We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing break”
Review of Eagles Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eagles Palace
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ouranoupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing break”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have now stayed at the Eagles Palace on two occasions and cannot fault it. A perfect setting with wonderful views from our sea view suite. A long way from Thessaloniki airport, but worth it. We stayed on half board and the food in Melathron restaurant was of high quality
All the staff were friendly and welcoming, but a special thank you must go to Olga Mouratidou from guest relations who went the extra mile to make our stay special. We must also thank Carina and Thanos from the restaurant staff who were so friendly and welcoming. Carina, in particular,we have got to know well on our visits so see you again next year.
Overall this hotel was a real find for us and we cannot wait to get back

Room Tip: Sea front suites have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    210
    63
    20
    11
See reviews for
321
464
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Nice enough,travelled in May only been open for three weeks.Stayed on half board basis,just as well because the "town" was quite a distance away.In fairness they do offer a free mini bus service twice a day.Yes the drinks are hellish expensive.Food acceptable but choose your times carefully there can be a bit of a rush.Rooms ok and clean.All staff friendly.Had bad experience in restaurant due to staff error nothing done by hotel to compensate us for this.Would have changed hotels but could not find one suitable nearby.Been there,done it,would not return.Good three and a half,not five.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balsall Common, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We recently enjoyed a pleasent late summer break at the Eagles Palace. The hotel is in a beautiful location near Ouranoupolis, but it's a long drive along winding country roads from Thessaloniki airport. You will also need a car to explore the region.
The Eagles Palace is nicely set out with plenty of quiet areas to sit and relax, which is in keeping with the pleasent ambiance of this small hotel.The food is of a high quality, especially the Greek cuisine with deserts to die for.
We found all the staff very friendly and welcoming, but a special mention goes to Olga the concierge with her wealth of helpful local knowledge and Despina who guided us through our open air pilates.
One big plus is free wi fi throughout, which many 5* hotels charge an extortionate amount for - lets start a campaign for free wi fi.
On the negatives, we were disappointed that although our suite had a Nespresso machine the pods cost 4 euros each, and there was no alternative tea/coffee facility in the room so they should not put in these machines expecting guests to pay for expensive pods - this is not appropriate to 5* service.
Drinks are extreemly expensive, and I am sure the hotel would increase their sales and goodwill by pricing them more reasonably.
As the hotel is open late in the season I expected the pool in a 5* hotel to be heated, but it wasn't, so it was colder than the sea and therefore not used by guests.
Our suite was spacious, but the over the bath shower is very cramped and would be impossible for some larger sized people to use and not expected in a 5* hotel.
Overall I would recommend the Eagles Palace, but little things need addressing to justify it's 5* status.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WanderlustKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

A week at Eagles Palace is far too short if you're looking for 5 star hospitality. From the moment we arrived, we sensed this was going to be an especially memorable holiday. Drawing near to the end of the season, I wondered if the staff would be showing signs of wear and tear - these doubts were soon erased.There was such a warmth in everybody's welcome and throughout the week, we luxuriated in the hotel's beautiful surroundings. After a swim in the Aegean Sea, a lazy snooze on the cosiest poolside loungers, a session of Pilates in the hotel gardens, a game of tennis on the excellent hotel's tennis court or a relaxing trip to the Spa, we knew we had the added anticipation of our next meal - such a great choice of dishes to suit everybody's tastes which when combined with the attentiveness of the waiting staff, made for a super eating experience.

Room Tip: We loved our superior sea view room overlooking the garden courtyard and the sea - great for viewing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised as my business trips usually end up being a routine - from the entrance to the parking till the reception everyone was very welcoming and smiley - the breakfast next morning was really good they offer apart from the regular american/continental breakfast a corner with traditional origin protected greek products loved the yoghurt on a clay pot topped with cherry spoon sweet and honey - the omelette was done in the proper way and I could sit outdoors on a great balcony overlooking one of the most beautiful sea views
Internet reception was very good both in rooms and common areas, the staff was always very friendly and discreet. The hotel is really very beautiful and I can't wait to go back for some proper family holidays.

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor offering great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alexandrosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

GOOD POINTS:
1. Beautiful location and good looking hotel.
2. Quiet
3. On the beach which is really good. Sand beach but stones/pebbles as you enter the water.
4. Unique beach bed/umbrella set up with buzzer to call waiter service - nice touch
5. Excellent service from all staff who are Polite and attentive.
6. Selection of food in main buffet restraint very good but with some failings (see below)
7. Rooms - well appointed, comfortable, clean, modern, spacious (we had a junior suite free upgrade from standard by hotel after telling them at time of booking the break was to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. the hotel even provided a free bottle of sparkling wine and a platter of strawberries on our arrival. very much appreciated and shows just how good this hotel is on service and their commitment to make your stay one of the best. Cannot fault the hotel in this regards.
8. The spa and fitness equipment was really good and well worth visiting. free to guests (charges for spa treatments - reasonable)
9. Guest relations and reception staff excellent and can give advice on where to go, ferry times, sights etc etc.
10. Mini Bar in rooms for those that want it but expensive as usual.
11. Supplied dressing gowns and slippers. nice touch.
12. Towels supplied for beach use.
13. Pool layout really nice. Plenty of sunbeds available.
14. Gardens and hotel kept really clean and tidy. both very pretty in a really nice location.
15. Bell boys at entrance and assistance with bags to rooms etc.
16. inside and outside dining area in main buffet restaurant.
17. The bread rolls etc served in restaurant where really good.
18. Tennis courts available for those that like to sweat!
19. Diving school for those that like to be like a fish.

BAD POINTS:
1. The cost of wine in the restaurant. cheapest bottle 24/25 Euros up to 150+ Euros. The cost of wine is disproportionate to the setting and quality of the restaurant and its food. I would expect high prices if it was a Michelin star restaurant but it is not. average wine price 30 euros up. Way to expensive. 12 upwards would be more realistic when you can buy wine from 3 euros upwards in supermarkets. The hotel would sell more wine and probably make greater profits if it priced its wine reasonably.
2. The food in the buffet restaurant is good variety but the biggest issue is there is no quality control in place by the hotel and most of the food that should be piping hot is only luke warm. This equates to disappointing quality and taste of the food which could be excellent if the hotel ensured food was kept hot once placed out for service. I did raise this issue once with a staff member (about cold baked beans at breakfast actually) but he did not understand me and just kept asking if I wanted some.
3. The hotel provides a coffee machine in the room (like a tassimo) but charge 4 Euros per cup! No tea. I have never stayed at a hotel before in my life where tea and coffee are not complimentary. This is a ridiculous price to charge.
4. No English TV channels available apart from BBC world News and CNN. So unless you like being on top of current affairs and not interested in any general entertainment this is a down side. You may find the odd English program with subtitles on a couple of the other non English channels if your lucky.
5. The hotel has very poor - pretty much non existent organised entertainment. especially on evenings. They have a guy playing a piano very badly in the bar area which you can hear in the dining room but he's a bit like listening to Les Dawson playing out of key but not as entertaining.
6. The shower in the room is very small and where they have located the tap its a lever type that can easily be knocked due to its location either making the water hotter or colder. The shower in the bath is the same but more room to move. The design location of the taps and not being thermostat controlled mixer showers is disappointing for a 5 star hotel.
7. The pool in the spa is NOT heated and freezing cold.
8. The main pool is not heated and freezing cold. Hence No one uses the pool which may be why it looks so nice lol. There is a pool bar as well but not used much cause no one had a wet suit with them to stay warm in the pool. Here's a suggestion for the hotel: Heat the pools and they would be used more. this would mean increased use of the pool bar, more sales = more profit.
9. Alcoholic drinks generally expensive. 4.50 for a beer. 10/12+ euros for a cocktail.

TIPS:
1. Buy your wine out at the supermarkets. 2 big ones not too far away at Lerissos. we just had water with our meals and drank our own wine after.
2. Take your own travel kettle, tea, coffee etc. Much cheaper. We actually bought a kettle and stuff from the supermarket and made our own. You think at 4 Euros a cup, for 2 persons that's 8 Euros a shot, per day for just one cup each. do the maths and you can spend way over £100 a week just on hot drinks.
3. Hire a car. Essential really if you want to get about. If you want to waste money or don't care about wasting money then stay hotel bound and pay their prices.
4. The bacon at breakfast is nice tasting but again only warm. however, mix it on nice white roll with egg or on its own and you have a not too bad bacon butty.
5. Butter comes frozen so get it first at breakfast to give it chance to thaw and at evening time the waiters need to bring it so ask for it as soon as you sit and they take your drinks order otherwise if you like butter you will struggle to actually use it with your meal.

RECOMMENDATIONS for the Hotel:
1. STOP freezing the butter. or at least get it thawed before meal times.
2. Review and lower your wine prices. They are far to high.
3. HEAT the pools. As stated above you will probably see an increase in sales from the pool bar if you did.
4. SORT the food out. Hot food should be HOT not Warm, tepid, cool, cold etc. HOT = HOT! - quality control needed here desperately.
5. Review your complimentary drinks policy in the rooms guys. come on - 4 Euros per cup of coffee? seriously?
6. Add an English speaking general entertainment channel for the TV would be good.

Conclusion:

I would still recommend this hotel regardless of the faults I perceive it to have as listed above. The hotel is very good and has many great points in its favour but it could be EXCELLENT with a little reasonable thought by management. We enjoyed our stay there even though the weather was mixed (11th to 18th October). Height of season and its would be better weather but I still think even in August the pool would be colder than the sea. The hotel is about a 2 hour drive from Thessoloniki airport and greek roads are not brilliant to be honest. Greek drivers are even worse. They overtake on blind bends etc so take care if driving. There are many little memorial type things that look like small churches on a stand at the sides of the roads and I am told that they represent where someone has died in an accident etc. There are many of them which is testament to how reckless some greek drivers can be.
Ouranoupolis is a couple of miles away and worth a visit. has a few restaurants and shops etc but not a lot else. There are what appears to be many stray dogs and cats around Greece that we saw on our travels and a few cats and a dog that frequent the hotel grounds and/or beach. They are friendly and good so don't worry. I know you should not encourage them but they are actually no problem so please take the time to give them a few scraps if you can as none of the local residents appear to look after them and we saw more than a few on our travels that were obviously starving in the wild. Be kind. Its the right thing to do.
The Hotel for Greek standards is very good. Is it 5 Star? it's not far off to be honest. I cannot give it 5 stars as it lets it self down on the food and wine prices and cold pools. Some minor tweaks by a brave management team and this hotel would be excellent. Its down to them now.
Would I go back? I think yes. but earlier in the year - July / August time. If I do return in the future with my 2 kids (grown up kids) then I would be disappointed if the same issues existed.
I hope this review is of help to others and the hotel itself. Happy holidaying.
Andy Hemmings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
46 Thank MrGrimchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Eagles Palace is a great place to relax.
The hotel is lovely and the place is very picturesque.
Beautiful clean beach with crystal clear water.
Although the place is lovely, there are some minor negatives for a hotel, who advertise themselves as luxury hotel.
The rooms need updating, especially the furniture, its outdated and a bit run down.
The breakfast was of good standard.
However, the dinner in the main restaurant (half board option), although of an acceptable standard, but failed to impress or live up to the high standard for this type of hotel.
Firstly, the food was quite repetitive.
There was no much fresh seafood and even the meat in the theater bar and the grill bar wasn't that good. Most of the meat dishes were swimming in different sauces, the kitchen needs to serve more just more healthy options like just grilled meats and poultry.
And the ventilation in the main, Melathon restaurant was poor.

Otherwise, its a lovely place and I would definitely recommend it.
The best thing about this hotel is their service.
The staff are extremely attentive and helpful.
Especially want to mention two lovely ladies, Olga and Nina from customer relationship, which were extremely helpful and attentive. Nothing was much for them to do for their guest.
They and some other staff of the hotel (Dimitris from the cafe, waitress Carina and Georgia, reception) made a big difference.
If you are not going for a half board option, you need to bare in mind that the a la carte restaurants are not cheap, so are the drinks. Cocktails are 12 euros each. But the food is of much better quality.
All in all if you want a very relaxing holidays in a very beautiful location, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank natalie1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouranoupolis
1.3 mi away
Alexandros Palace Hotel
Alexandros Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nea Roda
283 reviews
19.1 mi away
Danai Beach Resort
Danai Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Nikiti
202 reviews
2.6 mi away
Agionissi Resort
Agionissi Resort
#2 of 3 in Ammouliani
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Xenia Ouranopolis
Xenia Ouranopolis
#2 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
408 reviews
2.4 mi away
Akti Ouranoupolis
Akti Ouranoupolis
#3 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akrathos Beach Hotel
Akrathos Beach Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagles Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Palace

Property: Eagles Palace
Address: Ouranoupolis 63075, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Mt. Athos Peninsula > Ouranoupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ouranoupolis
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ouranoupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eagles Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagles palace, member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World offers 157 rooms & suites on a private beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eagles Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eagles Palace
Eagles Palace Ouranoupolis, Halkidiki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing