC LIFE Sarigerme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caria Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caria Holiday Resort

Address: Babadag Mevkii | Sarigerme, Sarigerme 48600, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Sarigerme
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sarigerme
Hotel Class:4 star — Caria Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caria Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caria Holiday Hotel Sarigerme
Caria Holiday Sarigerme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing