We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing Budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dorint Resort Arnsberg/Sauerland
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Arnsberg
Reviewed August 25, 2010

The rooms we had were in what appeared to be a newly refurbished part of the hotel which was originally built in the early 1970's. However the refurbishment was either not yet completed, or was not very well done. A little example was the bathroom door, which appears not to have been painted since the hotel was originally built. We celebrated a family birthday on the night we stayed, and decided to eat in the hotel Dining room, and have the buffet. One of our party found 15mm diameter plastic machine component in his serving of the pork. No-one felt like finishing their meal. When we complained to the waitress, she said that the part had come from a serving dish, which plainly not the case. We mentioned to Reception that evening that we had been very unhappy with the food, for which they were very apologetic, and gave us a glass of wine each. Not very helpful, as two of the party do not drink wine. When we checked out the next morning, the costs of the food remained on the bill..... and the excuse for the poor food was that the restaurant had been busy the night before. It was busy.... with a Dorint interenal Sales Conference!!! Reception did remove the costs for the meal from our account eventually, but never did explain the plastic component. We will never stay in a Dorint establishment again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2000B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 178 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2010

All in all, a good hotel, if you do have reason to go to Arnsberg which is lovely but somewhat in the middle of nowhere. We went here in hot July for a wedding. We arrived in Dortmund Airport which was about an hour away and thankfully we got a ride otherwise the taxi would have been very expensive. Really, why would you come out here?

The first thing that struck me about the hotel was that '70's feel. It reminded me of places in Switzerland.... very well built, well maintained, gentle guests, so what throw out furnishings which are out of date but otherwise totally fine? Most importantly, things were very clean. So, 70's feeling but that was fine in the end.

What was not OK was NO air conditioning in the middle of the heat wave. That was not nice and I have no idea why they didn't have it. Fortunately we could open the balcony doors but with mosquitos and no moving air, it was fruitless. Management needs to work on this.

My compliments to the Sri Lankan chef and his crew for their kind hospitality. Morning breakfast was excellent and twice we arrived a minute or two after official closing time and he helped us get a nice plate of food. The breakfast spread in the morning is quite nice and eating it on the terrace was divine.

The staff otherwise were terrific, very professional, knowledgeable and accommodating. The night porter really saved the day when my projector for a presentation at the nearby castle (for a wedding) broke down and we desperately needed one at midnight. He called management, got the keys to the projector and lent it to me. That really made the evening.

The Spa and gym facilities were absolutely tops. The equipment was modern and rivaled those in my home gym in London. The outdoor area was really nice and too bad there wasn't enough time to enjoy it.

So, a very nice stay in the middle of nowhere. Thank you Dorint!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

I would like to give some feedback on my last weeks stay (new years arrangement) in Dorint Arnsberg. I was previously a customer in Dorint Windhagen, Dorint Bad Neuenahr and Dorint Mannheim. I was always very pleased with the stay and celebrated last year also in Windhagen with great pleasure.



My stay this New Year in Dorint Arnsberg was very disappointing. The hotel the rooms and the staff were ok and friendly, the wellness area was very good, but the Restaurant was below all standards.



When I go to a 4 or 5 stars Hotel (I do visit lots of hotels during my business life) I expect some minimum luxury and choice. It is unacceptable to have only a choice between ONE meat preparation and ONE fish preparation on a so called “buffet”. It is unacceptable to have barely a dessert choice that is already exhausted during my first visit to the appetisers buffet. I never managed to grab any of the choco-mousse. Same with the soup. “Kraftbruhe”, or a bouillon block solved in water is not a decent soup choice for a 4 star restaurant. Show cooking where ?



The new year buffet was very fast exhausted, haven’t seen a single shrimp, the meat was cold, there is more and better dessert choice in an Aldi supermarket…



Same in the morning. The bacon is completely overcooked, even burned till completely dry, 5 days in arrow. The croissants are bean-hard and old day after day. I can go on like that…



This was definitely NOT a decent buffet restaurant, not al all according to what I have seen in all other Dorint restaurants.



I hope this will be a once in a lifetime experience. My next new year will be in another Dorint Hotel, but never again ARNSBERG !

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank obamalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
Thank BRUNO L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Obere Etage und unbedingt nach einem renovierten Zimmer fragen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Sonny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank AdVWateringen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnsberg
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Arnsberg Sauerland
8.3 mi away
Sunderland Hotel
Sunderland Hotel
#1 of 11 in Sundern
97 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Menge
Hotel Menge
#2 of 9 in Arnsberg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Country Lodge
Country Lodge
#4 of 9 in Arnsberg
19 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel am Wall
Hotel am Wall
#5 of 6 in Soest
114 reviews
3.4 mi away
JU 52 Restaurant Hotel Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Resort Arnsberg/Sauerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Resort Arnsberg/Sauerland

Address: Zu den Drei Baenken, 59757 Arnsberg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Arnsberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Arnsberg
Price Range: $105 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Resort Arnsberg/Sauerland 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dorint Resort Arnsberg/Sauerland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing