We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB - U - LOUS!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eagles Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eagles Palace
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ouranoupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“FAB - U - LOUS!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

We booked a late holiday to this hotel and were intially a bit concerned about some of the negative reviews but shouldnt have been. It exceeded our expectations many times over and was one of the best holidays we have ever had. The staff were wonderful - they couldnt have done more for us to make our holiday enjoyable. We were offered a welcome glass of sparkling wine on arrival, personally shown to our room - which was delightful. Our balcony had a stunning sea view and was enormous!
We had complementary half board as part of our package and even though there were other restaurants we chose to eat in the buffet as the quality of the food we felt was excellent. The restaurant staff were all wonderful and also had a 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude. Yes wine was expensive but dont most people buy duty free and have drinks in the room? We certainly did!
The private beach is stunning with luxury sunbeds and as we were in the penultimate week of the season we had a large section of the beach to ourselves and often the whole swimming pool.
Ouranopolis is a 10 minute bus ride away and a lovely village. We went there twice and the hotel were on call ready to pick us up whenever we were ready.
I have read the negative reviews carefully and I think that if you were wanting a quiet retreat for a honeymoon then peak season is not the time to go here. It is a family hotel
and children on holiday do tend to be noisy! We found no favouritsm towards any nationality - the staff have a good working knowledge of many languages and everyone seemed to be welcomed equally.
All in all we were very sad to leave this heaven on earth and would very much like to return some day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    192
    55
    18
    10
See reviews for
300
424
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

Lovely hotel in wonderful setting,great beach good service, nice sea view room, food is ok and is in buffet unless you pay to eat in the other restaurants. Drinks very expensive gin and tonic 12 euros, table wine starts at 25 euros and tasts like cheap plonk, bought a bottle in the local town for 5 euros and it tasted much better than any we had in the hotel, can't understand their policy as most people drank water only with their meals and then went up to their rooms after dinner to have a drink and so the bar was always empty which does not make for a very good atmosphere .

If you don't like wine with dinner you will be ok but if you do bring some with you as the nearest town is a few miles away and although the bus goes there in the day it stops early in the evening and there is only 1 taxi in the town and it can be hard to get hold of.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jaxF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaga
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

searching on the tripadvisor and reading all reviews of Halkidiki we decided to book the Eagles .The hotel is just like the photos.is marvellous.exceptional building with outstanding beach,very clean and so well organized.
The room had sea view and it was so calm,so beautiful and very clean.Everyday i woke up very early to catch the sun rising and then i had a breakfast on morning buffet.my husband usually wakes up later and i was still for breakfast enjoying everything.the buffet had everything and very fresh.the staff was friendly and polite,and multilingual.i appreciated it a lot.
during the days we were on the beach,hotel's private,with free umbrellas and crystal clear waters.it had also a swimming pool with salted water but we prefered the greek seas.
the nights we had our dinner inside the hotel,most of the times,because it has 5 rests!so every night it was different.
We rent a car that the reception helped and we had a tour on the area.Amazing places.We stayed for 8 days and we never got bored.Ideal vacations after an intense year of working,definetely next time we will visit and the islands too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunamor75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

During August we stayed for 10 days in the hotel.It was excellent.A hotel out of fantasy,so delicate,so fine decorated.The rooms clean and comfortable,fine colours,and full bath kit and all the facilities.
The breakfast so rich,everything we wanted we had.
the beach of the hotel amazing,clean and crystal clear waters,one day we had an excursion to the little island of Amouliani.
The nights we enjoyed a cocktail by the pool with smart enlighting.
A morning I tryed the spa and that was it.After the sea I had a treatment and although was out of our budget,it worths it!
I reccomend the hotel if you are fond of luxury vacations.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PersaPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Some great points, but not 5 stars.

The hotel is one of the best I have stayed in Greece (if not the best), but in some areas it has a long way to go before it can calls itself “a 5 star hotel”. The food quality and service is short of what I expected given the price.
I stayed for one week with my fiancé in a Junior Suite, the hotel is 1 hour 30 minute drive from the airport. The Air conditioned room was clean and the sea view was fantastic, the room had a CD player (nice touch but I don’t take a CD collection on holiday) nice sofa, TV, seats on the balcony, en suite bathroom with lots of fresh towels, large area for clothes to be hung up and suitcases stored. There was a Minibar and a “Nespresso” machine, but at €4 per espresso, a tad expensive given they cost about €0.35 each when I buy them myself at home. The mini bar has an equally imaginative pricing policy, €8 for a spirit miniature, €3.50 for a small bottle of water (€0.50 in shops), I could go on. I know hotel pricing is usually somewhat out of touch with reality, but even buying water downstairs at the hotel bar itself was a bit cheaper. One small detail I didn’t like was the en suite door was made of frosted glass with a half inch gap all round the edge (with no lock), that means when you take a wiz, everyone in the main room can hear you (so be prepared for lot’s of whistling!!).
It takes only moment to leave the hotel and be on the private beach (sunbeds free of course) and a waiter service will bring you anything from the bar while you relax on the beach (don’t worry about cash, everything is charged to your room). The majority of customers are more mature couples and only a few family’s had children around when we were there, so the beach was always peaceful and quiet for the whole time we were there , the same could be said of the pool, also with its own bar. Some distance from the next hotel so the only people you will see are also staying in the hotel. Given the price of staying here, I didn’t worry about my watch being stolen while I went for a swim, (Why would they? They already have nice watches) and the water was calm and refreshing to swim in, (if a bit chilly in September).
So where did it go wrong? Well, we paid the €30 half board supplement and expected Breakfast and an evening meal at one of the 4 restaurants. However what it really means is that you get the free breakfast buffet and a free evening meal at one other specific restaurant, which is the buffet again, and it is not a great one at that. They have cut corners on the quality of the food, each day chefs will cook large amounts of meat, beef veal, and even some fish all on the same hot plate. Therefore, instead of tasting good, the flavours all get mixed up on the hot plate. There is a lot of meat, so the cuts are usually quite cheap or fatty. Anything cooked but not served on Monday will be mixed into a casserole or some other meal and served in the Tuesday buffet, a practise all too obvious in the tasting. Not what I would expect for €30 per person, just for food. The saving grace was the salad and fruit bar, which had enough to make some decent Greek salads to keep me happy. Service was a mixed bag, several waitresses looked after us at each meal, none seemed pleased to be there or capable of smiling, but they were happy to chase me down a corridor thinking I had left without paying the bill (she didn’t realise I was a half board guest). I didn’t think you could get bad service in a buffet, I am getting the food myself after all, but they did manage it.
However, if I wanted to, I could exchange my €30 half board supplement and get a €15 discount off my bill at 1 (and only 1) other restaurant, where the set price is €45 per person (just food remember). The food here is good, but no better than any regular Greek tavern that will do the same dishes for half the price. Everyone seemed to know this and that meant the restaurants were almost always empty in favour of the cheaper buffet.
Bars were also dotted around the hotel and on two nights there were even musicians there to entertain the guests of an evening. Expect to pay at least €12 for a cocktail and just under €6 for a large draft beer. Wine starts at roughly €25 per bottle, but that is the table wine.
Apart from spending time by the pool or on the beach, there is not much to do in the area, there are some water sports activates (not cheap), a couple of boat tours from Ouranopolis sail past the many monasteries on mount Athos, but tourist are not allowed in, so by the end of the week, we were getting bored. This is not a holiday destination for the fun seeker or someone who wants to sample the Greek culture, but if you can stomach the food (or the cost of the good food) then this is a great place to relax in the sun.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leroy252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

I was in this hotel with my 2 years old son, my 16 years old niece for 10 day. My husband came to hotel for couple of days. We had junior suite sea view a one double room when came my husband. Suite was a little small and view was from side hotel. Only sometimes we got water and towels for 3 person. When my husband come for first weekend at 2 am, we want one double room more, they showed to as horible small room for two downstair, where something murmored, this room look like room in some 2 stars hotel. But ok, hotels location was good, there was quite and sea was wonderful, very clean and very good for little child. When you want to go somewhere in the evening, you can go by hotels bus, it go to ouranoupolis 2 times for evening or have a car. The best place near the hotel is only ouranoupolis, its good for dinner. But its very small port and you pass it about 10 minutes and what after , when you are for 10 days? Also you can make trip to isla Ammouliani - there are good beaches and hoter and calmer sea then in Moutn Athos. But back to hotel: Worst was staff in hotel. They were arrogant, ugly, realy nasty. Third night they call to as from reception, because our son was crying for some minutes, realy not 1 hours or something like that. And they said to we do something with it and 2 days later when i was in lobby, one women from reception stop me and said me it again. Every time when we went to dinner to main restaurant or to breakfast to same restaurant, it was very bad time for as. when we want coffe or tea ,nobody came. But when we didnt want anything - all time for dinner somebody stood next as and look or took as full plate 5 minutes after we brought it. IAnybody wasnt simpatic or nice person in this hotel. Maybe only staff from poland , only they were profesional and nice. Actually one of them said as, that this is no 5 star hotel for him/her and that greek staff want only greek guests and another guests only tolerating there. it looked like that! It was first what i chose hotel from www.slh.com (small luxury hotel) and It was last time, because if eagles palace hotel is small and luxury hotel and dont want try another hotel from this site. Never go to this hotel, realy hotel is not beautiful, small or luxury and it very rich. we paid more than 6000 eur.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

This hotel is superb. Not only does it have a variety of elements to it, what is delivered is world class. We booked for bed and breakfast and the hotel gave us half board as a gift!
We spent a week here relaxing in the spa having massage and facials, relaxing in the jacuzzi and heated bed. It is truly spectacular. The best bit of the hotel is the beach and the food. There are high quality beds there everyday and a button on your wooden umbrella to call a waiter....
Europe is very expensive at the moment (against the pound) and so you will pay a lot for drinks.
The people are exceptionally friendly and you are well looked after. The cheapest rooms are small - a small balcony, reasonable bathroom and bedroom, but to be honest there are four restaurants, endless seated bars and a long beach full of the aegaen sea to sit in and so this did not bother us. I read lots of reviews of this and was anxious that it wouldn't meet my expectations, but we were very pleased. We are also a gay couple and you can often experience prejudice - this hotel were exceptional in welcoming us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireRising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouranoupolis
17.7 mi away
Acrotel Athena Pallas Village
2.2 mi away
Xenia Ouranopolis
Xenia Ouranopolis
#2 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
18.4 mi away
Anthemus Sea Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alexandros Palace Hotel
Alexandros Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nea Roda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
19.1 mi away
Danai Beach Resort
Danai Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Nikiti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ekies All Senses Resort
Ekies All Senses Resort
#1 of 4 in Vourvourou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagles Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Palace

Property: Eagles Palace
Address: Ouranoupolis 63075, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Mt. Athos Peninsula > Ouranoupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ouranoupolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ouranoupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eagles Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagles palace, member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World offers 157 rooms & suites on a private beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Bookgreece.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eagles Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eagles Palace
Eagles Palace Ouranoupolis, Halkidiki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing