We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly ranked with good reason”
Review of La Cepada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Cepada Hotel
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Cangas de Onis
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly ranked with good reason”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The building:
A beautiful stone and wood structure in typical Asturian style sitting on top of a hill overlooking the town of Cangas De Onis with tremendous views.

The rooms:
Every room has massive floor to ceiling windows overlooking the valley. The feeling of being on top of the valley is so good you feel like you could enjoy just staying in the room looking out of the window. Our room was on the -1 floor. It was huge, spotlessly clean and new. Separate toilet and shower which is great for couples and families.

The service:
I've seen some english speakers here complaining about the service. I can't speak to how receptive and capable the staff are as far as communication in english is concerned because I speak Spanish and did so the whole time. That aside I have to say I don't think I've ever received the kind of fantastic service that I did in this hotel from the owner and his family. I've travelled to 31 countries and have stayed in possibly thousands of hotels. The trick to really good service is for it to be invisible when you don't want it and bending over backwards when you do. I guess it depends on how you like it. Personally, I've been to lots of places where the service was good but annoying. You know.. where the staff won't let you pour sugar into your own coffee because they are trained like robots to never let you... or everyone in the hotel uses some pretentious keyword like saying "absolutely sir" to no matter what you say. No, this place isn't like that. It's REAL. We came there with 4 kids.. you can imagine what a nightmare that can be. The staff in the hotel made us feel as if we had taken the kids to our parents house. One night, my wife and I were even able to eat dinner ALONE together because the owner and his wife agreed to make the kids food separately and bring it to the room and check up on them while they watched a movie. What corporate chain hotel would ever do that for you? In short.. I wanted to hug these people before I left.

The Food:
In a word... fantastic. The owner is a trained chef.. a really good one. We had a fixed price deal for the room which included breakfast and dinner. i thought to myself.. okay fixed price probably means the meals are gonna be something standard but no.. when he brought us a fresh lobster salad and wild turbot filet I was VERY happy.

Response to criticisms about the location:
I've seen numerous people in their reviews complain that the hotel was too far outside the town and not accessible except by car. Are these people kidding? Seriously, I'd like to meet some of them and ask how they came up to the mountains to go hiking but can't walk 10 minutes DOWNHILL into the town center? We did it 4 times with 4 kids in tow and 2 of them in a f**king double stroller! Gimme a break!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYawkah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    108
    36
    17
    15
See reviews for
92
235
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

we had room 207 at the far end of the building - it was the most amazing view. Yes you hear the occasional dog/rooster but you are in rural spain, what do you expect!!!! The team there are wonderful, no they do not speak much English, however how many english hotels do the spanish go to actually speak Spanish, this is such a stupid comment to make. Everywhere is spotlessy clean, the food is to die for and the views just seem to get better. The golf course associated with the hotel (23km away approx) is a little slice of heaven, again great people and lovely course. We will be returning next year in September and, I am sure, it will be just as wonderful as the previous years

Room Tip: Room 207 was excellent being furthest away from the restaurant, so no noise, and with the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayneBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A beautiful hotel in an amazing location set on the hillside just outside Cangas de Onis. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the town which was not a problem - just remember to take a torch for the walk back and use the short cut back to the hotel. The rooms are very large and comfortable with modern bathrooms. Nice bar area and outside terrace with great views. Breakfast was waitress service and therefore a bit slow, we felt they (and guests) would benefit from making it buffet style so that guests could take what they wanted. Very friendly and helpful manager and staff, and although not all areas were staffed continuously, it didn't take long for someone to turn up once you had rung the bell. It was a shame the restaurant didn't open until 9pm, however there were great bars and restaurants in the town.

We would definately stay there again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OJOffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Faltey Towers run by Manuel. Beautifully situated hotel,lovely views, great room & bathroom. Long walk into town which you had to do as the food wasn't very good ,expensive compared to other restaurants , & serving didn't start until 9pm. A party every night under our room, noise of music unbearable, smoking fumes, & people clacking up & down the tiled stairs. No one in reception, no one in the bar for service, only one menu in English.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walmeractually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Arrived mid September for a 3 night stay, we soon changed this to 2 nights. It was dark and deserted. Service was non-existent it was like we were intruding and they were ready to close up after the season. Paid full season price though. Anytime you required something you had to go look for someone. Topped it all for me when we asked for drinks and a menu in the afternoon,that really put them out.Yes the views are great, the rooms are large but you couldn`t have the windows open without hearing a dog that barked on and off day & night. What a let down compared to the welcome that we found at our other stays in the Asturias & Cantabrian region.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BILLP659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We thought the hotel was beautiful, Although there were few guests we were made very welcome,
Room , Large clean and well equipped although the shower was hard to get at behind the shower screen,
Food The food was excellent but very expensive,
Staff Not many but those there were were helpful and quite happy to help us with our limited Spanish,
Area Itwas one of the most attractive areas we have been to and we are well travelled, We loved Asturias

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caff4dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A pleasant hotel, but for its rating and apparent international selection not really as expected. We had booked a three night stay well in advance, yet on arrival at about 4.30pm our room was not ready and we had to wait in reception. The room itself was clean and pleasant with a view over the town.
Restaurant did not open in the evening until 9pm. which we found too late.
Last night was a bit of a disaster with two large neighbourhood dogs continually barking and more importantly a disco somewhere near the hotel which did not finish until 4am. As it was hot and no air con available it was either stay awake and listen with open windows or shut latter and be baked
Staff were very pleasant and helpful, but there seemed to be rather few of them with one young lady covering both breakfasts and reception on the last morning.
Certainly not for anyone who enjoys peace and quiet nor who is prone to indegestion brought on by late eating!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrieredding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cangas de Onis hotels
1.2 mi away
Parador de Cangas de Onis
Parador de Cangas de Onis
#1 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Manuela
Hotel Maria Manuela
#1 of 1 in Benia de Onis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Sella
Hotel El Sella
#6 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Lagos Nature
Hotel Los Lagos Nature
#10 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.3 mi away
Entremontes
Entremontes
#2 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Casa De Campo
Hotel Casa De Campo
#17 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cepada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cepada Hotel

Property: La Cepada Hotel
Address: Avenida Contranquil s/n, 33550, Cangas de Onis, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Cangas de Onis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Cangas de Onis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cepada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy some delightful days in the heart of the Principality of Asturias. The hotel, which was built in 2001, has four floors and a total of twenty rooms, two of which are suites and eighteen double rooms. It has a foyer with lifts and a reception area that is open 24 hours a day. We also have the renowned restaurant, El Cenador de los Canonigos, where you will find a creative cuisine based on products from Asturias. The food will delight you and the surroundings and the quality of the service will invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy some exquisite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your La Cepada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing