We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So surpised at negative reviews - We rated it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We were very happy during our stay at the Fochs hotel. We received excellent value for money on our all inclusive stay. The food was not exciting, except on our gala evening and the packed lunch was meagre and predictable, but we did not need too much as it left room for us to try out local food. We had a free hot drinks, fruit juice and wine and beer from 6pm to 10pm and always received good service. My wife and I are not skiers, but thought the Tyrol was a brilliant place for an adult summer holiday. The ski lift to the top of the Hohe Salve mountain, with its 360 degree views was outstanding. The lift starts about 100 yards from the hotel door and costs around 16 euros per person. Above all we received excellent responsiove service from the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PRowberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 143 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2010

Firstly the location of this hotel is unbeatable. Literally a few paces away from the front door of the hotel lay the ski lift. The skiing in this area is fantastic for all abilities. You would struggle to ski all of the slopes in one week and leaves you hungry for more.
The hotel provides a great service with very friendly staff and management team. The rooms are very clean and spacious with plenty of room to hang your cloths up.
The relaxation area down stairs is very modern and kept very clean and tidy and is perfect for unwinding after a day’s skiing to help ease all those aches and pains away.
The food provided by the hotel is exceptional. Every night there is a choice of meals to suit all appetites if you chose to go half board or even just to try for one evening. The presentation and quality of the food was superb. I noticed a few comments on the reviews about smoking in the restaurant which must now have been stopped as there was no smoking in the restaurant on any of the nights I went (which was every night as I couldn’t wait to taste what food was on that night. Really was outstanding).
The bar was great fun and enjoyed many of night drinking and basically having a great time with the staff and management.
Really would love to go back to this hotel and would strongly recommend it to anyone. Especially those serious about skiing or snowboarding.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidayhappy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

I thought this hotel was wonderful, just over a narrow road from the ski hire shop, and above that was the main ski lift! There was a lift, so you did not even have to walk up the stairs! Behind the hotel was the ski school start area and children's ski school.
Skis and boots were left in the Kurz ski hire shop overnight, the staff here were brilliant, even carrying your skis up and down stairs for you. Boots were placed on warming pipes so that they were dry and warm next morning.
The hotel food and service was excellent, and the price of drinks very reasonable considering our exchange rate at the time was only 1.12e to the pound.
Other people have made negative comments about the smell of smoke and an unhelpful manager.
Well there was no smoking in the restaurant and we had a non-smoking room, so there was only a problem in the bar. Austria still allow smoking in bars, so I don't think you would find any other bar to be different.
As for the manager, well we found him very helpful, and with a funny sense of humour which perhaps people have misunderstood at times.
We would go back to this hotel, no problem.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greendoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Excellent service, food was fantastic, cannot fault the hotel had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dizzilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Been on a coach tour last week to this hotel, as mentioned elsewhere majority of staff, manager and assistant manager are very rude and ignorant.
Seem to have had a character by-pass !!!
Can't complain about the food which, actually, was very good.
Rooms and hotel are generally clean.
Resort is very nice, though not a lot happening.
Back to the hotel, don't expect to get a drink after 11 O'Clock at night !!!! That's to the exact minute !!!
Music and vast majority of lights turned off at eleven ...... and as the staff leave for the night, if you're still sat having you're last drink, they'll ask you " don't forget to turn thre lights out please !!! " .......... a joke !!!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackjonesBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

had a brilliant time at this hotel ...rooms are cleaned every day and have tv,phone,plenty of space to hang clothes,bathrooms very clean and a balcony some with village views some with car park and hill view, beds very comfy but only 1 pillow...Breakfast is continental with plenty of tea coffee juice...food at tea time was exellent with a choice every night[we stayed all inclusive] if you are just popping in the hotel for a beer dont bother i could still be drinking it now 48 hours upon return...staff was always helpfull and talkative ..there is also a spa.games room,lift...hopfgarten is a central location [train station at the end of the car park]...you can be anywhere in a short space of time in the tirol and the effort is worth it,stunning sightseeing....there is a cable car lift outside the hotel if you go to the top of the mountain on a clear day it could be the best 15 euro you spend or you could even walk it[no not for me either]..hopfgarten village is set in a valley it takes about 15 mins to walk it but it is a superb walk....all in all a big thumbs up for the hotel...

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

This hotel is right opposite ski lifts and next to ski hire shops and nursery slopes! Food was great, rooms were adequate!

In general staff were lovely but the manager was the rudiest man we have ever met! He was so discriminatory about our nationality! when some of our party got injured and had to be rushed to hospital he was too busy drinking wine to help us organise ambulances and taxis and instead roared abuse at us!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitty240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopfgarten im Brixental
4.8 mi away
Wellness Schloss Panorama Royal
12.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol
5.2 mi away
Das Sieben
Das Sieben
#2 of 4 in Bad Haring
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held
22.2 mi away
Das Kronthaler
Das Kronthaler
#2 of 10 in Achenkirch
609 reviews
10.9 mi away
Schwarzer Adler
Schwarzer Adler
#15 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportresort Hohe Salve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportresort Hohe Salve

Address: Meierhofgasse 26, Hopfgarten im Brixental 6361, Austria (Formerly Sporthotel Fuchs)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Hopfgarten im Brixental
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hopfgarten im Brixental
Price Range: $218 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sportresort Hohe Salve 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Sportresort HOHE SALVE relies on the power of movement - in both summer and winter, 365 days a year. This movement is more than just a service, but integral to our daily activities and thinking for us. For all ages and all fitness levels. Located in Hopfgarten right next to the cable car station Hohe Salve in the Kitzbuhel Alps and is only 150 meters away from the center. With 104 rooms, five rooms for seminars and events, two restaurants, Apres ski bar and a 1,400 sqm "Move & Relax" area with yoga room, power room, 630 sqm pool area with 25 m sports outdoor pool, massage and treatment rooms Resort every sporting heartbeat. The sportresort is located in Hopfgarten, right next to the valley station of the Hohe Salve mountain railways, which offers an ideal entry into one of the largest and most modern ski resorts worldwide, the SkiWelt Wilder Kaiser-Brixental, with 90 lifts and lifts, 284 km of fun fun Lighted toboggan runs and over 70 huts guarantee pure winter pass. Welcome! But also for the rest of the year, the region around the Hohe Salve sports resort also offers numerous outdoor sports facilities: - brand new trail running routes in Westendorf - mountain bike tours throughout the region - running and walking trails in the village - hiking and mountain biking for all levels of difficulty - cycling and e-biking trails through the entire Brixental - and much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, seekda GmbH, Priceline, Orbitz, HRS and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sportresort Hohe Salve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Fuchs Hotel Hopfgarten Im Brixental
Sporthotel Fuchs Hopfgarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing