We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to meet friends, good coffee”
Review of The Roasted Berry

The Roasted Berry
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Tumbi Umbi
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: From a humble seed grows a coffee plant... As the plant matures, it produces brilliant red berries. Housed inside these berries is a seed. Farm workers pick the berries by hand so the seed inside can be extracted and roasted. Once roasted, it becomes a coffee bean used to create the world's most popular drink, enjoyed by many and is the heart of many social occasions. Share special times with family and friends at The Roasted Berry. Situated in the heart of Mingara, The Roasted Berry offers its own blend of great coffee, sourced directly from Rainforest Alliance certified coffee plantations in South America. The Roasted Berry's talented Barista's turn its special blend into your favourite cup of coffee...With a little bit of love in every cup. As well as great coffee, The Roasted Berry creates delicious meals created from freshest produce, complemented by home-style delectable cakes, breads and pastries.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends, good coffee”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

A cafe with a good atmosphere located in Club Mingara, a great place to meet up with business colleagues, friends, good coffee and food, easy to find.

I can vouch for the calamari, tender. The roasted garlic and parmesan on sourdough, yumm. They bake their own bread! There are comfy lounge chairs for a coffee, or table for a meals, nooks with seating for a family party.

I have visited several times and not been disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderingdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi T, Manager at The Roasted Berry, responded to this review, December 2, 2014
Hi there,

We are glad you enjoyed your meals and time with us! Yes we love that we bake our own bread on site. All of our staff love coming into work to the smell of freshly baked bread! Yum!
Look forward to seeing you at our cafe.

Kind Regards,

Naomi Taylor, Cafe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    55
    23
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing coffee!!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Food is delish, coffee is amazing (snickers smoothie is definitley one to try!) Decor is beautiful and staff are very friendly.

Will be back for sure :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuicidePromQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi T, Manager at The Roasted Berry, responded to this review, December 2, 2014
Hi there,

We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us!

Kind Regards,

Naomi Taylor, Cafe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A rare jewel find on the central coast!!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

As first timers to the club and The Roasted Berry, we were blown away by the amazingly awesome coffee, baked goodies and food. Passionate staff who actually cared about providing friendly and great customer service! They even went to the trouble of decorating our plates with a warm "welcome" on it! Changes to meals were no trouble at all and they were cooked perfectly and arrived efficiently. Another point of difference is they bake their bread and muffins fresh onsite! The ambience, music and homely eclectic decor was just what we needed on our 'escape' whilst our kids were supervised at the playhouse. Being new to the coast, we will be back again and again for sure and will gladly bring our Sydney friends here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allthatjazzyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi T, Manager at The Roasted Berry, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you very much for your review.

We very much pride ourselves on our great customer service, which looks like you experienced upon your first visit!

We look forward to seeing you again and travel safely.

Warm regards,

Naomi Taylor, Cafe Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise at Tumbi Umbi! 8:30 am on a Sat morning!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Do you need to start a birthday celebration in style for your wife? husband? special friend? then, you should try the Roasted Berry at Tumbi Umbi, inside Mingara Club,
in the Central Coast! Yes.... a 40 minute drive from Wahroonga, but you will love it! The beautiful setting, the music, the 10 person wooden tables, the aroma of the bread just baked and the coffee of course! We just had a 50th birthday celebration for two dear friends, and we will be coming back very soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REYNA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi T, Manager at The Roasted Berry, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am glad to hear that you had a great experience with your friends for their birthday.

We look forward to seeing you again, maybe for their 51st birthday! :)

Warm regards,

Naomi Taylor, Cafe Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Exceptional service even during an issue with the food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing and the food looked and tasted as beautiful as the surrounding of the cafe. Unfortunately my meal came out a tad cold however the lady was quick to replace my meal and apologise. I recommend The Reuben Sandwich and the avocado smash!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi T, Manager at The Roasted Berry, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am glad to hear that your meal was rectified quickly, and that our staff looked after you.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,

Naomi Taylor, Cafe Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roasted Berry also viewed

The Entrance, New South Wales
The Entrance, New South Wales
 
The Entrance, New South Wales
 

Been to The Roasted Berry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing