We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab Hol and great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Eymet, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MichBBrig...
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab Hol and great location ”
Reviewed July 16, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Hosts Eileen and Richard are fantastic, it feels like home when you arrive. The Gites have large rooms and as we were a group of 20 that was important. We all had plenty of room to share both inside and outside. We crammed a lot into our 1 week aided by our hosts running us around in minibuses. They also cooked us delicious food. Can't recommend highly enough. We visited local town of Eymet several times to eat and visit the market as it's close by. We canoed down the Dordogne for 14km which is a must. We visited Chateaux Ducas and Bergerac. Don't hesitate it's a beautiful part of France.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ukpeterut...
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tour De Dordogne”
Reviewed July 10, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

My cycling buddy (Steve Upton) and I stayed here for a week of cycling in late June, Steve & his wife Val had stayed here in the Lestang gite at La Colombiere the previous year and thought it would be a great location for our cycling holiday (without the wife’s), and they weren’t wrong.

The owners, Richard and Eileen collected us and our bike boxes from Bergerac airport (approx 20mins by car from airport to the gite).

We cycled every day to the surrounding towns and villages via the most wonderful French countryside you could imagine (the vista`s consisting mainly of vin yards, sun flower fields, vin yards, hazel groves and more vin yards). We cycled to Monbazillac, Assigeac, Duras, Miramont and more, and also rode part of the 2017 tour-de-France route from Eymet to Marmande.

The temperature hovered between 28`C and 33`C in the shade during our stay, but we still managed to cycle a total of 365miles, hence, we appreciated a cold beer most days in Eymet en-route back to the gite for relaxing swim in the pool (and another cold beer or two).

We dined outside on the evenings with the owners Richard and Eileen, who were the perfect hosts, laying on great food (three courses), cold beers, wine, more wine, friendly chat and Richards wonderful homemade Blackcurrant Vodka (needless to say we didn’t get any early morning starts for cycling).

And I must mention Simon and Jayne, who arrived at La Colombiere a few days after us, who also laid on a wonderful meal of wild boar & water melon, Veal & black truffles, and traditional French sweet of bread & butter pudding (ha ha).

If you’re looking for a well-appointed gite, with perfect hosts, in wonderful location with relaxed atmosphere, then this is the place for you...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2018
It was a pleasure to welcome back Steve again to La Colombiere and thanks for bringing Pete too!! We thoroughly enjoyed your company for the week and we know you saw some amazing French countryside on your bike travels. And of course, you also discovered one of the bonuses of staying at La Colombiere being the chance to meet up with other folks and the swop stories over good food and drink under the setting sun. Please come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy R
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr & mrs. Rawsthorne ”
Reviewed April 29, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We have just spent a long weekend at this venue & would highly recommend it!
Beautifully kept home with quirky character.
The hosts Eileen & richard were so laid back & welcoming - we were made to feel like their family rather than customers.
Everywhere was clean. Very well organised & they were very accommodating in every way!
Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Just_a_Gi...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Magnifique!”
Reviewed March 9, 2018 for a stay in April 2017

This is my second attempt to write a review after the first very long review disappeared into the ether when I tapped submit. Hence the delay in writing as this is the second one.

You approach the property by entering the stunning tree lined driveway with a large typically French stone building with Pigeonnier at the end of it. There is also a spacious car park.

It is seriously a place of true beauty nestled in an area called St Innocence.

The owners are Richard and Eileen who are perfect hosts. Friendly, cheerful and accommodating and clearly this property is their dream venture. They give you a warm welcome and couldn't be more helpful during your stay. They can tell you everything you need to know about the area to ensure you get the very best out of your stay.

There are three gites and we were lucky enough to spend an extended stay (two months) in the two bedroom gite Lestang. There are two much larger gites which we were shown around and they were just as good. The Lestang gite was well equipped with a new and modern kitchen and bathroom. There is a dishwasher and washing machine with clothes lines outside to allow you to make the most of the wonderful weather. There is also a little private patio at the back of the gite.

The rooms were spacious with one bedroom with twin beds and one room with a huge ornate double bed with a very high-quality mattress. We know this as we tried to buy the same one on arrival at home. This bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in.

The huge well-maintained gardens surround the gites with ample facilities to enjoy the outdoor life and wonderful countryside. The scenery is magnificent. Lots of vineyards in the surrounding area and many you can visit and enjoy wine tasting sessions. What's not to like about that!

There is a large swimming pool with plenty of sun loungers and a fridge with cold drinks and ice creams with an honesty box. A godsend on the gloriously hot sunny days. There is also a games room and cinema.

Around the other side of the property there is a huge seating area with sun chairs and tables perfect for socialising and holding barbeques of which there are at least three, two charcoal and one gas. There are also cherry trees which we helped to pick and there were thousands of cherries, how fantastic is that?

The famous Bastide of Eymet is a short easy drive and it has an excellent weekly market which is typically French. The ancient square has many cafes around it and pavement seating as you would expect. The locals are friendly and many Brits have made it their home. There are some great restaurants, our particular favourite was La Cour d'Eymet.

Richard and Eileen will point you in the direction of Domme and Castelnauld-la-Chapelle which we highly recommend especially if you want a perfect day canoeing down the Dordogne. It's truly stunning and such a perfect way to spend a day.

We also recommend Brantome and Aubeterre-sur-Dronne for a day out again these are incredibly picturesque and should not be missed. A bit further away is Vertiac with more stunning scenery. Bordeaux and Bergerac are also not too far away. The huge Chateau Monbazillac with its famous vineyard is also well worth a visit.

There is so much to do. I could list many more places but Richard and Eileen can advise you further.

If you want a perfect French holiday then this is the place to be. Our time there was fabulous and we were sorry to leave and left with a heavy heart but with truly incredible memories.

We guarantee your stay will be just as wonderful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mylvahana
1 review
“Lovely Retreat”
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I had a wonderful 2 day retreat with Eileen and Richard. Great wine and lovely meals with plenty of woods to explore and a splash in the pool! I wish I could have stayed longer and will surely want to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Hordle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing location, beautiful gite and fantastic hosts”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have just returned from spending a lovely time in gite Lestang. What a perfect place to relax and charge your batteries. Beautiful countryside, idyllic little villages and fantastic scenery.

Our hosts, Richard and Eileen where just perfect, so welcoming and could not do enough to make our stay perfect.

Thank you Richard and Eileen for a lovely stay at your beautiful gite.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjh10789
brighton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic Gite with wondeful owners.”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fantastic Gite in a lovely location in the dordone region. Richard and Eileen are fantastic hosts and made booking and our stay extremely comfortable. We arrive late one night and it was no problem at all.

We went on a cricket tour with 14 of us staying, there was plenty of space and space for more people had they came. Most rooms came with en suites and Double beds.

The outdoor pool is heated and a lovely addition after a long day consuming wine and cheese.

One day we chose to sit in the Gite play croquet football and relax by the pool and then we made a large BBQ in the evening which was easily achievable with the outdoor BBQ. In addition to this there is a large Kitchen that can cope with food prep for up to 18-20 people with ease. The large living room dinner is comfy and inviting.

A truly wonderful stay and I highly recommend anyone who is looking to take a large party away to this area to look no further than Gites La Colombiere with wonderful hosts Richard and Eileen.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing