We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New name? Why stay at Posidonas Neptune?”
Review of Vasilaras Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vasilaras Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Angistri
Reviewed October 1, 2013

For a tourist who wants a quality Greek Island experience close to Athens, Agistri and Aegina are your best choices as they are a short boat trip from Piraeus. Why go to Agistri? It is small scale and the port area beach is beautiful. It has a good waterfront restaurant precinct at the port town and beaches accessible by local bus. Why stay at Posidonas Neptune? Swimming pool, front rooms are large, have water views, good rates. Thank you Vaso, for a lovely stay July 2013. Maria and Maurie Australia

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreekIsBeachHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 76 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

..definitely a one star, if that. Old, beaten up, run down and shabby. In front is a kitsch garden with old tables and chairs, many with cobwebs, around an oblong pool. We found out that the owner was a fisherman and maybe he should have stuck to that profession. We had booked through booking.com so were trapped, but luckily it was for only two nights. The room smelled of rotting fabric, which we found was a wet towel in the fridge, which, for some reason, had defrosted. The toilet refill sounded like a hurricane and then only enough water for a cupfull! The beds were bog standard and there was no service to bring extra pillows. And to find staff in the morning involved shouting, to no avail. Not for us and Booking.com should be more careful with their rave reviews! Only positive thing we could say was that it was quiet.

Room Tip: ..stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ed p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Although it is situated in a nice area near the port there are a couple of things that ought to be told:

1. The furnitures in the room are really old.
2. Half of the bathroom door is on the air, kind like a pendulum.
3. The aircondition was leaking inside the room. Maria told us that this was because there was a lot of dirt in the plumming and they fixed it by putting a bucket in the balcony so that the water could leak there.
4. One of the bedsheets had a hole in it (probably burned by ciggarette) and a rust print. Maria again told us that this was the fault of the person who washes, irons and folds the sheets. Not a good thing for a boss to blame the employee that she keft unsupervised.
5. The tab on the bathroom's sink just fell off.
6. One of the sockets came out of the wall.
7. The staff was not always polite &
8. Breakfast was very poor.

Maria's answer to all these was that these things happen. Well they do... But not all together. And when we went there to complain Maria & her daughter keeped raising their voices, like it was our fault that the room was poor maintained.

The new rooms are really nice but the rooms in the old part of the hotel definetelly do not worth the money they are asking for - just because there are big rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kon_lour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Sometimes im astounded at what people expect when i read the less complimentary reviews!!!!!. this hotel has clean rooms and a lovely well tended pool backed up by maria that looks after everyone as if they are family without being too over bearing. The hotel is beautifully situated so you have stunning sea views from many of the balconies and although is only a 30 second walk from the action is lovely and peaceful and a great place to relax. The communal areas are always clean and a great place to chill and relax in the shade or have a dip in the well kept pool. The island itself is big enough to explore but small enough to keep its Authentic Greek charm. When i read some of the horrible comments on here i think that some people would moan in a 5 star hotel so think they should be taken with a pinch of salt and a modicum of pity!!!. The big question is "would i come again?" DAMN RIGHT i would. Next week if possible but may have to wait till next year when funds have been replenished. Infact the only negative comment i can think to say would be that they make the 14 days go too quick. Thanks Maria for providing a lovely Agistrian retreat.

Room Tip: We had room ! which had great views over the sea but many others like this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sim2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Contrary to recent reviews, we found this hotel pleasant and laid back, with a very friendly and helpful hotel staff. The room in the annex was clean and had a nice balcony to sit out in the evenings, the pool side was relaxing, and the location was central (if slightly uphill). Close to everything that Skala has to offer and very nice in the early season.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with a sea view are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have been going to Vasilaras for over 10 years. We missed last year so wondered how things would be when returning this year. We were made very welcome and had a great time. Maria and her daughter Vasso were excellent hosts. Maria cooked us some fabulous Greek food. We had rooms with super views overlooking the sea. They were cleaned daily and we regularly had clean sheets and towels.
If you are looking for a 5 star hotel then this isn't for you but if you want a delightful place to stay where you are made to feel very welcome and want to enjoy peace and quiet on a lovely Greek island and then this is a great choice.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies overlooking the sea are my favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We are regular visitors to Agistri and know the pricing structure and quality of the various hotels. I felt that the price we paid (150 euros for 2 nights) was excessive considering the quality of the room. We were in an annexe across the road from the main hotel and the room was the typical 'studio' room with a kitchen area, table and sofa. The room felt cluttered and dark. In theory we had a sea view but because we were on the ground floor the view fell onto the waste ground in front of our small balcony. Breakfast was poor but I'm used to the fact that people don't come to Greece for the quality of their breakfasts.

I felt that the hotel was looking for a quick, fast buck from tourists who wouldn't know any better. When I booked the hotel and saw the price I did raise an eyebrow but my memory of it was that the location was good and the website suggested an element of luxury, which was lacking. The manager/owner was surprised when she realised that we were in fact 'local' and she was even more disappointed when she realised we wanted a receipt.

I'm really sad about this hotel because it's such a struggle for Greeks at the moment with the increased taxes and the various disruptions and hotels like this do nothing to make people want to travel here. If this had been my annual holiday then I'd have been terribly upset.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room in the main hotel or an upstairs room in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Heidikraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Angistri hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aktaion
Hotel Aktaion
#2 of 4 in Skala
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dionysos Hotel
Dionysos Hotel
#12 of 12 in Angistri
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasis Scala Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yianna Hotel
Yianna Hotel
#11 of 12 in Angistri
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel
Andreas Hotel
#4 of 4 in Skala
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agistri Club Hotel
Agistri Club Hotel
#3 of 12 in Angistri
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vasilaras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasilaras Hotel

Address: Skala, 180 10, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Saronic Gulf Islands > Angistri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Angistri
Price Range: $38 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vasilaras Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vasilaras Hotel, just 30m from the port of Skala, on Agistri island, has 24 rooms fully equipped with AC, kitchen facilities and TV. With stunning sea views across the sea or over the hotel's gardens, the rooms are decorated in a traditional luxury style with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vasilaras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasilaras Hotel Agistri
Vasilaras Hotel Greece/Angistri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing