We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great pool!”
Review of Sofia Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofia Village
Ranked #50 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great location, great pool!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Had a lovely stay at Sofia village! Really enjoyed the pool and George the bar tender was great! The rooms were a little disappointing but we hardly spent any time in them! Would reccomend getting. Quad bike or scooter to get around! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyer122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    112
    37
    12
    24
See reviews for
32
104
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We visited Sofia Village mid june - on arrivial we were shown our rooms which had fantastic views of the sunset.
George was absolutely amazing and nothing was too much trouble for him. We were a bit dubious about Sofia after reading previous reviews but we had no reason to worry as she was fantastic and even dropped us at the port for the very early ferry crossing.
Fantastic value for money - will definately stay here again.
Hill wasnt the best but after a few times you get used to it.
Thank you to everyone at Sofia Village for making our holiday so special.

Room Tip: Ask George for Pizza Shots - weird but so good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJH1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We were more than happy with this place.
We were picked up from the Airport 5-10mins drive away.
The room we had showed amazing views of Mykonos harbour (Room 15). We had our own littl;e private verandah also. The staff were very obliging and happy to help with anything and it felt very relaxed and layed back there.
The walk into town is about 10mins down a steep slope. and a little longer to walk back up the hill, but well worth the views and everywhere you go in Mykonos will be on a hill so dont let it scare you away from staying here.
The bathroom was very clean and had a great shower. The bed was comfortable.
If we return to Mykonos I will book this same place again.

Room Tip: room 15 for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracestar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I just spent 5 days at Sofia's and we had an amazing time. The staff picked us up at the port, which was very nice. Everything is family run, the mom and her sons. They are extremely friendly. The pools is absolutely beautiful and that was our favorite place to stay. They played some nice lounge music that wasn't too loud. It was pretty full of young people during the weekend, but on Monday they mostly cleared out. I can't imagine getting a better hotel for the very reasonable price we paid. It is about 200 m from the beginning of town where all the restaurants are. We had a scooter half the time, and the rest we just walked. The rooms were very quaint but big, and well taken care of. My wife and I were very satisified and will definitely stay here next time we stay. The only thing that was so so is the internet in the rooms wasn't very fast, but I think that depends on where your room is located.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Mykonos is one of the most expensive islands in the Cyclades, and this hotel is a great value! The pool is wonderful, the rooms are fine, and there is free internet! Also, both of our rooms had little patios that were fantastic. The bathroom is bare bones, but there is a mini kitchen which makes up for it. The major downside is the huge hill that you have to climb to get back to the hotel from Mykonos Town. The road is small leading up to it and we didn't see many cabs heading that direction. During the middle of a hot day, my twenty-one year old sister and I (both healthy and in good shape) were dying on the way up. But we managed and it is a lot quieter up on the hill than in town! Overall, good value hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katelynlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This little hotel was sooo great to stay in. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Sofia picked us up from the port and took us to the port as well when we had to leave free of charge. The rooms were clean and roomy. The pool was a quiet, beautiful place to relax and George the bartender was fabulous! He was very friendly and hospitable!! Which I found was quite different from a lot of other places and people we stumbled upon during our travels in Greece. It was a great little place to be for the price. Nice 10 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of LIttle Venice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at Sofia Village for 3 days in September 2011.

Let me start off by saying that the things written about Sofia in previous reviews, in my opinion are untrue. Sofia is a passionate Greek Lady, and as we found most Greeks do, she speaks loud. This does not mean that they she is angry. She was very kind, curteous and helpful while we stayed there.

We were picked up from the port by her son Panos, who gave us a quick tour on the way back to Sofia Village of the local landmarks, where shops etc were. He also pointed out landmarks to look out for if you got lost, like the red dome of the bus station. On arival we were show around and then to our rooms. We were told by Panos that anything that we needed we could ask George at the bar for.

The room we had was a studio and slept 4. It had a kitchette, bathroom, tv, air con and plenty of storage space. We didn't take up the breakfast option so I cant comment on that

George at the bar was very helpful, from coffees,cocktails to ordering take out. Nothing was a problem. Ask for one of his special cocktails!! They are to die for.

Sophia - Great hostess, friendly.
Panos as above
George - Amazing!! best barman/organiser . Nothing was ever a problem.

Remember : Treat people the waay you wish to be treated and yopu will be amazed at the response!!!

Thanks all

Heather, jenne and Rochelle

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 156hlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Milena Hotel
Milena Hotel
#23 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vienoula's Garden
Vienoula's Garden
#10 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gorgona
Hotel Gorgona
#37 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sourmeli Garden
Hotel Sourmeli Garden
#56 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jason
Hotel Jason
#38 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Village

Property: Sofia Village
Address: Outskirts of Mykonos Town (400m. From the Town) | School Of Fine Arts area, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofia Village 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofia Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Village Mykonos Town
Sofia Village Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing