We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel needing urgent refurbishment”
Review of Corfu Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Corfu Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Corfu Town
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Exceptional hotel needing urgent refurbishment”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This expensive and -claiming to be a 5 star- hotel has a superb location and the advantage of being right in the middle of the historic area of Corfu town -without having the hustle and bustle noises- and just a 5 min away stroll from the main Spaniada & Liston Square. Gardens are beautiful and overall stay is very enjoyable. HOWEVER, if I were to "star-rate" it, I would not give more than a 4-star classification. Rooms need to be refurbished, breakfast is served strictly until 10am, there is no fitness-center, there is no mini-market to buy a newspaper or some sun-protective materials and external pool has to close by 7-7.15 pm. There is also no facility (at a hotel which also hosts a little Casino) of transporation from and to the Airport which is only 1,5 km away but you have to pay about 10 Euros for taxi (when you travel with kids and heavy luggage). Pricing is overall very expensive (rooms, food and beverages) as compared to the current status of this hotel. There is also an interior pool but nobody visits it in the summer and in the absence of a fitness center. Service is very good and polite but this does not suffice to counterbalance the lacks of other facilities and amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    238
    100
    27
    13
See reviews for
138
314
36
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel in may with my middle aged mother and we found the whole experience just wonderful. Its an old hilton hotel and it shows. Large open rooms! We were originally only going to stay 3 nights but decided to extend to 5 as we were so taken with the place. The staff went out of their was to organise this for us as it was a busy period . They made our whole experience hassle free ! Great location with a 5 minute walk to the old fort and corfu town but a lovely quite area and amazing view of the harbour. Easy walk to dinner and the hotel restaurant had a great selection too if thats more your thing. Great buffet breakfast in the beautiful garden .Perfect space for a night cap or a hot chocolate too just stunning. There is a casino attached to the hotel but honestly we didnt even notice it as its tucked away to the side so noise is no problem if your are not wanting to involve yourself. Highly recommend Thank you Hotel corfu palace!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KipWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed, given its great location. 3 stars maximum. Very outdated, very expensive drinks, some cocktails €18 and a small draft beer €5! Saltwater swimming pool-why! Average buffet breakfast. 1980's decorated room and could be cleaner, bath only big enough for kids. No BBC or SKY TV. Average guest age 70 plus which may explain the good reviews I have read about this hotel! On the plus side, the staff are very nice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank minkyminky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was a return visit for us. Perhaps we have been lucky but we have never had a problem with our room style. I don't understand the " out dated " comments. Even if you don't book directly with the hotel contact Evi Zachari on reception. This lady runs the hotel with style. We asked for a 5th floor room in our advance email and this is what we got. A large room with a huge bed and a wooden floor.

The staff are first class, so willing to help and assist. Special mention should be made about the pool bar staff and the pool man. The later, always working hard and delivering food/snacks directly to your sun lounger-pool side if required.

The director of the hotel is Alexandros Anemogiannis. Over the last few years he has built a good solid team around the hotel. They deserve the four star rating.

Tip: contact Ms Zachari
Tip: reserve your sun bed via the pool staff for your stay.
Tip: don't miss the Saturday night BBQ, which is outstanding for both food and atmosphere.

Perhaps if you don't like this hotel you really should try self catering. This is our second time, we may return again.

Room Tip: We had room 515, great view of the bay. The live greek music ( two men ) around the pool bar is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJGKentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week for one night. The first thing that was very noticeable was the smell of old cigarette smoke in our room which was not very pleasant, however the room itself was spacious and the bed comfortable. The bathroom appeared a bit aged with limescale around the taps but everything functioned well. The big plus to the hotel is its position in Corfu Town. The view from the sea facing rooms is wonderful and the balconies large enough to sit out and enjoy watching the ships coming in and out of the bay. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the centre of the town which is vibrant. The staff at the hotel are polite and helpful particularly the lady on the reception desk. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the outside bar in the evening listening to live music with the cicadas chirruping in the background.

Room Tip: At this hotel it is worth having a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is very good (maybe 5 stars is far-fetched). On top of everything else, the staff is soooo polite, always keeping a warm-honest smile! The rooms were clean and spacious, the view to the sea was excellent. Breakfast had a big variety to choose from , personally i would expect to find more local food. The location could not be better, right in the center but without the noise of it. Also, the swimming pool was excellent- big and with sea-water.
The only disadvantage was the lack of parking space.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Magdali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kouvola, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Corfu Palace for a week in the end of July. We booked 2 rooms with a seaview for our family. We got rooms from the third floor with a nice bay over the bay. Rooms are a bit outdated, but enough of space for our luggage and clothes. Large balcony was nice. Location of the hotel is excellent, just 5 minutes walk from the main square and pedestrian streets.

Breakfast is quite good with lot of choices, both hot and cold. Poolside was nice, always enough sunbeds, no matter what time you arrived. Also the barmen can book you one for couple of days. Service in the hotel was very good at all times. Only downside is the strong smell of mould in some areas, like coming down the grand staircase to the lobby - it was pungent!

Room Tip: Go for floors 3-6 to get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyboyFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfu Town
1.9 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
1.5 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
487 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,242 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayor Mon Repos Palace 'Art Hotel"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corfu Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corfu Palace Hotel

Property: Corfu Palace Hotel
Address: Hotel Corfu Palace | 2, Leoforos Democratias, Corfu Town 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Corfu Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Corfu Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corfu Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An impressive Corfu landmark, benefiting from its position five min away from the heart of the historic city of Corfu the hotel was inaugurated in 1954 and surely holds the best position in Corfu Town. Since then offers a traditional and elegant atmosphere where each guest can experience the Corfiot hospitality through personalized service and attention to detail in the true Swiss tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Corfu Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corfu Town Palace Hotel
Corfu Hotel Palace
Corfu Palace Hotel Corfu Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing