We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parador de Cangas de Onis
Nearby Hotels
La Cepada Hotel(Cangas de Onis)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Capitan(Cangas de Onis)
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Los Lagos Nature(Cangas de Onis)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Santa Cruz(Cangas de Onis)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/26
Book now, pay at stay
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Rural Montanas de Covadonga(Cangas de Onis)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/26
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Balsa(Cangas de Onis)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/28
Book now, pay at stay
$48
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Trapa Palace(Cangas de Onis)
Free cancellation until 05/26
Book now, pay at stay
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Casa De Campo(Cangas de Onis)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/26
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$76
$67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Entremontes(Cangas de Onis)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/26
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,113 results
Traveler rating
779
264
50
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
779
264
50
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverformer monasteryoriginal buildingmain buildingmodern extensiondining roomsantander ferryold churchan easy driveglass walkwayfirst stopplenty of parkingsalmonstaff are very friendly and helpfulguided tourcheese tastingbeautiful location
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 1,113 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our visit to Cangas de Onis was our third stop - part of our 10-day road trip around north of Spain. We only stayed one night and we were pleased with our choice even though our visit was a short one. Our drive from Oviedo, with visits to Cudillero and Ribadesella, was a long one so by the time we got to the hotel we were beat and barely had a chance to really enjoy the property and its quiet natural surroundings. This hotel is part of the Parador Hotel association and it was a monastery turned hotel. You can really see and feel the old world charm. Our room was basic – a bit rustic – but was comfortable for both of us especially just for the night. A nice touch was all the bath amenities they provide – they really stock you up. We reserved it at a rate of 90 euros and parking on the premises is free. Staff was pleasant and knowledgeable – make sure to sign up for the Parador Friends loyalty program for extra perks. Our stay was nice and if ever in the area, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsetMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was just the second Parador we have stayed in and, after four nights, we were very sorry to have to leave and move on. Like others we stayed in the moden annexe, and we had a very large and comfortable room there. Apparently others have been dissappointed that these rooms lack "a medieval ambinence", but this did not worry us especially as residents are free to wander around the corridors and communal areas of the two floors of the monastery, and the old central courtyard is a lovely place to have a drink. We loved the breakfasts with freshly squeezed orange juice, a great selection of fresh fruit and typical Spanish meats and cheeses. We had more mixed feelings about the evening meals (we ate in twice), and found the portions large but not all that inspiring, and we agree you can get more varied and better value food in Cangas. The staff were always friendly and helpful. We also loved the location. There is an easy half hour walk along the river (or 5 minute drive) into the lively town of Cangas. The Picos are an easy drive away, and the sea is also reasonably close at hand around Ribadesella. We will be very happy to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights (too many) in this Parador as a base to explore the northern Picos. We had booked ahead on the basis of the reviews of others, but we were disappointed by our choice. 

Although marketed as a medieval monastery, the standard hotel rooms, which were very clean, were in an annex about 50m away. As the nearest restaurants were in the town, 30 minutes walk away, we ate in the Parador restuarant on our first night, and had one of the most awful meals we have ever experienced. The following day, having had an excellent lunch in the Picos, we had sandwiches in the evening, consisting of stale bread and grisly ham, in the bar which totally lacked ambience, although the staff, as throughout the Parador, were very friendly.

As accommodation here was not cheap, we expected something better than this, and I cannot recommend this place. We spent our last  3 days in the southern Picos in the much cheaper, and excellent Hotel El Hoso at Cosgaya.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I dutifully read the reviews for this hotel before making my booking.
We stayed there 3 nights ago and now I am wondering if we even stated in the same place!
It was not at all what I was looking for.
We were given a nice enough room but it was at the end of a dated atrium walkway and it was in a modernish building ( not the stunning old one in all the photos).
if I had known it would be a room like thousands of others on the planet I would not have chosen it.
Very disappointing

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed 2 nights as part of the 5 Parador discount scheme. Original building not over big and has a covered walkway to the modern 2 storey accommodation. The rooms are a reasonable size well maintaned and having a balcony. We asked for a room overlooking the river which was a good move, although the main road is in the distance it is not a problem and is in my opinion better than having a view overlooking the entrance road. There is ample free parking and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was o.k. the let down being that some of the supposed hot food was a bit cold (served like most paradors until 11 am) We ate in the restaurant one night which opens at 8.30 expensive limited choice and not for us. Try using the local menus of the day at the nearby town for around 14 euros each 3 coures and a drink around lunchtime. Would stay here again, no tea of coffee facilities in room and no Iron available though. Cangis de Onis town is 5 mins drive and worth a trip if you can park!

Room Tip: second floor overlooking river
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rumsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews