We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Mount Athos from Thessaloniki”
Review of Athos Sea Cruises

Athos Sea Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Athos Sea Cruises - Mount Athos cruise Ship departs once up to twice a day from Ouranoupolis port, right next to the "gates" of Holy Mount Athos. The ship heads to the southwestern part of Mount Athos peninsula. In 15 minutes reach the first Russian cloister and after sailing by unique beaches, it arrives in the area of the first monastery, Iera Moni Dochiariou and follows other 7 monasteries, as well as the Holy Mount's central port, Daphni, and finally the cloisters, small villages, where groups of monks live in every house. During the cruise visitors have the chance to admire the untouched nature and the unique architecture of Mount Athos monasteries. There is an audio guide tour in different languages (Greek, English, Russian, Serbian, Polish, Bulgarian and German). In these beautiful calm turquoise waters you will see very often dolphins to follow the ship. There is a restaurant, a bar and a small exhibition of souvenirs in the ship. There is also the possibility after agreement of pilgrimage of holy remnants during the cruise.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had planned on renting a car,but instead went with a wonderful guide in his car to reach the boats that offer cruises around Mount Athos.Our guide Michaelios pointed out that there were three different ports that offer cruises around Mount Athos. That information was not available in most tour books. Michaelios made sure that we always had cold bottled water and we stopped at farmers markets for fruit.Michaelios studied to be a crop duster in the U.S.A. and speaks perfect English. The family run business is located on 4 Venizelou St.-Thessaloniki /cell phone ;(30)6981529598/ email;dayrise@dayrise.gr

Date of experience: July 2013
4  Thank heshcody44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ηλίας Ρ, Manager at Athos Sea Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear heshcody44,

It is very pleasant to see that you had such a good time during the cruise to Mount Athos.

Mount Athos with more than 1000 years history offers an once in a life time experience and the best way to get there is Athos Sea Cruises. Our cruising company since 1954 transfer visitors to Mount Athos. With respect and safety we provide high quality services with 4 ships carrying out more than 800 passengers every day.

We are looking forward that you will visit us soon again.

King Regards,
Athos Sea Cruises Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sea cruise"
in 10 reviews
"boat trip"
in 13 reviews
"nice trip"
in 8 reviews
"pirate ship"
in 6 reviews
"ormos panagias"
in 5 reviews
"relaxing cruise"
in 4 reviews
"souvlaki"
in 4 reviews
"different languages"
in 4 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 4 reviews
"several languages"
in 5 reviews
"special permit"
in 4 reviews
"ticket office"
in 3 reviews
"worth every cent"
in 3 reviews
"souvenir shop"
in 3 reviews
"few hours"
in 4 reviews
"both ways"
in 2 reviews
"great chance"
in 2 reviews
Filter

148 - 152 of 329 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

When we arrived at the boat, we got on and bought coffee, which was 3 euros each. And that's pretty much how the day went. The boat wasn't particularly comfortable, we didn't go very close to the Athos peninsula, and if we wanted food (lukewarm pizza) or a drink, it was all very expensive. There was an almost constant commentary through the speakers in various languages (loud and annoying). I can't imagine why leaflets in various languages weren't supplied. Crazy. Not in the slightest relaxing or interesting. Some nice scenery, but I think a smaller boat would be nicer - you'd get a bit closer to the monasteries, and it would be quicker.

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank y_alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ηλίας Ρ, Manager at Athos Sea Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear y_alison,

Thank you very much to take the time to share your feedback.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your cruise for your personal reasons. There is low in Month Athos that says that ships can approach the land only in 500 meters. But it is quite close to see the monasteries and admire the landscape.

We are giving the best efforts to offer you an incredible cruising experience in Mount Athos.

We are glad to see you again and join our cruises.

Kind regards,
Athos Sea Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I would like to write a review about a place that is not a tourist attraction, but it is a place of pilgrimage ... I'm talking about the sacred area of Orthodox Church, Mount Athos, Greece. In this area may have access only men, and need a special permit to enter a period of three nights ... and it is not obvious to get it! It starts in ship Ouranopolis, south of Thessaloniki, where there is also the office pilgrims Mount Athos, to reach the first Dafni, the port, and then Karies, the capital ... depart from here to destinations chosen, or it's off to reach the monasteries where you decide to spend the nights, and for which you must provide yourself with phone calls and faxes to reserve a bed ... after all these problems, however, you will live three days unforgettable experience that I will send back for real back in time ... wake up at three in the morning, Mess start at six, the meal in refrectory with frescoes, ceilings and marble tables in a thousand years old ... and then walk immersed in unspoilt nature from one monastery to another will leave memories of landscapes and extraordinary views ... this is not a real vacation, but rather an unforgettable life's experience.

Date of experience: August 2012
7  Thank DenisGuidolin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ηλίας Ρ, Manager at Athos Sea Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear DenisGuidolin73,

It is very pleasant to see that you had such a good time during the cruise to Mount Athos.

Mount Athos with more than 1000 years history offers an once in a life time experience and the best way to get there is Athos Sea Cruises. Our cruising company since 1954 transfer visitors to Mount Athos. With respect and safety we provide high quality services with 4 ships carrying out more than 800 passengers every day.

We are looking forward that you will visit us soon again.

King Regards,
Athos Sea Cruises Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

i really enjoyed the tour,even though is not cheap,is the only chance to have a glance at the Mount Athos,is forbidden to women. Greece from South to North is full of beauty,the combination mountain sea,is amazing.

Date of experience: July 2012
6  Thank Silvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ηλίας Ρ, Manager at Athos Sea Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear {0},

Thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate you taking time and share your experience.

We are giving the best efforts to offer you an incredible cruising experience in Mount Athos. Our staff, our ships, our amenities and of course the entertainment program are characterised by high quality standards.

Looking forward to see you again and join our cruises.

Kind regards,
Athos Sea Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is just a review , not just for the specific company, as I have not been around Athos with them, but as there is no possibility that I write about Athos cruises in general, I prefer to write it here. Being in Halkidiki, would be a great chance for one to take a cruise around Athos, as it is really unique! Amazing landscapes, that one would see only once in his/her life! I would totally recommend it, and make sure before you go, that you definitely hace sun-screen cream with you, hats, etc.
It is totally worthed to check out the monasteries from the boat. The architecture and the nature are both incredible!

Date of experience: July 2011
6  Thank jmal127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ηλίας Ρ, Manager at Athos Sea Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear jmal27,

Thank you for your time to review us in TripAdvisor.

As you said Mount Athos is impressive and Athos Sea Cruises offers you a lovely experience to this unique part of the Earth. Thank you for recommending us, 98% of our customers recommending us as the best thing to do in Halkidiki.

We are looking forward to see you again to try another cruise.

Kind regards,
Athos Sea Cruises Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athos Sea Cruises also viewed

Ouranoupolis, Mt. Athos Peninsula
 
Ouranoupolis, Mt. Athos Peninsula
Ammouliani, Halkidiki Region
 

Been to Athos Sea Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing