We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, food, location,and service”
Review of La Cepada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cepada Hotel
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Cangas de Onis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

A superb hotel, family run, excellent service from owner and all staff.
Value for money hotel and restaurant, good homemade food,good wine,good price.
Good breakfast.Spacious light airy comfortable clean rooms with excellent views.
Nice surroundings good places to sit outside,easy parking.
Accepts dogs, for a small charge.
Will 100% return.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank chiccadaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 433 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited “La Cepada” a few months back, in May 2013. We weren't staying there, but decided to go nonetheless because we had been told that the outdoors restaurant was worth the very short ride from Cangas de Onís. And boy, was it good.
The location and the views over the whole valley are breathtaking. We were placed at one of the tables directly overlooking the area, and the service was kind and helpful from start to finish. Dinner was superb — all kind of local delicacies, and Spanish fine cuisine.
It got a bit chilly at the end of the evening, but for some reason no–one was eager to leave early.
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripu_info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrived at this lovely hotel and were greeted by a friendly staff. We were shown to our room that had a magnificent view of town and the mountains (all the rooms have a view, the hotel
Is built in the side of the mountain and all room face out down the hill).

Even better is the restaurant, some of the best food I enjoyed in Spain. The GM is also the chief and he and the staff do a wonderful Job, the food was
Local, fresh and delicious, I can't wait to visit again!

Fill disclosure: The only negatives are no air conditioning and barking dogs and chickens from the town below.

Overall a wonderful experience with wonderful people who provide individual service with a smile!

Room Tip: All rooms are great facing town and mountians, but ask for one farthest from bar patio for more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingwino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Not wanting to repeat everything that everyone has said but yes the view was fantastic, the staff friendly when you could find them, the dogs bark (but hey it's the country) and the Spanish seemingly never sleep so there will usually be some later night noise.

Overall a decent hotel, a clean and spacious room but not really 4 stars in my opinion. The room was adequately furnished but we had two proper beds and two additional put me ups for the children. There were obvious gouges in the wall where the additional beds had been used before and which left me feeling that we had been given a lesser room as we wanted one for four. The taps in the bathroom were tarnished and the plug in the bath didn't fit. No A/C either. There was certainly no sign of the flowers or plush curtains which the photos here show.

We didn't eat in the restaurant as the menu was seemed expensive and the breakfast at €9 each was just too much for four. Instead we went to a bar/cafe in town and ate breakfast for a total of €10 for all of us.

There was nothing actually wrong with the hotel but we were in northern Spain for two weeks and this was by far the most expensive place we stayed. It's just a pity it didn't feel like it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EKG_Brits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The best features of this hotel is that it is up on a hill and a bit of a hike to the town of Cangas de Onis. It is easy to hike down the hill and walk to the local bus station which offers tours of the national park of the picos de europa which are an absolutely incredible must see as a site.

The hotel itself is massive on expansive lands and has very large suites and bathrooms. They have the BEST views of the mountains and the town of anywhere in the vicinity. The suites were quiet during my stay and the breakfasts are a simple affair with the usual components.

The staff made every effort to communicate with me with little spoken English and were very gracious and helpful.

If this review is helpful please offer this feedback for others. Thanks.

Room Tip: You should ask for the best view although I think all the rooms or at least most have stellar views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesuperfoodchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Fantastic location and the walk to Town is no great issue. We too had the concert to contend with. As there is no air conditioning it was a toss up between being very hot or listening to "sweet child of mine" at 3.30 am (they were quite good actually). I agree that the place can feel a little soulless but I cannot fault the sampler menu that we had one night - it was excellent. Breakfast basic and not a buffet although the waiter Abdou ( I think) was excellent. Mrs luddite and I would stay here again in the hope that AC DC and the stones had a night off or at least finished at a reasonable hour. That was just unlucky to stay on a Public Holiday though. All in all a pleasant stay and some lovely cider bars in town!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludditenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our receptionist on arrival was very pleasant but seemed to have a cold, and was in a hurry to go to another part of the hotel. No information was given about breakfast times or restaurant, but he did tell us about the festival of San Antonio
which was being celebrated in the town ( June 13th). It was lovely to see children and adults in local costume when we had made our way to the marquee on the other side of the town in the early evening. A concert had started, and we stayed a while to enjoy the atmosphere. The downside was that the concert lasted til after 3.30a.m. and echoed throughout the valley, making sleep difficult. The following night the concert finished after 4.15 a.m., so be warned.

Breakfast was fairly basic for a large hotel, mainly toast, with some ham and sliced cheese. Fruit was served one morning, but not the next.
There is a lovely south facing sun-deck, but no sun loungers, only a couple of chairs stacked against the wall.
We did not use the restaurant as meals were not served until 9 p.m.which is too late for us. This hotel is in a great position, and the rooms are very spacious and spotlessly clean, but it seemed to lack warmth and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthDevonTravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cangas de Onis hotels
1.2 mi away
Parador de Cangas de Onis
Parador de Cangas de Onis
#1 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#8 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Lagos Nature
Hotel Los Lagos Nature
#12 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Manuela
Hotel Maria Manuela
#1 of 1 in Benia de Onis
1,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Sella
Hotel El Sella
#10 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
197 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Casa De Campo
Hotel Casa De Campo
#15 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cepada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cepada Hotel

Address: Avenida Contranquil s/n, 33550, Cangas de Onis, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Cangas de Onis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Cangas de Onis
Price Range: $59 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cepada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy some delightful days in the heart of the Principality of Asturias. The hotel, which was built in 2001, has four floors and a total of twenty rooms, two of which are suites and eighteen double rooms. It has a foyer with lifts and a reception area that is open 24 hours a day. We also have the renowned restaurant, El Cenador de los Canonigos, where you will find a creative cuisine based on products from Asturias. The food will delight you and the surroundings and the quality of the service will invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy some exquisite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Cepada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing