We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Basilica Catedral Nuestra Senora de la Altagracia
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Higuey City Tour from Punta Cana
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Higuey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This gothic-style chapel stands in Santo Domingo's Colonial District.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“serene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

we stopped here as part of a trip the church is very lovely and shaped to depict praying hands. one tip I would have try and visit a toilet before as the ones for use are not very nice

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank caecoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    78
    17
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Port
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Took a excursion from our hotel in LaRomana to the basilica in higuey. Very beautiful, tells a great story. Worth the trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TOBYDOG145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
1,010 reviews
602 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“good to see!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

This cathedral is beautiful and there no fee to enjoy it. Around cathedral vendors in the street which you can enjoy higuey cheese.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bus driver said get on Higuey bus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My intent was to get to Santo Domino as fast as possible from Punta Cana. Needed to catch a plane. Driver explained that taking the bus to Higuey in the next ten minutes was better than waiting around for the bus direct to Santo Domingo another 1.5 hr. Once in Higuey, buses run every 30 mins. Only two or three a day run out of Fruili, next to Punta Cana. I hear a taxi from Punta Cana to Santi Domingo is $200.

Anyways, what a surprise to see the cathedral out the bus window. I had seen the image passing by while googling DR. And the bus stopped right ok front of it. Rather than taking the next connection, decided this is a chance not to be missed. I schlepped my bags over and up the walk into the most beautiful modern chapel. Kitsch, and modern gothic at once. A New Year's Day Mass was in service. I was embraced by the believers at intervals, and wooed with Latin chants.

If you find yourself lost to the pressures of travel and the excesses of vacation, a sanctuary such as this is a haven of solace.

Helpful?
6 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

This Basilica is a must see if you're travelling nearby. It's gorgeous if put in the context of the surroundings. Recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica Catedral Nuestra Senora de la Altagracia also viewed

Parque Nacional del Este, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 

Been to Basilica Catedral Nuestra Senora de la Altagracia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing