We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,725)
Filter reviews
1,725 results
Traveler rating
1,249
323
100
37
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,249
323
100
37
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews melathron restaurant five star hotel buffet restaurant kids club quiet zone a la carte restaurants half board sea view water sports main restaurant nespresso machine guest relations mount athos each evening private beach beach bar junior suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 1,725 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2019

We stayed there as a couple and had the most wonderful time. I cannot even tell what is so particularly great at this hotel... we just loved everything there. The room was beautiful and clean, the pool as well, plenty of space at the beach, beautiful places to sit and relax, wonderful beach bar, no crowds (OK, we stayed there end of September, so no holiday season), good food, good wine, very good service, super nice employees. We will definitely return. Only thing you should know: eating and drinking (apart from what is included) is really quite expensive there. So if you're stingy this is not the place to go for you.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Georgia Krespi, Guest Services / Front Office at Eagles Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2020

Dear Diana G,

Thank you for your review and the time taken to post your comments online. It is always great to receive such positive and enthusiastic feedback !

We are delighted that you enjoyed staying at our property and we will be glad to welcome you back! Stay safe!

Kind regards,
The Eagles Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2019 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. Beautiful surroundings, furnishings, room. Great restaurants, food and staff, especially the restaurant by the beach. Everyone very friendly and welcoming.

Yes drinks expensive, we went into the local town and brought back wine which we drank in the room. There was a small bottle of wine in room on arrival. We had our wedding anniversary while staying. My husband arranged for flowers to be delivered on the morning, so that was a lovely surprise. We had a fantastic meal in one of the speciality restaurants, although very pricey!! We had a complimentary bottle of fizz delivered during the afternoon which was lovely.

Fantastic beach, lovely clear and calm sea, great for swimming. Great weather, sunny and blue skies nearly all week, lovely and warm.

Only problem we had was some people in quiet area of beach were quite chatty and on their phones so not quiet at all, but this only on a few days.

Probably won’t return as we like to go to different places, we love Greece and it was nice to see a different area. A long transfer from the hotel, but we didn’t have to wait at all and the driver from the hotel was very friendly and chatty - a welcome bottle of cold water was a nice touch.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank NorthantsAquababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Georgia Krespi, Guest Services / Front Office at Eagles Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2020

Dear NorthantsAquababe,

Thank you for your review and time taken to provide your feedback on your visit and stay at our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your accommodation, our food and of course our beautiful beach.

It was a pleasure for us to have you as guests.

We wish you all the best! Stay safe!

Kind regards,
The Eagles Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2019

Outstanding hotel in a beautiful peaceful location! This was our first visit to the area and the scenery along the coast is so beautiful. I love swimming and when we visited in mid October the sea was warm, clear and calm. The hotel pool was closed for cleaning until 10am each morning but this didn't matter as the hotel is set right on the seafront so it is just as easy to swim in the sea (and much more interesting!).
The location is very quiet but we visited Ouranoupolis and the island of Ammouliani and went on the boat cruise around Mount Athos to see the stunning monasteries.We like walking and you can walk for an hour along the beach in both directions. It is shingly/pebbly at some points so you need shoes but it is a great walk.
The hotel was superb. The selection and quality of food at breakfast and dinner was excellent and the ambience in the restaurant is very relaxing. My only suggestion is that the hotel needs to offer a wider selection of light dishes at the pool/beach area at lunch time and that what is on offer is rather pricey. As the hotel is quite remote, they have a captive audience for lunch snacks and at present there is only a choice of about 6 dishes which becomes rather repetitive after a few times. Service in all areas for food and drinks was efficient and friendly.
We will definitely return!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJTV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DimitrisS1275, Front Office Manager at Eagles Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2019

Dear MJTV1,

Thank you for the time taken to review our property and your feedback based on your recent stay at our resort.

We are thrilled on your comments made on our facilities and location. Moreover it is always a great pleasure to receive special compliments for our service standards and the quality of the food in our restaurants.

Also thank you for bringing any shortcomings to our attention as this will greatly assist us in improving our product and service delivery for the future.

Once more thank you for your comments, we remain at your disposal and we really hope to welcome you back as a guest in our property the soonest possible.

Kind regards,
The Eagles Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2019 via mobile

We spent a week for the first time in this excellent hotel staying in a superior sea view room. The ambience of the hotel is second to none with beautiful furnishings, artworks, gardens (well planned and planted) and relaxing common areas. Tor hotel group clearly made a huge investment here in effect creating a large ‘boutique’ hotel. I have been to the region many times before including an actual visit to one of the monasteries on Mt Athos but wanted to share the delights of the region with my wife and 2 friends. The hotel was just what we were looking for in this area. The inclusive transfer to and from Thessaloniki airport was well organised. The one and half hour trip is very enjoyable with great views of the beautiful Chalkidhiki landscape. The leather upholstered Mercedes minibuses are comfortable and drivers polite and careful. The reception at the hotel was very personal with each arrival being seated at a table in the foyer bar and offered a welcome drink. Registration is done at the table individually rather than queueing at reception. Staff throughout our stay at all levels were extremely professional and hard working and this first impression was maintained throughout our stay. Each guest or couple is then taken to the room. The rooms are excellent and clean. Two points worth noting. A) each bathroom gradually develops a ‘fishy odour’ as the day goes on. This seems to be common to most rooms so there is no point moving room as this will not solve it. This emanates from the drain pipes going from the bath. This can be very easily stopped by simply placing a towel over the grate in the floor in front of the bath. This completely eliminates the odour though we imagine some regular chemical treatment of the pipes could solve this problem. Would be good if the hotel took this into account as it seems to be a common complaint. Perhaps the provision of an extra floor towel to be placed over the grate? B) each balcony door has an additional shutter with netting. This means that the door can be left open to let fresh air in but blocking mosquitos. During the whole week we had only one which gained access from the corridor. The hotel provided a plug in anti-mosquito device. The air conditioning was effective and choice of TV channels adequate. The room was equipped with a Nespresso coffee machine. The balcony was large with nice furniture. It it worth being aware that the walls between rooms are not very thick. We were lucky to have considerate neighbours but our friends in another room were not so lucky. The Melathron self service restaurant was excellently run with a good choice of food. Some of the Greek specialities were indeed outstanding. Breakfast was also very good. We tended to eat yoghurt and cheese/spinach pies. Seating was available both inside and outside though outside the staff were forced to light smoke burners to keep wasps away. At sunset we had cocktails at the bar near the restaurant (with excellent live singers especially on the Greek evening) though it was a shame that the beach bar closed so early as it would have been nice to sit by the sea with a drink at sunset. Drinks prices are high as reported by others but the hotel is offering a service in a unique location. We bought drinks for the room from nearby Ouranoupolis and limited the number of drinks we bought at the hotel. One evening we had a buffet meal in the amazing restaurant recently built on the top of the hill where the Eagles Villas are located. Guests are given a €19 Credit but must pay the balance of €49 Buffet fee to eat here. Transfer is available on a golf buggy. The only big disappointment was the Armyra taverna on the beach. An idyllic ‘mama Mia’ looking taverna but with a very limited and pricey menu. The staff are not very friendly and will only serve from their speciality menu rather than what people really want during the day like gyros and pizza which can bizarrely only be ordered from the beach. (Though we did observe some locals being served with pizza at the restaurant!) Eagles Palace should correct this as it really creates a bad impression from an otherwise excellent hotel. We tended to have lunch in Ouranoupolis instead to avoid further frustration. The hotel runs 4 free shuttles to Ouranoupolis and if there are too many people for one shuttle they lay on extra vehicles. Otherwise a taxi is easy to find and costs €10 each way . Walking is not recommended as there is no pavement. We also arranged car hire via the front desk at a very reasonable daily rate to explore Sithonia. We took the Mt Athos site seeing ship twice to see the amazing Monasteries on the western side of the Holy Mountain. Look out for the dolphins on the way! Athos Sea Cruise Tickets (departures at 10.30 and 14.00) are available from the hotel at €20 but can also be purchased at the port for €5 less. The hotel also offer their own ‘private tour’ in their own boat but the costs of €900 was well beyond our budget. Ouranoupolis offers many interesting shops including some aimed at the year round pilgrims on the way to Mt Athos but also many nice bars and tavernas such the family run Pirgos restaurant near the port. Some shops offer nice food and drink specialities from the region. The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful clean and calm. It is recommended to wear protective foot ware as there are pebbles but there is still some sand. There is also a quiet area which is great for chilling out. We will certainly go back to the Eagles Palace - thank you

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Timcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DimitrisS1275, Front Office Manager at Eagles Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2019

Dear Timcho,

Thank you for your extensive review and the time taken to post your comments online. It is always great to receive such positive feedback and enthusiasm, so thank you for mentioning all these small details that make Eagles Palace what it is.

Moreover it is always a great pleasure to receive special compliments for our service standards and our staff and we will make sure to forward your remarks to the rest of our associates.

Also we sincerely thank you for pointing out things that could have been taken better care of, as this helps us become even better. We remain at your disposal and we hope to get the opportunity to have you relaxing at our premises soon again.

Kind regards,
The Eagles Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2019

Well, I shall start at the beginning.. On arrival at Thessalonica airport George was waiting for us and took us directly to the hotel mini bus where we were given maps, bottles of chilled water and refreshing towels before the lovely 1hr 40 minute journey though interesting countryside to the hotel. The hotel transfer each way is a big bonus.
Also each day a free shuttle bus transports guests to and from town.

On arrival at the hotel we were warmly greeted on the terrace by management as we left the mini bus, given a glass of sparkling wine and were rapidly registed before a short tour of the ammenities and then taken to our room.
An absolutely delightful tray of delicious goodies and water were awaiting us.
The beds and pillows were comfortable and our sleep was undisturbed - not a sound from any direction.

This hotel has many pros:

Charming staff - every one of them incredibly helpful
Robes and slippers in the room
Bottled water provided daily
Chocolates and a turn-down service each evening
Room miraculously and beautifully cleaned every morning while we were at breakfast
Easy lift access to gorgeous private beach with umbrellas and loungers.
Fruit and iced water constantly available free on the beach
Each umbrella had a call bell for drinks and food service.
All grounds around the hotel immaculately maintained and lots of trees and grassed areas for shade and pleasant ambiance.
Lots of very comfortable seating all around the resort should you want to stay indoors or in the shade.
Absolutely superb breakfast - every possible dish and of excellent quality
Interesting lectures provided each day We especially enjoyed the hour long coffee experience and just sorry to miss some of the cooking classes.
Our late October weather was fabulous.. Sunny and mid 20sC each day

Cons:

Remember to take bug repellent
Access to the lovely pool not really easy for anyone with mobility problems
Occasionally pool music was a little intrusive.
The cost of food and drinks is really high - even quite expensive wine was not wonderful.
Dinner in the buffet restaurant was always enjoyable, but I would say not really of 5 * standard



The room andn bathroom were spotlessly ket

Room tip: Room 150 has a lovely mountain view, but balcony rarely gets the sun and is a bit of a wind tunnel - might be great in the high summer heat
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ros s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DimitrisS1275, Front Office Manager at Eagles Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2019

Dear ros s,

Thank you for your extensive review and the time taken to post your comments online. It is always great to receive such positive feedback and enthusiasm, so thank you for mentioning all these small details that make Eagles Palace what it is.

Moreover it is always a great pleasure to receive special compliments for our service standards and our staff and we will make sure to forward your remarks to the rest of our associates.

Also we sincerely thank you for pointing out things that could have been taken better care of, as this helps us become even better. We remain at your disposal and we hope to get the opportunity to have you relaxing at our premises soon again.

Kind regards,
The Eagles Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews