We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for the price, good location”
Review of Sofia Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofia Village
Ranked #53 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in Sofia's village in Sep 2013 as part of our honey moon trip. I must admit that we received a great value for the price. The hotel is located not far from Mykonos (5-10min) by bike and probably 20min walking. If you do not like walking uphill I would recommend you rent some kind of transport. Sofia herself picked us up from the airport and even prepared a special welcome bouquet for us. She was very cordial and made sure we got everything we needed, she really added a personal touch to our experience. We met a German couple there who would come back and visit every year the same place. It is totally worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 290 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

I'm so disappointed with this place and the service: First of all, I made a reservation in a trustful website (hostelbookers) for 75 euros/02 nights. When I arrived in this hotel, the guy told me that the price was wrong in the website and that the real price was 150 euros/02 nights. So after negotiation he made for 100 euros (so I was charged of 35 euros for his mistake!!!). Second big problem: we have reserved a double room with a double bed, but they put us in an old garage with 5 single beds. They treated us in a really bad way and were really rude. Also, the location is bad, you have to climb a big hill to arrive there. Not recommended at all!! You can find other places with the same price and better staff!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rafael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I booked a room for 3: a couple and a young child for 190€.
When we arrived we discovered our room was a former garage with 5 single beds, neon lights and a view on the parking instead of egean sea as advertised. When i told the owner it wasńt worth the price at all, she replyed "it is august price and you should be happy to have 2 extra beds". So rude! Such a crappy and expensive place. We only stayed one night and found much nicer place and people in Naxos

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marjoetfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Sofia Village is a good location and value in that it is close to Mykonos Town, BUT if you rent a car like we did (highly suggest so you don't have to rely on buses and pay for taxis) then you don't need to be so close to town. And if you are looking for a relaxing trip I would suggest NOT staying close to town as it is FILLED with club promoters/CRAZY drivers!!

Overall, the rooms are nice and simple, good air conditioning and space, plus a mini-fridge. Sofia is pleasant (English is limited so you will be sent to George, the bar owner, quite often to answer questions-- which I'm not sure how he feels about being the middle man), and the pool and garden are lovely. There are grapes growing around the property which was a delicious treat to be able to pick a handful from your balcony and enjoy! Also, Sofia picked us up from the airport and dropped us off at the ferry port which was very helpful.

The downside--THE STEEP HILL leading down to Mykonos town! Anyone who says it's not that bad is lying!! We're in great shape and it SUCKED, makes you dread walking down for anything knowing you'll have to walk back up it, but driving is not appealing either since once you're down there the streets are packed with crazy drivers, ATV's, scooters, people and no place to park!!! Definitely think twice about this if you will be staying more than a day or 2 or if you're not in decent shape. Also, TERRIBLE Wi-Fi, extremely unreliable, it worked for maybe 20 mins total of our 3-4 day stay. In order to pick up a signal (which didn't mean you'd even get internet) you had to be huddled around the bar/kitchen area, as it definitely didn't reach to the pool or rooms at all!! No signal in the room, period. Most guests would walk up the street to Starbucks if they really needed wi-fi, since if you buy something the password will be on your receipt. If you need internet while traveling this is a big NO. The staff is aware of the poor connection and said there was nothing they could do about it.

Overall, this hotel is a good value if you want/need to be near town, or if you are in your early 20s (as most guests appear to be, and you'll be close to nightlife). But, if you rent a car and just want to go into town for meals and to explore here and there-- stay somewhere further away from town. It's like 'spring break' this time of year (late July/August--but who knows, may be a nice option during the low-season!! ) and so many teens/early 20s looking to party which is fine if that's what you're after. But at 30 yrs old we are over it and would've enjoyed this hotel more had it been further away from the craziness...also, avoid beaches like Paradise/Super Paradise!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliebug39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our journey to Mykonos was really enjoyable thanks to Sofia, the owner of this fantastic “village”. We spent 6 days in a lovely apartment, located up to the hill, really close to Mykonos town.

The apartment was fully furnished and veryclean. The apartment had any comfort, which is quite unusual for Greek standards -I have been to Greece a few times -: Wi-fii, a big and clean swimming pool with sdraio and bar were a nice option to the beach. Music was on all the time and the swimming pool and bar close to midnight. Relax was always guaranteed.

The apartment was cleaned every day, and we had new towels and soap. Beds were comfortable and coverts were available . The staff who did the cleaning was very careful to the customers. The first night I used my covert as a second pillow, and the next day they immediately replaced a new pillow for me. I did not need to ask for it.

Mykonos is very windy and during the night you may feel cold. There was also air conditioning but we did not use it. A kettle, a fridge and other utilities were available if we wanted to eat in the room or in our terrace, which was facing the panorama. You can also have lunch or dinner at the bar, the prices were really reasonable. A espresso is only 1 euro. We did not buy the breakfast, but while we were in the reception, working with the internet, Sofia came to bring us fruit and home made sweets. She was really nice.

Also, they offer a service from and to the airport , so it was even very easy to find the hotel and bring the luggage. he peoples who work at the hotel are very kind and polite, checking all the time if you are having a good time.

Nearby the hotel you have a supermarket and a fruit market. I recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to come to Mykonos. The beaches are far away from the hotel, but the bus stop for the different beaches is very close. Usually, peoples take the different buses to move around the island, the tickets are 1.60 euros one way. The buses are comfortable for travelling.

To get back to the hotel, being the hotel located on the top of the hill, you have to walk up to the hill and it must be hard for peoples who have problems. However, you can rent a car or a motorbike, the place where they rent it is very close to Sofia village. The price of the room was reasonable and the quality was a high standard. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossella91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at Sofia village for 5 nights. Location was ripper with only a 2 minute quad ride to the centre. Although without quads/scooters you needed to be an athlete to walk up this monster of a hill!

Rooms were okay nothing special but for the price not worth it. Very basic.

Pool was solid with George behind the bar probably the only good thing about it. Drinks were quite cheap and George was up for a laugh and helped us with cabs/takeaway food etc.

Sofia herself runs the place and patrolled the joint to keep noise to a minimum after a certain time as mykonos is such a quiet island... Also we watched as she cleaned the pool by pouring chlorine into a glass and throwing it into the pool herself then leaving the empty glass on the bar..

Overall the location was solid & if you're looking for basic rooms and you're not gonna spend much time at the hotel then it could be ok. But for the same price I reckon you could find something much better, just as close to the centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPJS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Sofia village with four friends in two different rooms. The pool and bar facilities were great! The bar tender George made great cocktails however he did often get snippy and rude when asked questions which I found especially annoying because Sofia, the owner, doesn't speak English and often she would send me to him to get my questions answered (I.e about hotel transfers) after which he would send me back to Sofia, insisting he was too busy etc. I found this communication issue quite annoying because since there is very limited cabs we were quite reliant on this service in particular which seemed to be on a 'if I feel like it basis' by the staff. Sofia was definitely lovely but service wasn't great overall but I felt that was a common theme in Greece as a whole so it seems to be the standard there.

The rooms however were great and Sofia and her team do a great job at keeping the whole hotel very well maintained. The hotel isn't near the beach sadly but it's a short walk to town (it's quite a steep climb) but we weren't bothered by it. The wifi was pretty shocking and constantly dropped in an out but overall it was a clean scenic hotel near a fruit shop, mini market etc which was also very handy!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel2012255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Vienoula's Garden
Vienoula's Garden
#10 of 82 in Mykonos Town
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 82 in Mykonos Town
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galini Hotel
Galini Hotel
#66 of 82 in Mykonos Town
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anastasios Sevasti
Anastasios Sevasti
#71 of 82 in Mykonos Town
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibiscus Boutique Hotel
Ibiscus Boutique Hotel
#36 of 82 in Mykonos Town
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charissi Hotel
Charissi Hotel
#39 of 82 in Mykonos Town
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Village

Address: Outskirts of Mykonos Town (400m. From the Town) | School Of Fine Arts area, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range: $51 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofia Village 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sofia Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Village Mykonos Town
Sofia Village Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing