We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kassandra Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kriopigi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for a week at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The hotel is immaculate, the rooms are beautiful for Greece! I have stayed in awful accommodation but this was modern, clean and everything was in working order. The staff are friendly and very accommodating and we charged everything to the room. The prices were the best in the area, 2.5 euro for beer and wine which was lovely, lunch time snacks were also reasonable and delicious! The pool and grounds were immaculate also! The area however is very hilly and this would cause problems for people with mobility issues! There is a gentle walk from the back of the hotel. We ate out at night which was by choice but did enjoy the hotel food. Breakfast is basic but this is Greece! Omelettes and fried eggs available once a week. Nice selection of food. We visited Afitos and Kalithea which have amazing beaches and cost approx 8-12€ each way in a taxi but well worth it, many people hired cars. Some people hired scooters. The beach at Kriopigi is horrid and dirty we visited only once, the train was broken and it is quite a trek! There are nice bars at night you must try Ostria and also the fish restaurant opposite the Kriopigi hotel Tprozi, also for amazing value Acropolis we ate there with drinks for 17 € best priced with fabulous service! All in all a very nice and relaxing holiday well worth the money with variety lovely people and beautiful weather. Don't go to Kassandria there is nothing there, Athenas serves beautiful food, only one cash point at Kriopigi hotel and shops reluctant to accept cards. euros preferred. Enjoy!!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    102
    42
    23
    18
See reviews for
77
185
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed 6.5.-20.5.2013. Good value for money. Family very friendly and helpful. Rooms simple but clean. Food adequate, not 5 star, but lets face it you are not paying 5 star. Road up to the village and down to the beach are a bit steep, but the brochure says the hotel is not suitable for people with walking problems. All in all very good value for the money paid. Hire a car, very reasonable from Kriopigi Autos and see the rest of the peninsular. Enjoyed the holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugibba, Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spend a long weekend in this hotel. It is a nice family hotel with very friendly stuff. We arrived at 3 in the morning, there was a telephone number at the reception, we called and the owner (a nice woman) came 5 minutes later.
The rooms are simple, but decent and clean. The food was good, the price was very cheap so we couldn't expect something more.
It is 10 minutes walking to the beach and around 20 minutes walking to the center of the village.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

lovely hotel staff very friendly and helpful stayed there for one week 6th of may 2013 would go back again food very nice rooms basic but clean just a lovely family run hotel there is a steep hill to go upto the village about a 8 min walk but we was aware of this when we booked and downhill to beach overall a lovely holiday

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This family run hotel is set in a very peaceful area, within many pine trees and not many neighbouring hotels.

The hotel itself has good points and bad points, but it would be unfair to expect 5 star amenities in a 3 star hotel.

Check in was very simple and the staff available to carry cases to your room. The room itself is basic and somewhat dated, and there are no things like a TV, hairdryer, kettle. The walls are not very sound proofed and people snoring next door was quite audible and also guests getting up early for trips meant an early wake up call! The shower had a curtain surrounding two sides and resultsed in the floor regularly getting wet and hazardous.However the room was sufficient and comfortable enough for our requirements. The balcony was average size, with a number of rooms having nesting housemartins just above the patio doors. The corridors were not particularly well lit, which could have resulted in a fall down certain unexpected steps.

The hotel itself has a number of steps, and due their unevenness, were a potential danger to the elderly and infirm. There were no children during our stay, but the steps could be a danger if there were any children running around. I had previously sustained a sprained ankle in the UK the week before and found the steps quite challenging to negotiate.

The pool was pleasant, but rarely used by guests. It was used more by swooping housemartins using it to drink and bathe in flight. Additionally there were some dead flies on the water surface. Around the pool, the sunbeds were located on grass which was patchy and strewn with weeds and also teaming with ants, beetles and bugs, which fortunately rarely went on the sunbeds.This was the case with all the grass around the hotel, although the trees and shrubs were fairly well maintained. The grass wasn't cut at all during the week we stayed. The beds were slightly uncomfortable, with no sponges to put on them, so recommend taking beach towels. The parasols were few and far between and looked cheap and dated, easily blown over in a breeze. There were some wasps and large bees, but not any more than we found in the village itself. However I would not be able to comment on how bad this would be during the high season.

The bar area was very pleasant with good friendly service. Bar snacks were nice and varied. Beer cost 2.50 euros and soft drinks 1.50 euros. This area was used for the evening events. We only attended Alan's quiz night which was hilarious as it sounded like we had Borat as quizmaster. The Greek BBQ night was nice, although some guests left early as they didn't appreciate school dinner queueing for food. The hotel family did a good job in getting people involved in the dancing. If you are used to professional acts entertainment then this hotel is not for you.

The dining room was nice, with areas to eat al fresco. The breakfast was basic, with a choice of 3 cereals, orange juice, one cold meat and cheese slices, bread rolls, very boiled eggs and occasionally plain omelette and fried eggs. Toast making facility from two standard home pop up toasters. Coffee and tea - although some guests had brought their own tea bags. In the evening, dinner was served between 7pm-9pm. This consisted of a self serve bowl of soup with ladle, brought to your table. Then it was self service to a very limited choice of food, which was quite bland. If you like to eat after 8pm then you will find the food not very warm, if there is any left at all. On a couple of nights we had to ask for replenishment of rice which seemed to be done by the chef begrudgingly. When vegetables had run out, we had to make do with some chips. The pasta sauce regularly ran out and there was very little to cater for plain eaters or if children were staying.

The walks to the village strip were quite steep but negotiable at a gentle pace. I agree with previous reviews that Casablanca is a good bar to visit and the owners were very accomodating if there was a particular sporting event you wanted to watch on the TVs. There are a number of supermarkets also, and the view from the Bistrot balcony was very nice.

The walk to the beach can take 15-20mins. When you reach the crossroads, you can either turn right down a narrower road to a beach consisting mainly of stones, or you can carry on across through the pine trees which brings you to a nice sandy beach. Sun beds and parasol here cost 5 euros, but be warned these are provided by the Kryopigi Beach Hotel and you will be asked to vacate them at approximately 4.15pm. Also there are toilets here, but they have no toilet seats or cubicle doors!

Whilst there is very little to do around the hotel, particularly if the weather is inclement, there are plenty of books available in the reception area.

Overall, we had a pleasant, relaxing stay and met some nice people during the week. We noticed that some guests had had falls during the week, so need to be very careful around the hotel. For the price paid, please do not expect a luxurious 5 star hotel and service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebbandflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed at the Kassandra Bay from the 6th-13th May 2013 was very clean, family run hotel, food nice, breakfast consists of eggs, bread, cheese, ham, jams, greek yoghurt, cereals and honey. Evening meal was, chicken, beef, lamb, pork, moussakka, potatoes, rice, salad, pasta and sauces. Not much entertainment in the evening, quiz night, bingo. BBQ on the Sunday night was lovely with the staff doing greek dancing! The walk to the shops and the beach is not as bad a people make out, only 10 mins, the beach is lovely, shingle and the sea has a lot of jelly fish but they don't sting! Took the bus to afitos but be prepared to wait we waited over an hour and there isnt alot there to be seen, bus only runs back to kriopigi at 3.30pm and 7.10pm so if you the miss one you have a big wait! This hotel suited me and my friend as we went for a quiet, chilled out holiday, for the money we paid it was well worth it. I wouldn't take my kids as there isn't anything for them to do.

Room Tip: As this is a quiet hotel dont think anyone would have problems with noise, i would request a high fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireLampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w.midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked this holiday just three weeks before and paid very little. The hotel and the family that run it are wonderful. There is a walk uphill and yes in parts can be quite hard going. I have a spine condition and metal pins and managed it most days, but the reward is worth it. The buses run regular and the driver/condutor speaks very good english and are very helpful. The hotel is spotless clean with plenty of sun beds although some new parasols would be nice. The food was amazing, we expected to eat out every night because of the low price we had paid but ate at hotel every night. Breakfast was very basic but adequate after all we only eat cereals or toast at home ! we did go into the village one morning for a full english at Casablancas and enjoyed it very much. The evening meals were delicious home cooked and very healthy with not a chip in sight, plenty of fresh vegetables and meat cooked to perfection. Lots of salad and pasta and the rice was divine i wish i had asked what it was flavoured with now. ( if you are a chips and chicken nuggets person then you will struggle) if you value good quality food then you will be very pleased. The drinks at the bar were very cheap and good measures also they do snacks at lunch time and do the most delicious bacon cheeseburger and chips ( you can have chips at lunch if you want ) we got through quite a few carafes of wine 1/2 litre for only 5 euros very good. The pool is adequate and is more of a leisure pool but fine for keeping cool. The rooms were kept spotless and sheets were even changed during our stay of 1 week ! The only fault i had was i didn't like the butter at breakfast but this was solved by buying a tub of lurpak from the village. we both went with an open mind as it was our first visit to greece but found the people and the country very pleasing. Make sure you go out and about on the bus to local resorts and especially AFITOS if this is how it is spelt ? it is a very old village with cobbled streets' little gift shops, coffee shops and plenty of places to grab some lunch a very quaint village. We would recommend the trip to mount athos to see the monastaries it was a fantastic day out and kerry our thomsons rep was very helpful. The family that run this hotel will go out of their way to meet your needs and even took us up the hill to the village one day. The bingo will have you in fits of laughter and the bbq on sunday was great. Our holiday rep sarah was allways very friendly and arrived when she said she would. We would return to Kassandra bay with family next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taylor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kriopigi hotels
0.9 mi away
Kassandra Palace Hotel
Kassandra Palace Hotel
#8 of 12 in Kriopigi
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kriopigi Hotel
Kriopigi Hotel
#4 of 12 in Kriopigi
270 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alkion Hotel
Alkion Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kriopigi
131 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palladium Hotel
Palladium Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kriopigi
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Theo Bungalows
Theo Bungalows
#6 of 12 in Kriopigi
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kassandra Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassandra Bay Hotel

Property: Kassandra Bay Hotel
Address: Kriopigi, Kriopigi 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Kriopigi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kriopigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kassandra Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kassandra Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassandra Bay Kriopigi
Hotel Kassandra Bay
Kassandra Bay Hotel Kriopigi, Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing