We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Taverna in Corfu town with best prices and nicest hosts”
Review of Mouragia

Mouragia
Ranked #49 of 201 Restaurants in Corfu Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Warlingham
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best Taverna in Corfu town with best prices and nicest hosts”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We came here three times and each time we felt we had great service, the food was good, big portions and a warm welcome. It’s a nice location with a good view of the nearest island (go through the arch of the palace/Asian art gallery and follow wall around to your left).

As you sit down they offer complementary warm griddle-toasted bread with garlic and herb butter. They have a €9.90 menu but the starters are mostly salads. However, as the portions are large you may wish to take that option. I quite like Calamari and use it as a quality check of Taverna’s so went for the full menu. Theirs were the best Calamari I’d tasted on the island. Also, their courgette fritters are excellent. My companion had the griddled mushrooms which were very tasty.

Mains are standards like Souvalaki but they were big portions, well done and I couldn’t complain. Each time we came here we were given free portions of pudding (chocolate cake twice and a nice syrup sponge so don’t eat too much). On the last evening in Corfu Town we decided to come here as they had worked so hard and it was the best VFM place we found and we were give free beers which is amazing given the prices. If you’re in town, go to this place first so you’ve got a good benchmark to compare.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMiggins46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    73
    15
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Right on the ocean”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

we had the fried "small fish" which turned out to be sardines and they were delicious as were the vegetables we ordered as a side. The tazatziki was the best we had in Greece and was served with a wonderful bread.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yummy tomato balls!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have studied in Corfu for 4 years and I would go there again just to taste the great food! The tomato balls have a divine taste, don't forget to taste them!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very friendly Greek restaurant”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Mouragia reminded us of the best of Greek Tavernas we had eaten at on little Greek islands in years gone by. The location is great - facing onto the sea just across the road. Don't expect much in the way of wine (carafe is probably the best bet) but they have the best Ouzo I've ever tasted and the food is very good and very authentically Greek, and the waiters are very friendly. It is always a good sign when you see Greek families coming there for family celebrations. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KSB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A really good experience”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were really impressed with this place, and it was the only restaurant we visited twice during our stay.

The first time we had the mixed starters for 2 as a starter then individual main courses. The mixed starter in fact was enough for us as a whole meal, it was full of delicous pastry dishes often containing fried cheese. It was brilliant.

Other dishes we tried were:

The local veal specialty (good)
A whitebait style fish (but not the whitebait) - this was also good, if of slightly monstrous proportions I reccomend 2 sharing it and ordering something else for variety.
and the local dish which looks like lasagne made with Penne (the name escapes me, its not Mousaka) which was excellent.

As you might have gathered by now portions are very large.Taste is excellent, as is service.
Value for money is great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ramw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mouragia also viewed

 
Corfu, Ionian Islands
Corfu, Ionian Islands
 
Corfu Town, Corfu
Corfu Town, Corfu
 

Been to Mouragia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing