We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pension Unterbrau
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not friendly!”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel. We found the couple very unfriendly! When I asked for a glass of water I was given a small bottle at 2euros!! I think the fact that we did not drink every evening at the hotel put their backs up a bit. The woman was positively hostile to us and we were made to feel quite uncomfortable overall. Also the dining room was very small and we had to share a table with another couple. The food was done "on the cheap" and was ok I suppose but we had small portions and no bread with the soup. Overall we would never stay there again. Every other small hotel in Austria has been fantastic and friendly but the Underbrau is not one of those. Hopfgarten itself is a lovely place and we will visit again but will not be staying at the Unterbrau.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    26
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
38
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Other reviewers have said how friendly the Unterbrau is, yet we didn't feel this very much. Marcus was very chatty at breakfast but apart from this and a bit of chit chat from the lady who served dinner we didn't get the impression that we were valued guests! Food was ok, we ate everything that was put in front of us, it was good filling food with not much flair. Rooms were clean and warm and we were very grateful indeed to have a bath, which was fantastic to relax in after a long day on the piste. Others have said pretty much what we want to say about the Unterbrau so will keep this brief. The best thing for us was the fact that this is a completely NON SMOKING hotel, rare in Austria and the worse was the noisy dining room. With only a one hour gap for dinner, the dining room was always full and it isn't really big enough to cater for all comfortably, tables were a bit squashed in and we had to share a table with other guests, they were a nice couple but we would have preferred to have eaten alone.......... so for this reason alone we wont be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohdear_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is our second ski holiday at Hopfgarten, which is not the norm for us, but as we had such a great holiday last year, we decided to risk returning once again, with a different set of friends this time. We weren't disappointed. The hotel Unterbrau is situated in a quiet part of town ensuring a great nights sleep yet is close enough not only to the gondola station and the nightlife, including restaurants and bars. The rooms are traditional, comfortable and very warm which is great when you need to dry your gear out. The shower will always satisfy any womans need for scalding hot water as my other half had the water set so hot i am surprised my daily screams didn't cause an avalanche!!!
Breakfast was a typical continental affair ranging from cooked meats and various cheeses, boiled eggs, toast, cereals and yoghurt. There was an unlimited supply of tea, coffee and OJ.
Dinner was between 6 - 7pm and was 3 courses. There was a choice of 2 main courses every night, and if you are not keen on these, Marcus would make you an alternative meal. By the 3rd night Marcus realised that my indecisive friend could not make her mind up on which meal to choose, so provided a main meal and a small portion of the alternative for her to try to make sure she was happy. The food is always plentiful and hot.
One day we had organised a day trip to the bobsleigh run. Marcus on realising this made each one of us a packed lunch which included a bottle of schnapps to, in his words, to toast our success IF we survived! He has a great sense of humour and a greater attention to detail. Like another reviewer commented, the hotel caters for mainly europeans and also single travallers. On our 1st visit we met Jan, the flying Dutchman, who has been coming to this hotel for over 10 years. We spent the whole week this year with him, skiing and socialising, although he speaks little English and we speak no Dutch, which goes to show how friendly the atmosphere at the Unterbrau is. We were pleasantly suprised to find how reasonable the bar prices were, especially in the Unterbrau, as this is not always the case. Hopfgarten is a quiet, more european resort, with beautiful buildings, with an unspoilt traditional feel. It has 3 or 4 bars which suited us as we tended to go straight to the Rundell after sking for the brilliant atmosphere, dancing, drinking and singing along to the best german dance umpah music - not your typical english booze up. Altogether, a wonderful desination.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful week skiing in Hopfgarten staying at the Unterbrau. It is a very friendly hotel - the owners and staff make you feel extremely welcome. The hotel is only about 7 minutes walk from the gondola - you can either leave your ski gear in the hotel ski room or leave it at the Intersport depot - Marcus has an arrangement with them which was 5E per person for the week.

Breakfast is a well-stocked and varied buffet - everything from fruit, cereals, toast, rolls to cheese, meats eggs etc with plenty of tea/coffee/juice and if you wish you can order some cooked options at a small extra charge.

Dinner was a three course menu with two main course menu choices per night and a couple of nights there was a help-yourself salad bar with penty of options. The cooking is homely, traditional Austrian ski fare and is well cooked and tasty. The hotel has a well stocked bar and Marcus and his wife are always there to serve whatever you want - drinks are very reasonably priced.

The room that we had was, again, a traditional Austrian Pension Hotel room with very comfortable twin beds, wardrobe and safe and a good sized shower/WC room. Nothing fancy, but comfortable, clean and warm. Another good point is that the hotel seems to be in a quiet area of the town so you don't get disturbed by late night party-goers.

We had regular apres-ski drinks in the hotel restaurant which were made extra special by the bowls of nuts and crisps that Marcus gave us. It was a good chance to mix with other guests of various nationalities - everyone was very friendly.

Marcus and his wife were extremely helpful when I returned with a small skiing injury and provided ice packs etc - nothing was too much trouble for them - for example, we had an early departure and they provided a packed breakfast and coffee was available before our pickup.

We would not hesitate to return to the Unterbrau next time we visit Hopfgarten.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_n_Chris_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

This was our 2nd stay at the Unterbrau. We were a bigger group this time consisting of family & friends celebrating my 50th.
The greeting & service throughout the week was excellent & always done with a smile.
We had decided to ski in Kitzbuell the next day , no sooner Mark had printed us a bus timetable & assured us that an early breakfast would be ok.
The Hotel is in a quiet area & rooms are clean & comfortable.
After a 5 minute walk, it's quick access to the Ski Welt. There are 2 good ski rental shops at the gondola station, worth paying a few Euro's to leave your ski's & boots there overnight if you've brought your own. Free if you hire.
Hopfgarten is a quiet town for skiers but very pretty, with everything on hand,staying at the Unterbrau is a very friendly & homely hotel.
Can't wait to go again, I just love it !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Now we have been in Hopfgarten the last 6 years and lived in a hotel Underbrau the last 5 years.
The hotel is very pleasant with a very good service.
Host pair Markus and Manuel are some incredibly nice people who are always fresh and helpful and has lots of humor.
The rooms are neat and clean.
The food is plenty and a good quality.
Gondola is only 500 meters away.
We've been with some friends son also thought that it is a great place.
We can strongly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LotteJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aboyne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We loved this hotel so much last year that we immediately booked to come back this year.

Marcus and his family looked after us very well again. The food was lovely and the rooms very warm and comfortable with plenty hot water in the shower.

Marcus always has a smile and a joke and is great with the kids.

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the ski hire shop and main gondola and you can store your skis and boots next to the hire shop for a very reasonable 5 euros a week.

There are some pubs nearby but to be honest the bar prices in the Unterbrau are very reasonable. My hubby and the other dad in our party did venture out one night to test the pubs. The barmaid in the English pub short changed them but luckily they noticed only to catch her doing the same thing to a customer a short while later. So be warned keep a careful eye on your change!!!

I would definitely recommend the Unterbrau to anyone looing for a small family run friendly hotel with lovely home cooked food and not forgetting Ferris the dog who is so lovely.

We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairweatherskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopfgarten im Brixental
0.2 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
139 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#2 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gasthof-Pension Tirolerhof
Gasthof-Pension Tirolerhof
#1 of 14 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Appartement Brixental
Appartement Brixental
#5 of 12 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
6 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Weberhof
#12 of 14 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
2 reviews
0.7 mi away
Appartements Strobl
Appartements Strobl
#2 of 14 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Unterbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Unterbrau

Property: Hotel Pension Unterbrau
Address: Braeugassl 6, Hopfgarten im Brixental 6361, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Hopfgarten im Brixental
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hopfgarten im Brixental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Unterbrau 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will experience traditional Austrian hospitality and a warm welcome from Marcus and his family at this pleasant hotel. Ideal for families, this hotel offers comfortable accommodation at great value with ideal location. Only a short walk to gondola Hohe Salve.Austrian twin rooms have private facilities, hairdryer, safe and cable TV. Some rooms can take a third bed. Single rooms are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pension Unterbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unterbrau Hotel Hopfgarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing