We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A la brasa”
Review of O Almacen do Avo

O Almacen do Avo
Ranked #19 of 160 Restaurants in O Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Singular stone and wood building bilt in 1940.A place were the family used to dry octopus. Galician food, nice salads and starters to share. our Strenth: Grill meat and vegetables, treatment and culture (live music every sunday at lunch time) Galician artists's exhibitions every month.We play music on vinyl!!
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

My friend who lives locally took me here for lunch. The grilled pulpo (octopus) was gorgeous and I had a wonderful piece of bacalao a la brasa ( bbq salt cod) that was succulent and not too salty. The desert of coulant (chocolate sponge with a chocolate sauce filling) with lemon sorbet was melt in the mouth. Would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank SistaBless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 185 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2016

O Grove is known for seafood but you quickly get bored of the waterfront restaurants, and their almost identical menus. If, like us, you are looking for a meat fix, this is the place! The Argentinian style grill in the entrance serves up absolutely delicious picanha - we enjoyed it so much we had to go back a couple of days later and have it again. The decor is quirky and you almost feel you are dining in someone's home - all the more so when you meet the lovely, hospitable owner who will know your name and shoe size before you have even ordered. It's the kind of place where the owner's kids are playing football outside and everyone is treated as family. Our second visit on a Sunday lunchtime was perfectly timed to enjoy a vermut and a fun ukelele band - the place was absolutely packed with locals. Definitely a good change of pace from the touristy waterfront.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rah_Rah_HockeySticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2015

If you want good quality meats and great service this is the place !
Great friendly service and great beers and wine this is the place to go.
I can't recommend this place enough !!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

As we now live in O Grove this as become our local restaurant !
Great people, great setting, great music, and wonderful food, a must if you visit O Grove.
Please try this place you won't be disappointed !

Date of visit: January 2014
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Almacen do Avo also viewed

O Grove, Province of Pontevedra
O Grove, Province of Pontevedra
 
O Grove, Province of Pontevedra
O Grove, Province of Pontevedra
 
O Grove, Province of Pontevedra
O Grove, Province of Pontevedra
 

Been to O Almacen do Avo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing