We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“comfortable, friendly hotel”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have just returned from a week's skiing staying at the sporthotel - comfortable accommodation, friendly and welcoming staff, very good breakfasts and dinners - and all just over the road from a lift to the top of the hoe salve and linking in to the ski welt! Brilliant!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shincliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    47
    13
    9
    2
See reviews for
25
74
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

we went with sheerings every thing went like clock work, no luggage to bother with they did it all not like other coach firms where you have to pay extra for this,
the views fantastic the hotel was very good some thing on the menu for everybody,
and if you get johnny the driver you will be in heaven,
would i go on this holiday again
i sure would,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank theowls3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England UK
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for a few nights as part of our Tyrolean tour and overall the hotel is very good. It is a short walk from the railway station at Hopfgarten Berglift and is in typical Tyrolean style. There is a lift and our room was spacious and comfortable with twin beds; plenty of storage space and cupboards;TV and safe(although ours was locked initially). Extra pillows are available which we found handy. We had a view over a field and the village with the imposing church being a feature. When we arrived there was no hot water in the bathroom but after a word with the owners this was rectified (it appears that we were "between seasons" and not all of the hotel was occupied and some rooms not ready for use yet - but all issues were soon dealt with and most of our party were satisfied with the accomodation and facilities). The evening meals were very good with a choice of dishes (but always some pork!!) and the freedrinks were a bonus (beer;wine and soft drinks available until 10pm) Good service from the two ladies in local dress. However, the breakfast - although adequate - got a bit boring with the same selection every day and no hot dishes. On a couple of occasions the bread rolls seemed slightly less than fresh! Our "packed lunch" turned out to be a "packed breakfast" as we were given a strip of foil and invited to fill it with the breakfast leftovers!! This usually amounted to one filled roll (ham and/or cheese). The other slight grievance was having to order your dinner selection at breakfast. There is a lounge with magazines and tourist brochures etc. They have a sauna/spa room downstairs and another bar/function room but these were not open yet. The main bar is open after dinner but you have to pay after 10pm. The chair lift to Hohe Salve is right across the road and this is well worth doing. The village is very pleasant with a few shops and bars. The church is well worth a look. Overall we were happy with the Sportshotel Fuchs and I would imagine it is very liveley once the skiing season starts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cavershamroyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell, England
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Attractive Tyrolean hotel with a large terrace for a relaxing (free) drink after a day sightseeing, Soft drinks, beer and wine are free from 11am to 10pm at a self-service table in the dining room. My single room was small, dingy with a small window and had no drawers other than a small bedside one. Twin rooms I saw were much nicer and all seemed to have a balcony - lucky them. In-room safe didn't lock. Quite a few people had problems with their safes - different sorts of safes and when one couple in our party couldn't open theirs, Reception didn't have a spare key. Be warned! I had to keep my passport etc in a locked suitcase. Considering dinner was for a large group the food was good. Continental breakfast was fine for me. Eggs were available on request at extra cost. Lunch - foil provided at breakfast for a d-i-y packed lunch with a bottle of fizzy water. Free wifi in lounge (get password from Reception). Free unrequested daily alarm call at 7am from the Church bells.

Do make time for a stroll round the village. I was very surprised by the inside of the Church, which I'd wrongly assumed would be a relatively plain village Church. There's a small modern supermarket at the other end of the village, good for getting snacks for the train journey home. Cable car is next to the hotel (discounted tickets available in Reception) and the train station and tourist office less than 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank jantoby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for a few days recently.Hotel is in good location for station,tourist info and cable car.Few minutes walk from town for cafes,bars and supermarket.Room clean and comfortable with eficient shower in bathroom.Basic breakfast(no hot food)We stayed as all inclusive-foil left on your table each morning to make up rolls from breakfast spread for your lunch.Evening choice as others have reported.Hotel only 50 yards from cable car=15.5 euros return via two lifts to top of Hohe Salve.Good restaurant at top.We went up twice ,once in the snow and again a few days later when we could see the fantastic views.If you are touring round the area and going to use cable cars in other resorts ie Kitzbuhel and Mayrhofen it is worth getting a three day pass for 38 euros.Staff all very pleasant but would particularly like to thank Vladimir.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazlBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at Sporthotel Fuchs for 5 nights as part of a Treyn railway holiday. Our generous sized twin room had a balcony overlooking the church and the valley, with mountains in the distance. We were on an all-inclusive deal, which included a packed lunch which we made up our selves from the various items on the breakfast buffet together with a bottle of water each - we particularly liked this arrangement as it meant that we could choose just what we would eat.

The evening meal usually consisted of soup, salad, a choice of 3 main courses and dessert. Coffee/tea were available free all day from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m., as were lager, wine, and soft drinks.

One evening the hotel had arranged a Tyrolean Evening (for 10Euro each); we thought this was good enertainment and excellent value for money for a two-hour show by some energetic and enthusiastic dancers and an accordion player.

The hotel also has a sauna - but we didn't try it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

As with many others stayed at this hotel on a Shearings All Inclusive. We were promised by our driver Johnny that we were going to Heaven and he was correct. What a delightful village blessed by a cable car ride up the Hohe Salve (1829 metres) with (in good weather) some outstanding views - however when we went we found our heads in the clouds and some 7 inches of overnight snow. If you make the ascent try taking the walk back down from either the very top (4 hours) or from the middle station (1.5 - 2 hours).
The Hotel itself is fantastic, clean with efficient and pleasant staff. There is even free WiFi available simply ask for the code at reception.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chalkiescout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopfgarten im Brixental
7.0 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#2 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
186 reviews
21.9 mi away
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
298 reviews
5.2 mi away
Das Sieben
Das Sieben
#2 of 4 in Bad Haring
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Wellness Schloss Panorama Royal
12.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol
2.7 mi away
Hotel Schermer
Hotel Schermer
#1 of 7 in Westendorf
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportresort Hohe Salve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportresort Hohe Salve

Property: Sportresort Hohe Salve
Address: Meierhofgasse 26, Hopfgarten im Brixental 6361, Austria (Formerly Sporthotel Fuchs)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Hopfgarten im Brixental
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hopfgarten im Brixental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sportresort Hohe Salve 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Sportresort HOHE SALVE relies on the power of movement - in both summer and winter, 365 days a year. This movement is more than just a service, but integral to our daily activities and thinking for us. For all ages and all fitness levels. Located in Hopfgarten right next to the cable car station Hohe Salve in the Kitzbuhel Alps and is only 150 meters away from the center. With 104 rooms, five rooms for seminars and events, two restaurants, Apres ski bar and a 1,400 sqm "Move & Relax" area with yoga room, power room, 630 sqm pool area with 25 m sports outdoor pool, massage and treatment rooms Resort every sporting heartbeat. The sportresort is located in Hopfgarten, right next to the valley station of the Hohe Salve mountain railways, which offers an ideal entry into one of the largest and most modern ski resorts worldwide, the SkiWelt Wilder Kaiser-Brixental, with 90 lifts and lifts, 284 km of fun fun Lighted toboggan runs and over 70 huts guarantee pure winter pass. Welcome! But also for the rest of the year, the region around the Hohe Salve sports resort also offers numerous outdoor sports facilities: - brand new trail running routes in Westendorf - mountain bike tours throughout the region - running and walking trails in the village - hiking and mountain biking for all levels of difficulty - cycling and e-biking trails through the entire Brixental - and much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Sportresort Hohe Salve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Fuchs Hotel Hopfgarten Im Brixental
Sporthotel Fuchs Hopfgarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing