We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Great.”
Review of Achtis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Achtis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Afitos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We came back last Monday 11 June after going to the Achtis for the second year running, we had never replicated a holiday before but the Achtis was so outstanding we knew we couldnt get a better place to go to, we werent disappointed. We were met by Magda who owns the hotel with her husband Achilles and it was like we were returning family with the greeting we received.
The hotel is beautiful and so well maintained, the rooms are virtually all different and decdorated and furnished to a very high standard. Lovely pool which has a selection of sun loungers, double beds sofas etc. scattered around it. Gardens with a large pond full of carp and a couple of terrapins, and plenty of lovely plants and flowers, the whole place is just a lovely peaceful haven to lie back soak up the sun and relax. The pool bar serves a good choice of meals and drinks, in fact the food is as good as anywhere in Afitos itself, the Friday night barbecue is a must and the breakfasts deliver a good all round option to select from.
You are served outstandingly efficiently by the lovely, funny and sometimes crazy Christina who just makes everyone happy with her great character and humour, also the lovely Lillia, both these girls cant do enough for you and know you by your Christian names and room No. in 5 minutes of arrival. The bed linen and towels in the rooms are changed daily by the 2 hard working maids who do a great job of tidying daily as well.
Afitos itself is a lovely little town with a good choice of bars restaurants and tavernas, all the owners are chatty, helpful and very friendly and theres no hassling you, if you want a lovely relaxing holiday in an amazing hotel run by the lovliest of people the Achtis is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
There are newer reviews for Achtis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

Another Fantastic Chill Out Week At The Achtis Hotel

Back again, just as relaxing as usual, Magda and Achilles, the hotel owners, made us feel so welcome. We stayed in one of the Junior Suites again, so light, clean and airy with fantastic views. If you are concerned about the economic situation in Greece, do not even consider this as an excuse for not visiting this part of the country, you would never guess that there is a recession. Shops quite busy, restaurant prices cheaper than last time due to the great exchange rate against the Euro.  You must visit the cocktail bar in the village, the most fantastic Mojitos  I have ever had and so cheap 4.40 Euro's each and they really do get better the more you drink. There are numerous restaurants in the village in fact too many to count, all we're excellent and cheap, quality fresh fish. Outstanding restaurants to visit, Stromboli, top end of the main street just after the fork, well worth the walk, Eteki, Edward the owner cannot do too much to make you feel like a regular, opposite the Tomato and Pepper also worth a visit. You can quite easily eat out for under 30 Euro's. Our problem was that we chilled out so fast that it was an effort to leave the Achtis to do anything, in fact there really is no need to leave the hotel if you don't feel like it, as The Achtis has everything you would wish for in a chill out week away from life's pressures.  just try it you will not regret it, it's just a fantastic friendly relaxing reasonably priced vacation. For that extra chill factor, go between mid May to early June or late August to mid September. We Absolutely will be back again soon may even be this year, oh we so are addicted to the Achtis Hotel. 

Room Tip: Just try it you will not be disappointed
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We have just returned from our 12th stay at the Achtis Hotel. Every time we arrive there it's like comming home.
Every time Magda and Achilles succeed to give you the feeling you stay in there home and not in just a hotel.
We had a wunderful time again and looking forward to our 13th visit in September.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spiti_mou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We just returned from an 8 day holiday at the Achtis. We had a wonderful holiday and this place really is as good as the previous reviews. You can book this hotel with absolute confidence and be sure that whatever you might think is happening in Greece, the Achtis hotel continues to operate and provide its guests with the highest level of customer satisfaction and service in a very safe environment :-

Hotel - the hotel is around 6 /7 years old and it is very well maintained and every area is spotlessly clean. Our room (family) consisted of two rooms. One with a huge double bed (probably Queen) and the other room had two sofa type beds. My children are 13 and 9 and both slept comfortably as we did too. Nice firm mattresses and the rooms were decorated to a high standard. We even had a wall papered ceiling! We all had plenty of hanging and storage space and excellent Aircon units in both rooms too. This will become very important for guests staying later in the summer. Bathroom was good, although bath water ran very slowly making the daily bath time for all 4 of us to be a slightly drawn out process - didn't bother us though.

Pool - the pool is fantastic and approx 20 mtrs by 8 mtrs. It was about 1.2 m deep at the shallow end and impressively deep - 2.85 mtrs at the other end. It was always clean and served the guests wonderfully well due to its size. We often found we were alone in the pool, even though the hotel was full. The pool really is the focal point for the hotel and rightly so.

Hotel grounds / gardens - the garden furniture and various soft furnishings around the pool and garden make it a delightful place to sit and enjoy the lovely weather. You can find sun or shade easily and all equipment is clean and in top condition and there are various brick-built gazebos that have seats and tables too. We particularly enjoyed the use of a day-bed (with mattress) for most of the days, which made sun bathing round the pool even more luxurious and comfortable. The gardens are full of beautiful plants / shrubs / flowers and mature trees too. The garden is maintained daily and it's so well stocked and designed and you really do appreciate how much time has been spent to make it just perfect.

Breakfast / food / snacks - breakfast is more than adequate and we enjoyed egg, bacon sausage, along with cereals / bread, meat and cheese too. Some fruit is available and something freshly baked on site, such as a pizza / pie or local speciality too. A very extensive menu is available daily and we enjoyed lunches which were always cooked to a high standard and reasonably priced. We couldn't fault the food at all.

Staff / hospitality - the owners Magda and her husband are perfect hosts. Magda even made a special trip to the pharmacy to get some cream for our son - suffering from prickly heat. They really do care. Christina is wonderful too as is Lilia (she has only been there 2 weeks and was so good). On arrival, we were all asked for our names and from that moment onwards we never had to remind anybody who we were, and were always addressed by name - I thought this was a very nice touch and makes customers feel important, rather than just a number.

Afitos - the local town, just a few hundred yards away makes for a nice walk in the evening and you can enjoy reasonably priced food and many bars, restaurants and shops too. We enjoyed walking round in the evening and bumping into the other guests staying at the Achtis. We met some nice people in the hotel, many of which have visited the hotel previously. We intend to do the same in the years ahead.

In summary, book early and you can look forward to a great holiday at the Achtis. It's a wonderful place to relax and unwind. Thanks Magda for a great time. Regards Mark, Gina, Abbey & Daniel.

Room Tip: All rooms are slightly different
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Markstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just got back from a fabulous holiday at the ACHTIS hotel in AFITOS. The brilliant tranquil surroundings with voile covered gazebos, a huge pond containing many different species of fish, turtles and frogs and the vast selection of seating areas all add up to a peaceful and relaxing holiday. The accommodation was top notch and to a very high standard of maintenance. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the maids worked hard to maintain a high standard of cleanliness One of the highlights of the week was the bbq that was held on the Friday night. It was voted by my family as being one of the best meals of the week!.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LINDAJP000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have been to Afitos many times and stayed at the Achtis Hotel for the first time this year. We had a deluxe suite complete with our own bathrobes, kingsize bed, whirlpool bath and two balconies. Magda, Achilles, Kristina and Lilia gave us a warm welcome. Afitos village is only a five minute walk away with a good choice of restaurants and bars.

Lovely, relaxing holiday for all of us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillKingstonuponHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Just finishing our holiday at this great hotel. The staff are outstanding, Lilia and Christina take time to remember what you like, and nothing is ever too much trouble. Magda the owner and her husband are excellent hosts. The hotel is beautifully kept and spotlessly clean. There are peacocks that wander about and koi and turtles in a lovely pond. The pool is kept spotlessly clean. The food in the hotel was always great, home cooked and really reasonably priced. the rooms were of a good standard, and cleaned daily with new towels. We were given pool towels for each of us, and drinks are delivered to your spot in the sun, always with a lovely smile and a chat. The hotel gets repeat customers year on year. We have been to many hotels, and this one is by far the best for service, quality and affordability. We shall be back!

Room Tip: Email Magda directly to ask for the type of room you want. All rooms face the pool.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afitos
0.4 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#3 of 8 in Afitos
167 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sani Beach
Sani Beach
#5 of 6 in Sani
3,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Afitis Boutique Hotel
Afitis Boutique Hotel
#5 of 8 in Afitos
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Polichrono
348 reviews
6.5 mi away
Porto Sani
Porto Sani
#2 of 6 in Sani
889 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sani Asterias
Sani Asterias
#3 of 6 in Sani
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achtis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achtis Hotel

Address: Afitos 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Afitos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Afitos
Price Range: $91 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Achtis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Achtis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achtis Hotel Afitos, Halkidiki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing