We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and spicy!”
Review of Restaurant Mama Chow - CLOSED

Restaurant Mama Chow
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Roumagne, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hot and spicy!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

One of our favourite restaurants in the area. Consistently good food which can be spiced up or down to suit your taste buds. Great service. See you again very soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadmumABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    32
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Chinese around!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Without doubt this restaurant is the best Chinese I have experienced, such friendly service! Gorgeous food!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Dordogne”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Food fantastic, freshly cooked. The lady owner very friendly and helpful- nothing was too much trouble. We have been a few times now and always recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScrottyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Astier, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great atmosphere and service.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visited here for the first time last night after a recommendation from friends and then reading the reviews (I can't believe the one, 1* review from someone having a take away - if they say they can cook better then they should open a restaurant!). The owner was welcoming and could not have been more helpful (her husband is in the kitchen). As others say they will tailor food to your taste as it is all cooked fresh to order - hot, medium, mild, missing out/changing ingredients - important for me as I am allergic to shellfish. The food was perfectly cooked with obviously good quality ingredients - there is a wide range of choice on the menu and, whilst not cheap, is good value. A 4 course meal for 2 with a litre of wine was 65 Euros for us - we did have the crispy duck as a second course between us. There is a good wine list but you can also buy it by the carafe which is good value. The place was full (it was a Saturday night) but we were the only English table - all others were French which says a lot for the quality. This was up with the best Chinese meals we have had and we will definitely be returning. If you want a change from the French restaurants in the area this is the place to go - give it a try!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CriticJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A much needed Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I loved Mama Chow's. The service is excellent, and the attention to detail on the food is really heartening. This is real traditional Chinese cooking (via Liverpool and France!).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aileen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Mama Chow also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing