We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRIENDLY STAFF AND VERY CLEAN”
Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Corfu Town
Certificate of Excellence
Kerkira
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY STAFF AND VERY CLEAN”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel common rooms and our hotel room were very clean and well kept. The pool area was also nice. The air conditioning was very welcome our first day but the day of our check out the air conditioner was either turned off at a central location or stopped working and we were pretty miserable until we checked out. Not sure if that was the intention or not. The breakfast was okay but pretty sparse. The beds were very, very, very hard and uncomfortable. We were actually sore in the morning. Overall, I'm not sure that we would stay at the Sunset Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    59
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
45
50
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I booked the hotel to enjoy my last holidays in Greece and to be honest was the best options. I am really glad about it.The hotel in only a 5 minutes bus to the old town. And the buses are there every 30 minutes. The bus stop is across the road (in front of the hotel).

The staff and family are really kind, they provide us many tips about good restaurants in Corfu (dont forget to ask them!) and the hotel is perfect! (Swimming pool, big rooms and good atmosphere)

Thanks family and staff for our nice and realx holidays in your hotel

Room Tip: The rooms are perfect after a lond day in the sun and incredibles beaches close to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel, three kids, two adults. The hotel and the rooms are ok enough and the kids enjoyed the pool, not crowded, this was the 1 and 2 July, and the pool area was fine for relaxing, few people and clean pool. Rooms and environments at the hotel and the service was good, but, it was very, too, close to the high way, good for a two nights stay, but not for spending a holiday, I would not at least, we could hear the traffic very well in the room, a bit less with the door closed, but still, and the nearest beach, we did not visit it, you had to walk by the highway, instead we took a taxi to the old town (10 EUR) and enjoyed it in the night when it was not so hot, our view from the room was a gas station and the highway to one side, and the sea to the other, quiet from neighbors, but they didnt make a lot of noise, you are close to the others balcony, good service, friendly staff, but it felt like the hotel was to close to the traffic, not when at the swimming pool though, there it was relaxing. breakfast was minimum, but what they had was ok and you could eat until 1030 with no problem, the bar at the pool served greek salad, hamburgers, one sort of pizza, toast and not much more, except drinks and nuts. Clean rooms with refrigerator and air con. nice place for a few days if you just want to chill and hang by the pool, and go by taxi or bus to nice restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Sunset Hotel for 6 nights. This was one of the first hotels we looked at and booked. We are really glad we did. It was only a 5min bus ride to the Old town (1.5km) and only 2km to the airport and had great wifi throughout the hotel including our room. The buses are every 30min and the bus stop is across the road – very convenient.

We found the whole hotel spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We felt the family warmth from staff and the owners. They were very knowledgeable on what to see and do around Corfu and best way to get there. They also made suggestions for things to do– which were spot on when we took up their suggestions! This included, beaches, bars, restaurants (one of our favourites only 200m walk down the road), and sites to see. The bed was hard but you can ask for a mattress topper. The pool was pristine clear and pool areas were just like their rooms - spotless. Their bar pool was reasonably priced not only for drinks but for snack foods too.

Overall, I want to say that nothing was too much trouble and they made our stay enjoyable and memorable. We feel that the hotel was certainly value for our money and would recommend. If we are ever back in Corfu – we will certainly stay with them again.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

On our return trip from a sailing holiday in the Geek islands we had a one night stay in this hotel before flying out from Corfu Airport. The staff were very friendly and the whole place was exceptionally clean and tidy, the pool and surrounding area were great with pool bar selling reasonably priced drinks all day. The ferry port and airport are just a short taxi ride away the only down side was inconsistent taxi fares which the hotel cannot be responsible for.
We felt it was great value for money

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preveza, Greece
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

While only at the hotel for one night, it was wonderful. We had a fantastic nap and nighttime sleep. The hotel was extremely clean, and the people working at the hotel were so very helpful, just could not do enough for us. When the morning lady at the desk learned we had to be out of their hotel early the following day, she had all the breakfast prepared a little earlier, now how nice is that, so very kind of her, and it was a very nice breakfast, many selections. The beds were a bit hard, but when asked for something to put on top, they brought them right up for us, and what an amazing difference that made. The rooms were a bit small, but with the lovely balcony, and talk about a view -- WOW -- that made up for the room size. We definitely would return to the Sunset Hotel, and recommend it highly. This hotel was only a little over a mile from the Port and Old Corfu, not to mention very easy to get to. Highly recommend eating lunch/dinner at the Μουράγια (Mouragia) Taverna on Αρσετίου St. At the end of the New Port, on the left hand side is a large free parking lot. In front are large buildings. Take the sidewalk and walk up and around the sea wall, about five minutes, just past the Byzantine Museum on the right hand side is the Taverna. Excellent food, nice selection and good prices. Ask for Basili, so very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 208 has a wonderful view, that is the room to ask for when making reservations. You look out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria_Preveza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were only there for one night, but the staff were very friendly and helpful, It was great value and a short taxi ride from the old town, ferry port and airport. We had a family room with bunk beds and a double. It was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trout14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfu Town
1.0 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
476 reviews
2.5 mi away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Corfu Town
626 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
3.0 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#6 of 10 in Corfu Town
149 reviews
21.9 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Property: Sunset Hotel
Address: Alykes, Potamou, Corfu Town 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Corfu Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Corfu Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is open all year round waiting for you to enjoy our warm and pleasant hospitality. Sunset Hotel’s 5-story building is located in the limits of Corfu town, recently renovated (2009), with lovely, spacious indoors and outdoors areas, a large garden and a swimming pool. The hotel is a family-run business and stands out for its warm and exquisitely clean environment both in the rooms and in the rest hotel premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Corfu/Corfu Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing