We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice off the main drag”
Review of Taberna Pikapote

Taberna Pikapote
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Alcossebre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Taberna Pikapote was born in juny of 2010, when two restaurants of Valencia joined their cookings: basc and mediterranean. You will be able to have an apperitive or have lunch enjoying with a good rice (PAELLA or creamy), a cod fish, T-bone of red meat and a large starters menu with TAPAS. It is also nice the spanish' wines list. Ah! And also the G&T menu.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very good food in a quieter setting, set back from the main drag near the marina at Las Fuentes.
Abandon your prejudice and go for the pigs cheeks - delicious!
Music/dance nights once a week are great occasions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SumtotaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikapote, Propietario at Taberna Pikapote, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We would like to thank your review. This is one of the ways we have to improve and know if we are on the right way. Thanks again and we hope to see you back in our home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 300 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Pikapote organises, every now and then in summer, concerts on the terrace that start at about 10pm and end at midnight with a break in between. The food is typical and very good although not very warm in times of concerts (in our case) as everyone is served at the same time..., Surely on "normal" days, you get your meal warm as it should be. It was our first time yesterday and we enjoyed our dinner. The musicians were good and interactive with the assistance, a good time indeed. If you want better than the good house wine, you have a choice of some selected wines at reasonable prices. We shall return at the next occasion and we recommend you try it out if you get to Alcossebre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Flipper3845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikapote, Propietario at Taberna Pikapote, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Firts of all, Pikapote's team appreciate very much your time spent writing your opinion, which helps our business. We can see you enjoy the concert and the food even if it was a little bit cold. We have to apologise for this, because it shold not had happened. Even in concerts where, as you have noticed, everybody is served at the same time, this cannot happen. Any way, if it happens again we would prefer you to tell us so we can arrange it at the moment and you could eat your meal hot. We will improve this. Thank you and kind Pikapote's regards. Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I went to this restaurant after reading the passionate review below and were not disappointed. The owners are very nice people that make delicious spanish food at a fair price. We ordered win, bravas, traditional paella and homemade cheese cake with red wine carmel. Everything was FABULOUS and I recommend going here if you are in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Krista W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikapote, Propietario at Taberna Pikapote, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you very much indeed for writing your review. We remember your visit and we hope you could manage making the wine reduction for your friends or family. Try it and tell us how it worked. But be careful, if they like it, they will never leave your home. We hope you enjoy your Europe's travel.
Thanks again, Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I have to admit this is my favorite Spanish restaurant in Alcossebre. I will admit if you want a more formal service you can visit Sancho Panza or for a better view you can visit Restaurante El Pinar but for ‘real’ Spanish food cooked with passion you would struggle to find a better restaurant than Teberna Pikapote.

With such wonderful dishes such as Carrilleras de ibérico en su jugo al tempranillo (Pork cheeks cooked slowly in a tempranillo wine sauce) or Bacalao confitado con refrito de tomatitos y frutos secos (Salt cod with fried tomatoes and nuts) or my mother’s favorite Ensalada de frutas con soja y miel (Fruit salad with soya and honey). The paella is the best I’ve had … even better than La Pepica in Velencia where Hemmingway tried his first paella.

A caña (small draft beer) will come with free Tapas (the patatas bravas is to die for) and is no more than most other bars and the free WIFI is very useful.

Ana, the owner is passionate about ‘the arts’ and often organises evenings with live artists. I had the pleasure of attending the Flamenco/Soul and Bossa Nova evening over the summer and it was fantastic (€25 per person including food and wine).

If you are visiting Alcossebre, I would recommend making the effort to find Taberna Pikapote. It is a little hidden away in Las Fuentes but I guarantee you will have a meal to remember.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Northern_Si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikapote, Propietario at Taberna Pikapote, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Oh, my God! I have to admit (as you say) this is the best review a restaurant can get. Thanks to your opinion many people has come, so we cannot be more that thanked. You know that we appreciate you and your family very much. You will always have a home here, at Pikapote. And any question about cooking, you already know who to ask for, José or Fernando will be glad to answer you (in spanish of course).

Thanks again, Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Inma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna Pikapote also viewed

Alcossebre, Province of Castellon
Alcossebre, Province of Castellon
 
Alcossebre, Province of Castellon
Alcossebre, Province of Castellon
 
Alcossebre, Province of Castellon
Alcossebre, Province of Castellon
 

Been to Taberna Pikapote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing