We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Superb”
Review of Corfu Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corfu Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Corfu Town
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I read reviews of the Corfu Palce before I booked and some more before I travelled. I was a little concerned to read reports that talked of a tired hotel and surly staff - after all it could have changed since I was last there a dozen or so years ago.

I need not have worried!

The hotel facilities were excellent. We had a superior room on the sixth floor - roomy, pleasantly decorated, full two-place modern bathroom, lovely balcony view - we couldn't have asked for more.

The staff were friendly, courteous and attentive. Dining out on the terrace restaurant wasa a delight. Their was a decent selection to choose from the set menu - 4 courses with a choice of 3 items at each course. Just wonderful.

If I had a criticism at all it would be that the sun-loungers and umbrealla around the pool were rather tired. But it was clear that the hotel management had put together a refurbishment programme which was on-going. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StuartS250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for Corfu Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 667 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

managed to get upgrade to room on 6th floor, free basket of fruit included each day! Brilliant views across the bay, and room very well appointed. Spacious bathroom and separate walk in wardrobe, sheets & towels changed every day and room very clean and tidy.
All the staff were helpful and it was lovely to be able to eat breakfast outside.
Hotel situated in very good spot, nice and quiet in the evening but wihtin easy walking distance of Corfu town wiht all its variety of shops & restaurants.

Room Tip: all rooms have balcony overlooking the bay, but the higher the floor the more of a view you will ha...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at room 220, with access to a garden and a spectacular view of Garitsa Bay. Huge room, recently decorated, wood floor (no carpet), comfortable beds and pillows, large wardrobes, safe, marble bathroom with hairdrier, excellent air conditioning, mini bar, wireless internet all over the hotel and towels for pool. Maybe the best located hotel in Corfu Town. Airport is at just a 8 minute taxi ride and Old Town is a 5 minute walk so you can come and go very easily. Polite and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast and meals, served both inside and outside. Gardens and two sea water pools (one inside and heated and the other one outside) are gorgeous and well maintained. Like any other place in Greece is a smoking hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with garden access.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just back from a week in the Corfu Palace Hotel. This was one of the best holidays we have had. The staff were very efficient and polite, nothing was too much trouble. Our room (number 321) was clean and bright with great views over the bay. The air conditioning was effective keeping us cool at night. The food in the restaurant was varied each night, fresh and very tasty. (You do need to ask the waiters to slow down as the will bring the courses out very quickly.) The bar has a wide range drinks and a very good lunchtime snack menu. We booked B&B and were offered a meal deal which was a cheaper than Thomson were offering if we had book half board as part of our holiday package. The pool was clean and warm and there were no problems in getting a sunbed any time of the day. (You can also reserve you sunbed). Only minor issue were the bites we got from an unknown bug – mosquito's? Like most hotels some areas are dated but this did not bother us at all – we all know the financial situation Greece are in at the moment so any upgrades to the hotel would have to be given serious thought.

Room Tip: We had a great view from room 321
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is situated in, probably, one of the best locations on Corfu being close to both the airport and Corfu Town. Most of the rooms have glorious views of Garitsa Bay and the Greek mainland in the background, albeit across a busy main road. In its heyday it, undoubtedly, the place to stay.Sadly it now appears to be a victim of the local economic situation and to be struggling financially.

Apart from the reception and mezzanine areas there is an air of genteel poverty throughout.

Our room furniture was very old fashioned although the original dark wood is now painted cream. The carpet was old, patched and had cigarette burns apparent, and the bathroom basin tap put as much water on the surround as in the sink. Th beds, however, although firm, were very comfortable and the double glazing prevented the traffic noise from being intrusive.

The pool area is pleasant with plenty of shaded areas But a lot of the sun umbrellas are damaged and need replacing. By having a word with the pool barman you can reserve a particular sunbed for the duration of your stay, irritating if you are not aware of it. Apart from a tiny splash pool there are no facilities at all for young children and the nearest beach is some distance away.

The hotel is nominally B & B but we opted for the, fairly expensive, half-board option to save the 10 - 15 min. uphill walk to the town on what were often hot evenings. The dinner food was excellent with a reasonable choice although the house wine at 25€ a bottle, and more for branded Greek wines was excessive ( particularly as identical wine was available in the supermarket for 6.95€ ) Dinner was not served until 8pm and, surprisingly, there is no dress code. Men in shorts were not refused service as we have seen in 'lesser' hotels.
Breakfast was, however, an unvaried selection. The 'hot' foood was always lukewarm with only cold plates to put it on, milk was served in 1l supermarket bottles and fruit juice in, often chipped, glass jugs.Some of the cutlery was so pitted and battered you would not buy it at a car boot sale.

We did have cause to complain to reception one morning when the room carpet had not been vacuumed for 10 days and the balcony not swept either. This was remedied promptly (15mins) and effectively and followed up by a bottle of, good, wine and fruit at lunchtime. Although should such a complaint have been necessary in a 5* hotel?

On a positive note, the front line staff were all very helpful and friendly, there was free Wi-Fi in all areas, the room safe was free as was keeping our room for an extra 4 hours on the day we left.
The taxi transfer, although only 4 mins, was also welcome.

This hotel is, at best, 4* and needs a major cash injection to improve standards. Although there are many loyal and regular customers we will not be joining them.

Room Tip: the higher the better
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rick393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Decorating past decade, great breakfast, great service and the pool area.Big rooms with lovely view, near to the city center. Ideal for couples and families whose looking for affordable luxuryain. I stayed with my husband for 4 days and we are looking forward to come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amantzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at the Corfu Palace Hotel with my daughter who was competing in a tennis tournament at the club which is 2 mins walk from the hotel. I found a good deal with Booking.com including half board. From the photos I was not expecting much from this hotel however I have been pleasantly surprised. Althought the decor is a through back to the 80s it sort of works here, it was very clean I found the staff extremely accomodation and efficient particually in the restaurants. Menu again is rather 'vintage' but quality was very good with numerous options for lunch by the pool bar, dinner either set menu or a la carte. Breakfast is predicatable but views from restaurant are fantastic. Bedrooms are a little bland but again clean and comfortable. The hotel manager was impressive and has built a good team around this hotel. I did not expect to like it hear as much as I have, even my 15 year old has enjoyed its old fashioned service and charm!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thainsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfu Town
1.9 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
1.5 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
521 reviews
7.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Mayor Mon Repos Palace 'Art Hotel"
0.1 mi away
Bella Venezia Hotel
Bella Venezia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Corfu Town
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corfu Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corfu Palace Hotel

Address: Hotel Corfu Palace | 2, Leoforos Democratias, Corfu Town 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Corfu Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Corfu Town
Price Range: $132 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corfu Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An impressive Corfu landmark, benefiting from its position five min away from the heart of the historic city of Corfu the hotel was inaugurated in 1954 and surely holds the best position in Corfu Town. Since then offers a traditional and elegant atmosphere where each guest can experience the Corfiot hospitality through personalized service and attention to detail in the true Swiss tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corfu Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corfu Town Palace Hotel
Corfu Hotel Palace
Corfu Palace Hotel Corfu Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing