We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”
Review of Stratos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stratos Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Afitos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very nice hotel with really friendly staff. Free parking, WiFi. Location- 3 min walking to center, 15, 20min to the two nice beach. The only problem was with bathroom(bathub) is to small and withaout curtain, the room are clenaned daily.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Sasa A,

We would like to thank you for your review and the title of the review as well!

We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodation in Stratos Hotel and we apologize for the small dimension of the bathtub.

We will be more than happy if we can welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 215 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a week (September 2-9) and were blown away! The rooms were incredible, the beds were quite comfortable, and the included breakfast had plenty of options and all home-made, local items.

The location is about a 10 minute walk from the beach, and the infinity pool (yes, infinity pool!!) was beautiful.

Our sheets and towels were changed every day, and the room included TV, a fridge and A/C. The patio door also had a double screen to bring fresh air in and keep mosquitoes out!

The owners really made us feel at home, and we were quite sad to leave.

Overall a fantastic stay - I would highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely be staying there again! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom_mah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear tom_mah1,

We would like to thank you for your nice words from your recent stay with us!

We are pleased to know that you liked the hotel, our staff and the location.

Contact us when you will come back to Afitos, it will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is situated at an excellent location in Chalkidiki, Afytos, which is a beautiful place for holidays as it combines nice restaurants and nice bars as well as a very nice beach. Kallithea can be reached in about 7 minutes by car.

We stayed for 5 nights at Stratos hotel and noticed that rooms are cleaned daily, towels and bed linen are changed often. The brakfast is not perfect but ok for a 3 star hotel.

The only problems we faced in the room was (a) bathroom was becoming flooded every time we were having a shower. The shower curtain was too short. (b) Everytime we were switching on the aircondition there was a very bad smell in the room, maybe the filters of the aircon. needed to be cleaned/maintained.

If you wish to stay at a low budget hotel, we reccomend Stratos since as mentioned above the hotel staff keep it clean which is a very important factor usually not found in 3 star hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STELLA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property on tripadvisor.

We would like to thank you for beautiful words concerning our location, the cleanness of the hotel and your recommendation for Stratos Hotel. Also, we are glad for your comment about our breakfast that “is OK for a 3 stars hotel”, since we are a 3 stars hotel! Although, we believe that there are few 3 stars hotels that offer (among all the other products) handmade jams, handmade sweets and handmade cakes in their breakfast!

We are sorry that you didn’t inform us about the shower curtain or the air-condition filters.
Since, both of them are easy matters to be solved (change the curtain and call the technician in order to clean the filters) it would be much easier and effective to let us know about them while you were staying in our property in order to have an immediate reaction.

We hope to accommodate you in the future!

Best Regards,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is pretty good; within walking distance to the center of Afytos, parking space, free wifi, clean rooms but more important then the rest is the staff. I am really thankful to Anastasia and Stella for their recommendations. Starting right after our arrival, it became a routine to ask for their recommendation for anything we need.

My special thanks goes to Anastasia for introducing Sani where we had a great time in the excellent beach and marina.

Note: If you happen to be in Istanbul, don't hesitate to give me a call. I have some recommendations of my own ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atesalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Atesalp,

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope that we have made your stay as enjoyable and pleasant as possible.

It was a real pleasure to us to accommodate you and propose you new places and beaches to visit every day!

Looking forward to accommodate you again in the future!


P.S Thank you for the invitation to your magnificent city!

Best Regards,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

everything was great ...from the room to the kindness of the staff!!
the room, the swimming pool, the breakfast, the food everything excellent and in a good prices!!!

we thank you for these relaxing days!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p_andry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear p-andry,

Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review about Stratos Hotel!

We are grateful to your beautiful words and we hope to accommodate you again in the future!

Our Regards to Lemesos!

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We enjoyed a weeks stay at the hotel at the end of June 2013. Afitos is a lovely, small town (the best in the local area) with plenty of small shops, nice restaurants and bars. The hotel is conveniently located not far from the main road so it's easy to find but also only a 2 minute walk to the town centre. The hotel was lovely and clean (the rooms were cleaned everyday!) and the staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough to help you. We would definitely recommend staying here and look forward to visiting again in the future.

Amy & Tom

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Amy and Tom,

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing your stay in TripAdvisor!
Your beautiful words it’s the best reward for us!

Looking forward to accommodate you again in the future!

Yours sincerely,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife & I spent the last 5 nights of our honeymoon here. We found this hotel online whilst out in Greece and called them directly, from this first phonecall until checkout, the 3 girls at the hotel did everything they could to make our stay with them perfect and perfect it was.

We arrived within an hour of the booking call and were greeted at reception by Stella. We paid upfront despite Stella being totally shocked that a British couple had found them and were paying straight away. We were shown to our room which en route we passed the pool and bar area. The pool is open from 10am - 10pm and is lit up with lights and lanterns at night. The bar area is reasonably priced and we were happy to buy drinks there.

We were shown our room and informed that the air conditioning was free and included, also that the hotel has wi-fi which is free to use upon obtaining the password. We were told about the breakfast times and that she would see us in the morning for breakfast and to enjoy our stay.

The room we had faced towards the carpark but we were not too fussed about this. The decor is what you would expect a standard greek hotel room to be like. The bathroom was nice (despite the tricky shower curtain) and there were mosquitos nets on the bathroom window and the balcony door.

The breakfast on offer is fantastic and is buffet style. We were met by Stella and shown all they had to offer including their homemade jams which my wife tried and enjoyed their plum jam. Breakfast was lovely and despite not normally being a breakfast person I was very happy to eat there each morning.

The pool is very nice and at a good temperature, the pool is in fact cleaned and checked every night which i've never seen, usually its every few days or once a week so it was good to know that it was always a clean pool. The position of the pool and sun loungers is perfect as you get the sun up until it gets too cool to sun bathe. The pool bar plays music all the time and gives off a nice relaxing chilled feel. At reception there is a selection of books available for guests to read whilst they relaxed. It just struck us that the staff at this hotel wanted to do everything they could for you.

One night we returned early from dinner and decided to have a drink at the pool bar as it looked lovely and because of the warm friendly welcome we felt like we wanted to sit and enjoy the calmness at poolside. Anastacia came over and gifted us a chocolate mousse dessert with a sparkler as a gift for choosing to spend part of our honeymoon with them. They were so honoured that we chose to stay with them and kept telling us how happy they were to have us. They really made us feel like we were on our honeymoon.

On the 2nd last night there was a long thunderstorm. It wasn't too safe to venture out to the village and with my wife being pregnant it was better to stay indoors. I went to reception to ask for some advice on where we could eat. Stella offered to cook us a full proper meal despite not doing evening meals. I declined the offer as I did not want them to go to any trouble for us, we wanted to check that we could order something in and Stella order in food for us and told me she would send the delivery straight up to our room when it arrived.

When we checked out we were really sad to be leaving this hotel. They really looked after us and made us feel so welcome. We agreed that anytime we return to Afytos, the stratos hotel will be our choice of destination as we cannot thank the girls enough for making the end of our honeymoon so special.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room if available there were none available for us but the poolside looks great w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JStodd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear JStodd25,

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope that we have made your stay as enjoyable and pleasant as possible. We love Afitos and love helping others have a good time while staying in Halkidiki. You have our regards and the special greetings from Stella!

Looking forward to accommodating you with us in the future.

p.s We can provide you with a baby cot completely free of charge! ;-)

Yours sincerely,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afitos
0.2 mi away
Achtis Hotel
Achtis Hotel
#1 of 9 in Afitos
1,114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Afitos
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stamos Hotel
Stamos Hotel
#7 of 9 in Afitos
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Petrino Suites Hotel
Petrino Suites Hotel
#3 of 9 in Afitos
203 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Flegra Palace
Hotel Flegra Palace
#1 of 18 in Pefkohori
368 reviews
12.4 mi away
Alia Palace Hotel
Alia Palace Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pefkohori
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratos Hotel

Address: Afitos, Kassandra | Halkidiki, Afitos 630 77, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Afitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Afitos
Price Range: $53 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stratos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the enchanting Afitos the most beautiful and traditional village of Chalkidiki in Greece, Stratos hotel welcomes you! Matching perfectly the benefits of a hotel with the family atmosphere of a hostel, represents the ideal proposal for your vacation, while it consists of 41 rooms and 9 suites with air-condition, television, refrigerator, hair dryer and safe box. Do not hesitate to dive into our pool, relax drinking something refreshing at the pool bar and taste the home made breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stratos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratos Hotel Afitos, Halkidiki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing