We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful view for a beautiful hotel, for a beautiful island”
Review of Corfu Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Corfu Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Corfu Town
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I visited the Corfu Palace Hotel in mid-July, it is certainly a 5 star hotel. The hotel feels like its days of former glory are far behind but it still provides traditional, luxury accommodation. The hotel's greatest asset is its staff, never will you come across an unkind member of staff at the Corfu Palace. Even from check-in, Fonnie will give you a warm welcome as she organises your bags to be sent to your room and offers you a free drink while you wait for the rooms to be made up.

The rooms are very comfortable, although not modern. I fail to see how the room's not being modern could be seen as a negative. A TV, desk, double or twin bed, safe, cupboard and a spacious bathroom are basics in every room. The balcony gives a fantastic view over the bay. The rooms on the second floor are slightly more basic but are called 'Garden Suites' and have their own terrace with sun loungers and a view over the rooftop garden.

The pool area is beautiful. A cool pool sits surrounded by sun-loungers set in an amazing garden. Nearby is the pool-bar selling drinks (at extortionate prices: 5€ for a Coke) and offering lunch and dinner à la carte. Dimitri, Spyro, Katie, Christof and others all ensure an enjoyable evening and playing cards with the rest of your party is rather entertaining. Every Saturday brings the BBQ to the restaurant, at 39€ the BBQ is a great evening bringing great food with that same great view over the bay. Every Tuesday evening brings the 'Manager's Cocktail', a rather appropriate name.

The location at the Hotel Corfu Palace is fantastic. A 5-minute walk up a gentle slope will take you to the town of Kerkyra (Kepkupa). Shops line the streets and one could easily kill at least 3 hours in the evening when the town comes alive. Many restaurants offer great food at a great price, I should recommend La Cucina and The Gondola for Italian and Greek cuisine.

The hotel also has Free Wi-Fi, a computer with internet access, a lounge and....A CASINO! The casino is very popular with the local Corfiots and hotel guests, it is filled to the brim by night.

Hotel Corfu Palace is undoubtedly the best place to stay in Corfu, and quite possibly Greece. It is certainly 5-star and it will definitely give you one of the best holidays one can get.

Room Tip: Level 6 rooms are not superior, they are exactly the same as any other room, you are simply paying t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Snobly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 686 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is the third time I've been to the Corfu Palace, but the first time with kids, and this holiday has been one of our best. The hotel hasn't changed much over the years, but that's a good thing - because it was good last time! As other reviewers have said, the best things about the hotel are the staff (very friendly and efficient), the location (fantastic views, access to old town), and the general atmosphere. Our kids (10, 10, 13) enjoyed the holiday even though (maybe because) there isn't a 'kids programme'. Like other reviewers I'd suggest the hotel management think about the opportunity to improve the focus on the evening - and persuade guests to have dinner in the hotel, we noticed compared to 10 years ago the majority of people leave the hotel in the evening at to eat out in Corfu town, where there's a huge choice. Actually the cost of dinner in the hotel is comparable to most of the town restaurants, however for kids the hotel menu is too expensive, formal and lacks child-friendly choices. Overall though a great hotel, with many good memories, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

For a few years standards had slipped at the Corfu Palace, but having returned for a week in mid July I was delighted to find that there had been worthwhile improvements. Much more importantly the staff have not changed, as they are the hotel's main asset, whether that be on reception, in the bar or the restaurant. I will be happy to return. If there is a criticism, the management should review the evening menu, as the wealth of alternatives in Corfu town catering to all age groups means that many guests dine out. As to the criticism from the lady who left after two days I suspect that the fault lies with her and certainly not the Corfu Palace.

Room Tip: The view over Garitsa Bay is superb and can be appreciated from 90 percent of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sylvander72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I was at the hotel the same time as Samantha M and I have to tell you that after having returned to this hotel every year for 10 years along with many other long term repeat guests, I genuinely believe this is a wonderful hotel, quirky yes and could possible need an update and not the eqivalent of an English 5 star hotel but does have fantastic views, is in a fantastic location and all of the staff are extremely friendly and have always greeetd us as personal friends when ever we arrive! The choice at breakfast was amazing and after having spent 10 years of holidays at this hotel as stated earlier, I can honestly say that I have always enjoyed the breakfasts particularly! I've stayed in this hotel for the last 10 yrs along with many other repeat guests and would suggest that anyone reading these reviews take note that the vast majority of people who have spent the time to review this hotel have given favourable reviews and suggested that it is certainly most worthy of a visit, yes its not perfect but I would certainly have no hestitation in recommending it to anyone. I personally met this couple and they never cracked a smile the two days they were there unlike the other guests who saw them leave after two days, we were ALMOST sorry to see them leave - free entertainment is so rare! Samantha M and partner were the talk of the hotel after having clearly visibly and verbally demonstrated that as the saying goes, "You simply cannot please everyone!" Perhaps some people should just stick to the Premier Inn, I hear Lenny Henry swears by it!

Room Tip: I would go for the upgraded room on the 6th floor as the vierws are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

well we arrived on 13/07/2012 for a weeks stay at this hotel we left after 2 days and flew home it is no way a 5 star hotel maybe 2 star the air conditioning where they had it was absolutly useless and the bedroom was like a sweat box at night we got shouted at on our first night at dinner ( we booked half board ) as we didnt reserve a table !! breakfast not a lot to choose from the receptionist raised her voice to us when we went to book out that no-one had advised her we were leaving early never again would we stay here

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samantha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We arrived in Corfu, expecting to catch the 14.45 Flying Dolphin to Paxos. The hydrofoil was full, so we needed to find a hotel for that night with a swimming pool. The Corfu Palace Hotel provided this after we had negotiated with them for a last minute deal. The room was very comfortable, with lovely views out over the bay. The swimming pool area was a green oasis of relaxation after an early start from Gatwick. The pool is large and salt water, a great place to 'hang out' after the disappointment of not making it to Paxos on the same day. Breakfast was superb and the hotel is very close to lots of great places to go in the evening. I would be very happy to stay at the CPH again as part of a stopover.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ShoutCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at this recommended 5 star hotel for 4 nights. The location is fantastic with views over the bay and the opportunity for a dawn walk around to bay at sunrise. The rooms are comfortable and it is best to get an upper floor which appear to have had an update and a paint. The top floor are the executive suites more pricy but worth it for a longer stay. No rooms are non-smoking so be aware if this is unpleasant. We complained and they said they would do a 'super' clean for us. Still this does not stop the smoke from the rooms on either side when the clients are smoking on the balconcy. We decided to live with this! The breakfast in the garden was excellent and the service was top rate. One word of advice is to take a travel iron as thera re no iron's available for the guests use, they do offer a pressing service whic we used and found a 9Euro cost on the bill which was bnot explained.

The hotel is located within an easy 10 minute walk to the old town which is full of charm. There are around 80 churches to visit and you can easily spend a whole day walking around with frequent stops for a Greek coffee, wine or snacks. Try the back streets which have some interesting local shops away from the central tourist area.

Corfu is full of history and it well worth reading up before you go so you have some explaination for all the different building stules, statues and forts.If you have time you can catch a ferry across to Albania which is fairly recently opened up to tourists.

Room Tip: Ask fo rthe upper floor - 5th. All rooms have spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaye50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfu Town
1.9 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
1.5 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
532 reviews
7.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mayor Mon Repos Palace 'Art Hotel"
3.9 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Bella Venezia Hotel
Bella Venezia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Corfu Town
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corfu Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corfu Palace Hotel

Address: Hotel Corfu Palace | 2, Leoforos Democratias, Corfu Town 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Corfu Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Corfu Town
Price Range: $129 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corfu Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An impressive Corfu landmark, benefiting from its position five min away from the heart of the historic city of Corfu the hotel was inaugurated in 1954 and surely holds the best position in Corfu Town. Since then offers a traditional and elegant atmosphere where each guest can experience the Corfiot hospitality through personalized service and attention to detail in the true Swiss tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corfu Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corfu Town Palace Hotel
Corfu Hotel Palace
Corfu Palace Hotel Corfu Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing