We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem in the Greek countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kassandra Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kriopigi
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A little gem in the Greek countryside”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Superb quiet countryside location, yet only a ten minute stroll up a steep hill to the village and a fifteen minute walk down to the beach. There some fab walks to be had, if you like to walk. Very friendly, family run hotel. Plenty of sun loungers on the spacious grass lawn with great music being played too. The family offer a superb BBQ on 1 night and Greek night on another. (included in the half board of the Thomson half board cost). Rooms are very clean, located higher floor the better yet be aware of the 70 odd steps. 45 Euros for the air conditioning and hire of the safe for 1 week. Thank you x from room 315

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor quieter> room 311 overlooks pool surrounding countryside and sea/ room 315 ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseC378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    102
    42
    23
    18
See reviews for
77
184
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Great Dunmow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great place!food was good,made better by two nights of grill around the pool.nothing was too much trouble.family run and really friendly.the town is nice and makes a nice place to go in the evening.room is basic but clean.I recommend you get the air conditioning for an extra five Euros a night.made life much more pleasant!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janenigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

What a nice hotel this is.Family run so you seem to get better service than big hotels ok the food is a little basic but it is always cooked very well .The rooms are a little compact but kept very clean .The pool area is very quiet and kept clean and tidy.Now to the famous hill it is a little steep either going to the beach or to the shops but if like me you have problems with hills just take your time and its fine .Also the trip to thesoloniki is very worth while .Would I return to this hotel it would be yes if I wanted to return to halkidiki.Just one last thing go to the next resort (kalithayia) and go to fregio for the best ice cream ever (yoghurt flavour)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank speedfreak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This was a smashing holiday.The hotel and staff are 1st class,food was smashing also.The hotel can't do enough for you.Thank-you once again for a super holiday,hope to see you again.we also enjoyed going to other places,but it was nice sitting on the beach.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jaron12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Our second stay here and we were welcomed back like honoured guests, lovely quite pool area rooms have good sized balconies. chef cooks lovely home cooked style food and the family and owners are the nicest people you will meet anywhere they cannot do enough for you.

During your visit a trip to Thessaloniki is a must a wonderful city with a nice promenade excellent shopping and some great museums and archaeological sites with numerous cafes bars and restaurant's which are great value with excellent choice of food and drinks.

We are already looking forward to next year

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndePoshboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have just come back from our 7th visit to this hotel, and are already looking forward to next time.
I am not going to write a long review as I have reviewed this hotel previously, and little has really changed.
If you know what to expect before you travel, you will not be disappointed, so my advice is to always remember that this is a 2* family run Greek hotel, and you will get 2* family run, Greek hotel service. Do not expect 5* Intercontinental accommodation or food unless you are prepared to pay for it !

On our transfer coach to the hotel there were 10 people who had previously stayed at this hotel - that tells it's own story. The Kassandra Bay hotel is a place where you can fully relax and make many new friends. Almost everyone says that they have never stayed at a hotel where people mix and get on so well.

A brief resume.
Rooms are small, but clean, and are perfectly adequate for short breaks. There is no fridge, kettle, or TV in the rooms, but cold water is available from the bar for E1.50 (try getting 1.5 litres in a UK hotel for that price ! ) You can buy 6 x 1.5 litre bottles in the town for just E1.40, but it won't be cold.

The food at breakfast is a typical continental breakfast. Bread, rolls, boiled eggs, cheese, cold meats, tomatoes, cereal, yoghurt, honey etc. There is a choice of fruit squash (can't really call it juice), tea and coffee. Every other day there may be omelettes, scrambled eggs, or bacon & fried eggs on Sunday.
Lunch time snacks from the pool bar are reasonably priced and include a variety of salads as well as omelettes, burgers, sausage, chips etc, and all are reasonably priced.
Evening meals are self-service, although a broth is served at your table first, and your drinks order will also be taken at your table. Typically there will be an English style dish, a Greek style dish, and a selection of rice/pasta, sauces etc. I am a really fussy eater, but I always find something tasty to eat. Don't expect much in the way of a sweet course, which is usually a small portion of Greek style cake or creme caramel or similar.

Entertainment is - interesting ! If you join in, you will almost certainly enjoy it, if you just sit back and watch you will probably have a different opinion altogether.

Most people mention the hill ! Yes, the hill is quite steep in places, but if you take it slowly and don't treat it as a race, it is maneagable for most. There were people in their 70's who enjoyed the walks around town !

The beach is a 10-15 minute walk away, and has varied types of sand along it's length, from coarse & sharp to soft & fine. The main attraction however, is the clear, safe water that is perfect for swimming. You may find beach shoes useful for when you first get in, but once you are a little way out the bottom is really soft sand. The sunbed attendant has cleared a few channels through the rocks so that you can walk to the sandy bottomed bit with no problem. There are plenty of sunloungers at E5 for 2 including an umbrella. A small beach bar offers drinks and snacks. It is possible to walk for miles in either direction along the beach, with beach bars dotted between the villages/towns.

The town of Kriopigi is small, but has a number of bars & restaurants including typically Greek, (try Nicos, Anthoula, The Acropolis or the Bistro), or the more European style bars, including Casablanca. I have previously reviewed the Greek restaurants if you want to see my opinion of them.

All in all, the Kassandra Bay hotel offers comfortable accomodation, in a beautiful part of Greece, at a sensible price. We will be back to meet friends both old & new, and also to enjoy the hospitality of Alan, Renate, Christos, Yannis, and the rest of the family & staff.

One little negative from this year - Thomson really had not organised our arrival at the airport very well at all. One rep to see off 5 coaches ? That meant a delay of over 30 minutes just sitting in the airport car park. The coach then left with a driver who had never done this route before. He missed one hotel completely, and had to turn around, and then tried to drop some guests at the wrong hotel ! Had it not been for the many of us who are regular visitors here and were able to advise the driver, some holidaymakers might have had a very unhappy start to their holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We booked a late deal here through Thomson and after reading some of the reviews, I was a little worried. Being our first holiday together, our main aim for this holiday was to spend quality time together with peace and quiet and we definitely got this here! We had room 308, a top floor room with both pool and sea view and the room itself was totally comfortable for our 7 day stay. I requested when booking, a double room which I was surprised to have been allocated. The room was clean and compact with the main issue being the shower, often the water was only luke warm but due to the temperature in Greece, a colder shower seemed more appealing.

Now, the food. I myself am one of the most fussiest people when it comes to meal times and as other reviewers have said, choice is not great however there was always something for me to eat and I never went hungry. For the price you pay for Half Board anyone that grumbles must have moths flying out of their wallets!!

Th location of the hotel we found to be beautiful, yes, the hill is a killer but the views are amazing. The walk to/from the beach took us about 15 minutes but I wouldn't advise anyone walking it at midday as it is far too hot. The walk to the little village is almost the same. It wouldn't suit someone with walking difficulties.

The only major downside to our stay was that the owner of the hotel had her brother and a few of his friends to stay and they were quite noisy during the evening and quite late into the night, we thought this was particularly rude as many of the guests staying at the hotel were older couples.

Overall, we had an absolutely amazing time here and are planning on revisiting in September, the value for money here is great, the staff are friendly and the location is beautiful. We would definitely recommend trips to the other villages along the coast as Kripogi is relatively quiet and us being a younger couple we wanted to explore. We are planning another visit in September!

Room Tip: Opt for a top floor pool facing room for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astar93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kriopigi hotels
0.9 mi away
Kassandra Palace Hotel
Kassandra Palace Hotel
#8 of 12 in Kriopigi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kriopigi Hotel
Kriopigi Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kriopigi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alkion Hotel
Alkion Hotel
#4 of 12 in Kriopigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palladium Hotel
Palladium Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kriopigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Theo Bungalows
Theo Bungalows
#6 of 12 in Kriopigi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kassandra Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassandra Bay Hotel

Property: Kassandra Bay Hotel
Address: Kriopigi, Kriopigi 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Kriopigi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kriopigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kassandra Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Kassandra Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassandra Bay Kriopigi
Hotel Kassandra Bay
Kassandra Bay Hotel Kriopigi, Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing