We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Eagles Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eagles Palace
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ouranoupolis
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here October 2012 for one week. Its the best holiday we have ever had. The weather was perfect, hotel very quiet as end of season but the weather, food and drink made it perfect. The hotel rooms were very clean and had everthing you needed. They also provided a very cheap ironing service. If you like your food then definatly eat in one of the restuarants and not in the buffet, may cost you more money but well worth it. Its only 10 minutes shuttle ride to the town that had nice restaurants, two of you can eat with 2 bottles of wine for €50.

The beaches was very clean with clear blue water. Going back this year !!

Fully recommend it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    205
    60
    19
    11
See reviews for
308
452
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were big and with an beautiful view very clean and well lighted. Beautifully pool but with the sea so close and so exotic you should just visit the pool for a cocktail drink. We had a really pleasant stay and can not wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arismari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We spent 10 days at the hotel at the end of September. We had a bungalow with private pool and terrace. Although I have stayed in more luxurious hotel rooms, the very private pool and very large terrace along with a very short walk to the private beach made for a winning combination. The beach is excellent and we virtually had it to ourselves while we were there. The water is very calm and clear and excellent for swimming, there is also full water sport facilities available. The staff were generally very polite and helpful, although there were a couple of exceptions, I put it down to it being the end of a long season.

The restaurants were ok, perhaps not as good as they maybe should have been for the money. We actually drove to the little town at the end of the road and were spoilt with excellent food.

The only other warning I would give is that we did have a few problems with Mosquitos, improved after we bought some anti-mozzi cream.

So overall would definitely recommend the hotel but be ready for the Mosquitos and be prepared to explore and try out some of the local restaurants.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank jsande22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Even to name this unique hotel is really breathtaking due to its location,flair and monastically architecture.
Built in near Ouranoupolis ( HEAVEN TOWN ) a fishing village on the 3rd finger of the Chalkidiki peninsula is a superb, a true 5 stars, classy hotel. A mere 4 klm from the holy Mount Athos gates- the Monastery city with its myths and mysteries, NO females allowed in though- this hotel has welcomed numerous VIPs from all over the world.
It is a member of Small Luxury hotels of the World and is just 90 mins drive from Thessaloniki.
In a great location with a private sandy beach and green crystal water, the hotel offers an elegant life-style for honey-mooners, families, spa lovers and gourmets.
Luxury travellers have a choice between the hotel's restaurants : Almyra, Kamares, Vinium and Melathron. They 're ALL excellent with fine tastes and dishes- from the Greek & international cuisine- in a romantic atmosphere and a good service.( Who likes individuals takes on the hotel's yacht - another luxury - on a day trip to enjoy their picnic in one of the many picturesque small islands around the area.
The Spa offers high quality treatments of thalassotherapy and massage plus a sauna and a Turkish steam-bath (hammam).
The staff is friendly, helpful in a high professional manner and the atmosphere magnificent, mystique,romantic,relaxing. The prices -of the real luxury they provide- pretty reasonable.
Congratulations to the managers and the owners of such a gem ! It is worth it !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank DINOS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Lovely hotel in a very quiet place. No place for loud people wanting some parties. The whole area is for relax. Food is quiet nice but a bit pricey. Rooms have all you need but may be you might expect more. Service is great.

Room Tip: For sure sea-view rooms a worth paying extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pupsomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I travelled to the Eagles Palace Hotel from Gatwick for a week between the 29th Sept - 5th October, paying £560 each for a sea view room and on a half board basis.

The hotel is a couple of hours drive away from Thessaloniki airport. We got a private transfer and it wasn’t the nicest journey as the roads are pretty windy and the taxi drivers don’t seem to like hanging about. This might have just been our experience but it felt like we might never make it to the hotel. This obviously can’t go against the hotel (and on the plus side - we got there quicker) but in the future, if we return, we might just hire a car. Not purely for the safety aspect, but also as the hotel is so secluded, it’s not really within travelling distance of anything worth travelling for. The nearest city is back at Thessaloniki and a taxi costs over €100 each way. Ouranoupolis itself is very traditional but doesn’t really have much worth travelling for (other than being the place to board the Mount Athos boat trip). Based on this, if you’re looking for somewhere lively to venture to…look elsewhere. If however, you’re looking for a place to sit down, relax, and soak up the sunshine in beautiful, peaceful surroundings…you can’t go wrong here,

We arrived at the hotel late evening and were offered a complimentary drink before being shown to our room, where our bags were then brought promptly up behind us. I found it nice that the bellboy did not wait around for a tip as so many do, he wished us a nice holiday and left without any pause.

Many people seem to state that the hotel is outdated and needs work however we didn’t really notice this at all. The bedroom is pretty basic but does anyone really spend long in their room when on holiday? The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and seems to be maintained to a high standard. The maids seemed to thoroughly clean our room every day, even cleaning the patio windows. They also bring different little treats for each guest every evening with things to do the next day. A nice touch. The only disappointment for me in regards to the bedroom was that it was a twin bed with 2 separate sheets. This has been pointed out before and larger sheets may be something the hotel should look into investing to for next season.

The restaurants at the hotel seem nice enough and all food is cooked to a decent standard. However, we only ate at one of the A La Carte Restaurants in the evening, being the Italian. This was a disappointment, although the food was nice enough, you want to be made to feel slightly special when paying extra for the privilege. Unfortunately, the restaurant is located at the back of the main buffet restaurant and you are catered for by the same staff. It actually took longer to get served at the a la carte restaurant than it did at the buffet restaurant.

Without doubt, the greatest thing about this hotel is the tranquillity and peacefulness surrounding it. The sea is calm. You can barely hear the sound of the rippling water reaching the shore. The sand on the beach has a few little stones on it but even barefooted, doesn’t cause any problems to walk on. Once in the water, the sand is as smooth is talcum powder. The water itself is so clear that you can see the seabed even when a good 15-20ft deep. You can’t get much better than here without venturing to the Indian ocean.

The entertainment in the evenings is a hard one for me to comment on as it seemed to stop midway through the week. This is probably due to the time of year in which we were there. It was clear that the season was coming to a close as a lot of furniture etc started being packed away for storage. What we did hear of the entertainment was nice. Live music, sometimes with a piano, sometimes with a guitar. Some Greek, some English. I found this to be a nice little mixture and was quite happy to sit there for a couple of hours, listening to music whilst receiving table service. Once the music stopped however, it was difficult to find anything to do in the evening. We resorted to a game of chess each night which was about the only activity available at nights. As nice as that was, it’s another thing that should perhaps be invested in. A pool table maybe? Even some more board games would have been better than nothing. There is a table tennis table however it’s on the beach and not much good in the dark. Entertainment in the daytime is also hard to find and I would recommend taking a bat and ball or something similar if you’re not one for being able to just sit and do nothing all day. The hotel does however have its own water sports facilities which are reasonably priced. This includes water skiing, jet skiing, parasailing, canoeing, doughnuts, banana boats…etc etc. Pretty much all the water sports you can think of. You can even rent a boat out for the day and take it around the island.

Another thing people seem to like to comment on is the pricing and expense of everything. Fair comment, but it’s no worse than many places I’ve been to. It’s to be expected, especially when it’s located so far away from any competition. The nice thing is that everything can be added to your room bill to be paid at the end of your stay. Potentially a risky move - so I’d recommend keeping a running tally. Also, people have mentioned that a tip is expected each time you receive a bill however this isn’t the case at all. The option is there on every receipt, however it was never expected. We didn’t pay any tips until our last day and service levels never dropped.

To summarise, It’s very rare that I go back to the same hotel but this is one this one that I would happily return to. I’d highly recommend this anybody looking for a relaxing holiday. You can forget all your worries and stresses in life, whilst taking in the beautiful surroundings around you. Don’t take my word for it. Experience it yourself, as there’s no way of putting into words how beautiful a place this is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Si121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Glamorgan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Agree with all the good comments written by others. This is a wonderful location for a chill holiday. Brilliant service, beach, views, facilities etc.. However I was take ill during my stay & I have to say that my treatment was prompt & efficient, doctor arrived within an hour. Hotel staff were very caring particularly Olga they even collected my medication free of charge. Cannot thank them enough.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisValeofGlamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouranoupolis
17.7 mi away
Acrotel Athena Pallas Village
19.1 mi away
Danai Beach Resort
Danai Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Nikiti
193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alexandros Palace Hotel
Alexandros Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nea Roda
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Xenia Ouranopolis
Xenia Ouranopolis
#2 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
363 reviews
2.4 mi away
Akti Ouranoupolis
Akti Ouranoupolis
#3 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
122 reviews
14.2 mi away
Antigoni Beach Hotel & Suites
Antigoni Beach Hotel & Suites
#1 of 2 in Ormos Panagias
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagles Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Palace

Property: Eagles Palace
Address: Ouranoupolis 63075, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Mt. Athos Peninsula > Ouranoupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ouranoupolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ouranoupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eagles Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagles palace, member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World offers 157 rooms & suites on a private beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eagles Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eagles Palace
Eagles Palace Ouranoupolis, Halkidiki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing