We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tapas”
Review of El Polesu

El Polesu
Ranked #20 of 123 Restaurants in Cangas de Onis
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile

What a find! We made a reservation for the restaurant in the old cider cellar. Lovely atmosphere. The food is mainly tapas and raciones - the larger portions. Everything is freshly cooked and all our dishes were delicious. We had croquettes,
grilled baby squid and mushrooms in a creamy cheese sauce. We each had a dessert, and shared a bottle of rose. The bill came to 42€ which we thought was very good value. Service was excellent and very friendly. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Annnelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 910 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

Full of locals, great atmosphere and cool setting. We reserved a table in the 'restaurant' before going - it's set down some stairs in an old cider cellar and it's a really cool little place. I'd say a must-see if in Cangas. We ordered a few tapas dishes and all were amazing, and we tried our first cider 'Asturias-style'. Staff were very friendly too. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank KathrynMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016

A little out of the main area this place is frequented by locals. We ordered a range of dishes and all were good. One very friendly waiter, happy to take our order. A second waiter rather full of himself didn't approve of our choices and poo-pooed my order, not believing I would be able to eat the lot. I had assumed my smell would tell him I had been hiking for eight days and, though slim, was not far off being capable of eating a horse. Despite his odd comments and missing one of our plate we had a great meal as the food was excellent.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trekbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016

Informal, Spanish bar with great chef & food - super service. Wish I lived nearer and it was my local.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JaneNorcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

If you want to drink cider in Cangas de Onís, this is a must. It's old, dark and packed with locals which is always a good sign. It has a very particular dining room worth seeing.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank iigii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Polesu also viewed

Cangas de Onis, Asturias
Cangas de Onis, Asturias
 
Cangas de Onis, Asturias
Benia de Onis, Cangas de Onis
 
Cangas de Onis, Asturias
Cangas de Onis, Asturias
 

Been to El Polesu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing