We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run hotel in an ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pension Unterbrau
Aboyne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family run hotel in an ideal location”
Reviewed February 14, 2010

After arriving late due to poor weather conditions for landing we were met by a smiling Marcus who gave us time to freshen up before serving us a lovely homecooked meal. During our week there Marcus and his staff (family) could not have been more friendly, welcoming and helpful.
Nothing was too much trouble and he even gave the kids a card with his number incase they got lost skiing with the promise he would come and get them.
The rooms were warm and clean, most had balconies.
We had a 5 minute walk to the gondola station each day which was fine.
We didn't venture out of the hotel at night (although we had planned to) as we felt so at home in the Unterbrau and the bar prices were great.
A few of the other guests we spoke to had been coming to the Unterbrau for years and I don't blame them. This was our first visit but will certainly not be our last. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairweatherskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    26
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
37
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portishead
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2010

For once a hotel that was exactly as described ! This family run hotel was very well run and was excellent in terms of sevice and facilities. More than this it is run by a delightful family who will do that little bit extra to make it a good stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Mark, the owner, positively works to create a great atmosphere in the hotel and between his guests.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hartcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Hotel is great, very clean and tidy.

Marcus, the owner is excellent; helpful and friendly.

The food is great, i really enjoy the Austrian food and you get a 3 course meal every day.

This is the second time that i have been to this hotel and i'm sure we will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gs22Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

This is an ideal hotel to stay for a great skiing holiday, You are greeted by Mark & his wife, whom are always on hand to help you, always with a smile.
There is a separate entrance for the ski room, with heated ski & boot racks, with stairs to reception/ restaurant areas.
The bedrooms are on the next 2 floors & are warm comfortable & clean as is the whole hotel.
A typical continental breakfast is served from 7.30am to set you up for the day.
There is always someone about throughout the day, should you want a coffee/beer etc.
Evening meal can be started between 6 & 7pm. A 3 course typical Austrian meal with a choice of main course. My wife is a coeliac and was reassured each evening that her dishes where gluten free.Mark is always happy to chat & serve drinks afterwards, at very reasonable prices.
The hotel is about 5 minute walk to the ski lift along a quiet road.If you don't fancy walking in ski boots there's 2 ski shops with storage at the lift.
The ski area is massive & Hopfgarten is on the sunnyside of the mountain with easy access to all areas.
Most people return to the Gasthof Unterbrau, this I can fully understand it's a good friendly, well situated 3* hotel in a pretty town with easy access to ski slopes & bus & train connections.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Hopfgarten is a great ski resort, the Hotelier was pleasant, the hotel is well situated but is very basic.
The food however was appalling, we were served Pork Schnitzel ...a spam fritter, Baked Cod... a cheap fish finger, all the puddings were cold custard (blamange style) with a dob of whipped cream.
Fully agree with the only other terrible review and cannot understand the other positive comments about the food.
Suggest you budget for a few meals out.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BilkoHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Sutton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

This was only our 2nd trip to Austria and the 1st time at this hotel, which had been personally recommended. We were not let down, from the moment of our late arrival Markus made us feel at home and one of his family.
Nothing is to much trouble for Markus and his family, if you have a request they will do their utmost to assist you with this, wether it be dietary requirements, travel information, or just information on the local area.
The Breakfast is typical Continental with plenty of choice, Lunch I cannot comment on as we were always out, the evening meal consisted of 3 courses, which were of ample size and tasty, however if you require more all you had to do was ask.
The Bedroom was comfortable with two large single beds pushed together, the room was cleaned every day, with clean towels provided daily.
The Hotel Unterbrau also has a ground floor room, where you can store your skis and boots which is very handy and a Sauna which we did not use.
The Hotel Unterbrau is in the centre of the town and is a 5-10 minute walk away from the Ski lift. Nice quiet town ideal for relaxtion after a hard day on the slopes.
Everybody in this town is very friendly and helpful.
On the negative side of things I can`t find anything to say.
Markus can`t wait for next year to meet you and your family again.
John & Sue

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsvılle
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2009

The best food you could want, ı used to look forward to the next days menu after a hard day snowboardıng. Lovely famıly run busıness, very hospıtable and outgoıng. They go out of theır way to help. Room was very clean, bathroom clean but a bıt tıght. Cant really fault them except low water pressure ın shower. Amazıng place to stay. very close to mountaın, we often thınk back to the food at thıs place and wısh we could go back, well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trotzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopfgarten im Brixental
0.2 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
139 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#2 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gasthof-Pension Tirolerhof
Gasthof-Pension Tirolerhof
#1 of 14 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Appartement Brixental
Appartement Brixental
#5 of 12 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
6 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Weberhof
#12 of 14 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
2 reviews
0.7 mi away
Appartements Strobl
Appartements Strobl
#3 of 14 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Unterbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Unterbrau

Property: Hotel Pension Unterbrau
Address: Braeugassl 6, Hopfgarten im Brixental 6361, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Hopfgarten im Brixental
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hopfgarten im Brixental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Unterbrau 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will experience traditional Austrian hospitality and a warm welcome from Marcus and his family at this pleasant hotel. Ideal for families, this hotel offers comfortable accommodation at great value with ideal location. Only a short walk to gondola Hohe Salve.Austrian twin rooms have private facilities, hairdryer, safe and cable TV. Some rooms can take a third bed. Single rooms are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pension Unterbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unterbrau Hotel Hopfgarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing