We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sixth super holiday in Xenia Ouranoupolis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xenia Ouranopolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Xenia Ouranopolis
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ouranoupolis
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sixth super holiday in Xenia Ouranoupolis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

After spending our holidays in Halkidiki for 16 years, it is our Sixth vacations in Xenia hotel in Ouranoupolis and these are the reasons: fantastic sea, hotel on the beach - you don't have to cross any roads -, large, modern and clean bedrooms/bungalows, nice swimming pool, beach with a very fine sand and a beach bar - big green garden, very kind staff - both inside the hotel and on the beach and nice breakfast. The last but not the least: just in a few minutes you can walk to the village of Ouranoupolis for shops, typical Greek restaurants etc. If you like sea, Greek atmosphere and a relaxing holiday this is your hotel.

Room Tip: All the bedrooms enjoy a wonderful sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Valerio J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    108
    58
    26
    27
See reviews for
129
105
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

In a small town that does not offer much other than being a gateway for pilgrims to Mt Athos. This hotel is good value and you can leave a bigger bag there for when you return. My room was on top floor and had a cute little balcony.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GypsyJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just returned from our fourth visit to the Xenia and enjoyed every minute from the time of a very warm welcome on arrival. The rooms in the new wing are spacious and very comfortable with glorious views over the water to a spectacular sunset. The hotel is in an ideal position on a Blue Flag beach and minutes from the centre of the village.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Good location, but that was the only good thing. There was a mixed up with our rooms and we have to talk to the manager, which turned to be a very rude woman. The beach is dirty and much smaller then what you see on the photos. There's only internet on the reception and there wasn't any for few days. The rooms are dirty and i have to tell the woman who was cleaning to change the towels.The two lamps in the room wasn't working, everything looked very old . The bed was uncomfortable and small. It doesn't look at all like a four star hotel! There was fire on the beach one of the days ( from the hotel barbecu ) and there wasn't even a fire extinguisher around, so my husband and his friend has to help to extinguish it and nobody even said thank you to them. Veeeery poor service and we will never come back there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Viv670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

When you stay here.

I'm going to start on the few positives. The lobby is nice as were the staff. Not exceptionally nice but I certainly have no complaints about them and you can walk into the village in minutes. But the rest of the experience was not so rewarding.
First off, we booked a bungalow. The definition of a bungalow is as follows. "A low house, with a broad front porch, having either no upper floor or upper rooms set in the roof, typically with dormer windows.". So when we booked into our Bungalow and heard the upstairs neighbours dragging chairs across their floor/our roof I was a little surprised? Our next door neighbours on the side of us were friends so I can't rightly complain about them. But being a bungalow. I thought they'd be in their own separate building and not sharing the same walls. The room (I won't call it a bungalow anymore) was tiny. It was advertised to sleep 4 people. But the 2 single beds and dbl bed were all virtually touching as the room was so small, The main bed, because I even struggle to call it a double was tiny. Neither my wife nor I are large people, But it was so small that she ended up sleeping with our 3 year old and me on the single bed. The decor was seriously dated; it looked like it hadn’t been renovated since the hotel was built. I realise in warmer climates you get lots of exotic creatures and it’s almost impossible to keep them all out of your room. But the gaps between the doorframe and the wall were so large we got all kinds of creatures coming in. Including one morning me waking at 6am with a 10cm long centipede crawling through my hair. Needless to say, by 6:01, I was wide awake. The rest if the room details fitted in as you’d imagine. The bathroom was inline with the rest of the room. TV came off the Ark, the only good feature was the mini-bar fridge which itself was so old that it was still actually a decent size.
The children’s play area consisted of an ancient looking slide and a swing. It looked like it was installed 30 years ago as an afterthought and everyone (especially the maintenance folk) had forgotten it existed. The pool was fine, but not really suitable for younger children as the shallowest part was about 1 meter deep and you had to use a ladder to get in and out. Walk in would have been much more user friendly.
The food was ok. Once again not great but certainly edible, but if you stayed there more than 3 days then you’d have seen the entire repertoire.
Someone else was complaining at reception one day that they had just arrived and there was blood on their sheets.
To sum up. We stayed down the road the last few nights at the Eagles palace. It was a lot more expensive but only one more star than this hotel. In reality though it was 10x better than the Xenia. If I ever had the occasion to come back to Ouranoupoli. I’d be giving this place a wide berth.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
361 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Warm welcome is there for the traveller and good advice for questions about further travelling to Mount Athos.
The rooms are large and Sunny with a balcony and en-suite bathroom. Free wifi in the reception.
The private hotel beach and jetty are very good looking. Fine white sand is the norm but some underwater parts are stony.
The situation is excellent, being sufficiently away from the city center. However the Pelgrims office is only a few hundred meters away by a little property exit near the beach.
The icluded breakfast is OK; concentrate on olives, fresh cheese and honey... Room price good for two is about 90 €.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, BG
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed there for a short vacation with my family at the end of September. The weather was fine, almost perfect for that time of the year and very calm at the same time as it was the end of the season.
Ouranopolis is a holy place - it means Heavenly city and this is the entrance to Mounth Athos, the Holy Mount. This your starting point if you are male and if you want to visit some of 20 holy monasteries there. At the same time, this beautiful village is perfect location for your vacation if you want to avoid the crowded sea resorts.
The Xenia Hotel is located at the same beginning of the village, the center is about 5 min. walk. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel. There are several buildings - three large 2-storey buildings and several bungalows with 2 or 4 separate rooms. The whole ground of the hotel is totally green environment located direct near a private sandy beach. There are also lots of lizards and many beautiful palms and pomegranates trees. Rooms are large, some of the with old furnishing, some with new.
Here some disadvantages I want to mark - only 12 tv channels of which 7 Greek. Internet is available only near the reception desk as they have just one router. You have to pay 5 Euro per day or 20 Euro per week to use it. Using of the Spa center costs 10 Euro per day per room. The staff doesn't speak foreign languages at all, it is hardly to find someone speaking English or German, but the cleaning lady does! For a week I did not see someone cleaning the outdoor pool that is not heated at all and at the End of September the water was cold in there.

Room Tip: If you are lucky you will be given a room at the new buildings - clean, large and new. And the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nedko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouranoupolis
2.3 mi away
Eagles Palace
Eagles Palace
#1 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akti Ouranoupolis
Akti Ouranoupolis
#3 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aristoteles Holiday Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Alexandros Palace Hotel
Alexandros Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nea Roda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
18.0 mi away
Acrotel Elea Village
Acrotel Elea Village
#4 of 44 in Sithonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
17.6 mi away
Acrotel Athena Pallas Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xenia Ouranopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xenia Ouranopolis

Property: Xenia Ouranopolis
Address: On the Waterfront, Ouranoupolis 630 75, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Mt. Athos Peninsula > Ouranoupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ouranoupolis
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ouranoupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xenia Ouranopolis 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XENIA OURANOUPOLIS, of P.A.P Corp. Hotel family, is located just 2 minutes from the town of OURANOUPOLIS, built on the most beautiful beach of the area, with an exceptional view towards Mount Athos, the tower of OURANOUPOLIS and the Amoliani island. Xenia OURANOUPOLIS, one of the 10 Greek hotels characterized as "right on the waterfront", has been recently expanded with 3 new two store buildings, an internet cafe, a SPA of 700sq.Ms. A bar and a spacious reception lobby with many indoor and outdoor areas. Common architectural elements of the new buildings are along the lines of the 1960's with colors that harmonize with the environment and respect the local construction elements. The 88 new comfortable rooms with sea view respond to all contemporary needs with the well-known P.A.P Corp. Hospitality care. In addition the new SPA of XENIA OURANOUPOLIS, is another BEAUTY HAVEN by the hospitality family that started the concept of the rejuvenation and wellness already 10 years ago with the first BEAUTY HAVEN at AGIONISSI RESORT in Amoliani. The rich Mediterranean cuisine of XENIA OURANOUPOLIS is a discovery of original tasteful secrets: olive oil, capers, oregano and fresh ingredients from the gardens of the area which are transformed into delicious dishes thanks to P.A.P Corp. Recipes. All recipes are made with pure and traditional ingredients along honey, wine, marmalade, fruits in natural syrup and the olive oil being P.A.P Corp.'S own biological production, which can be enjoyed at the hotel or taken away as a souvenir or gift. The hotel family P.A.P Corp., Is an Environmental Friendly managed hotel company and is an active member of all major National and International Eco friendly Organizations for the last 30 years, with numerous of actions dedicated to the Preservation of Nature. XENIA OURANOUPOLIS as all P.A.P Corp. Hotels has got the GREEN KEY, European Eco Label. The XENIA OURANOUPOLIS beach is awarded with the Blue Flag. XENIA OURANOUPOLIS will be open all year around with the most contemporary and suitable infrastructures representing an example of a hotel close to Mount Athos. Winter in Halkidiki is mild and treasures the most beautiful Natural landscapes. OURANOUPOLIS village is full of cultural colour and is a busy town Even in winter due to the Maths pilgrims. For couples that wish to relax and enjoy anti stress techniques at our Beauty Haven Spa, scholars that wish to spend some time before or after their visit to M.Athos so they will re adjust themselves, XENIA will be open all year around. The indoor pools, the halls, lobby s and bars that are perfect for a year around operation will be your open door to Heaven s City: OURANOUPOLIS For more information on the hotel and the services offered to people with special needs, please visit the Europe For All. Capacity: Total Rooms: 88, Total Beds: 136 Accommodation: The hotel rooms, non smoking, 40 of them build in the winter of 2007-8, are decorated in the modern style of the 60's. Each room has a shower or bath, WC, hairdryer, balcony/terrace, soundproof windows, private heating and air-conditioning, direct-dial telephone, music, mini-bar, satellite TV, internet connection and safe. The Maximum in room capacity is 3 people. The rooms in the bungalows at the ground level were renovated in 1998 as hotel was leased by P.A.P Corp. They have the same amenities as the hotel rooms, and additionally they have their own spacious terraces. The maximum in room capacity is 4 people. At the hotel there are also rooms for people with special needs. The Xenia's balconies overlook the beach where children can play safely and the fresh sea air and the sound of waves lull guests to sleep at night. Recreation: Beach towels Service available,.Laundry, Secretarial services upon request. Hair dresser & Baby sitting upon request. Exclusive Spa Therapies in the BEAUTY HAVEN Spa. 24 Hrs Client Service guaranteed. Dining: Both breakfast and dinner are offered in rich buffet choices based on traditional recipes and local products. Breakfast room service is also available. On the Beach there is OASIS Beach bar for snacks & refreshment, fresh very updated and delicate snacks. Tasty ouzomezedes and fresh fish from Mt.Athos waters are served daily on the Pool terrace for lunch. Special days with Pasta Fiestas or Souvlaki action may happen during your stay. Clear moonlight nights are ideal for evening strolls or a cocktail by the pool bar F, one retro corner of the old XENIAs days and sophisticated music. The friendliness and discretion of the hotel staff further enhances the feeling of welcome, warmth and personalised attitude Entertainment/Leasure: Once a week a Byzantine buffet, pick nicks, barbeques, Beach or Pool Parties, Cooking classes and special theme events take place. Beach Volley, Children's playground. The beach is described as FREE of SEA TRAFFIC but for any sea sports rental, there is 3rd party associate, who has his base 3 kms from the coast and is available upon request. Boat Excursions, Bikes & Car Rentals. The local area can be visited on Xenia's private ferry, Megalexandros, or visits to Drenia, Amoliani Island and the Agionissi Resort can be arranged by renting boats, where baby dolphins often escort visitors to the shore. Meeting & Event Planning: P.A.P Corp. Is well qualified for any size of event. The best proposals and offers tailored to the customers needs unique and professional are accurate to the last detail upon request. A vast list of successful events of any type that took place as reference is available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Xenia Ouranopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xenia Ouranopolis Ouranoupolis, Halkidiki, Greece
Xenia Ouranopolis Hotel Ouranoupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing