We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I'm going to Mykonos I'm going to Sofia's”
Review of Sofia Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofia Village
Ranked #54 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Location: Excellent! Not in the center of the 'town' (which I find to be very noisy), but in walking distance (15min or so). If you rent a bike you won't even have to walk at all. Plus it has a lovely view (if you are into that kind of staff).

Service: Excellent! Sofia is very pleasant and George the barman is OUTSTANDING!!!!

Value for money: More than just reasonable (by Mykonos standards).

Cleanliness: Unless you are REALLY REALLY fussy about cleanliness you will have absolutely no problem!

Rooms: Some rooms are a bit old and need some minor renovation. But overall no problem really. Some of the rooms have actually been renovated... I think :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carpe_Diem_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 290 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

Really nice hotel. Perfect location, not too far up the hill, super close to town.
Lovely rooms, some with an amazing view!
Pool with bar, great for relaxing all day listening to chilled music.
George behind the bar is a great guy, really friendly and willing to help out with whatever you need. Makes great cocktails too.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClmcLaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We paid 70 euros a night for what seemed to be the best room in the Sofia village. Our balcony was huge and had great sunset views, the room was also quite big. The hotel's pool was clean and had a nice bar with friendly staff. To get into town was a shortish walk down hill; the way back (uphill) would be difficult for people with poor fitness though. Overall I thought this place was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for the big balcony with sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Sofia Village is just 400 meters above the Mykonos Town -Chora- and if you rent a Scooter this is the best budget hotel you can stay in Mykonos.
The staff is friendly, reservation, transfer from airport and Scooter rental is very easy - cause they help so much-.
The rooms have sunset view and they are also very clean.
It is also very close to the highway that connects you to all the beaches.

Room Tip: I use booking.com to find the best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonym36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Now before I start this review I must point one thing out, the only reason this place got 2 out of 5 is because of the magnificent George that works behind the bar. He is a warm, friendly and generous person, probably the nicest person we met in our travels to Greece, If he owned Sofias Village im sure all reviews would be 5/5. George I know you will read this.... you should take over Sofias... It needs a person like you.

The actual owner of the village Sofia, Im afraid to say is a Dragon Lady. My partner and I would smile at her when she walked past, say hello etc etc and she would flatly ignore us... Now we were OK with this and laughed it off at the start but at the end of the day it was plain rude. To make matters worse on two separate occasions she yelled at us for no reason whatsoever. One time because we were 5 minutes early (Not late!!) to get a lift back to the ferries and secondly when I asked if the ferries were running on schedule. I also witnessed several times her talking to others guests as if they were dirt. I dont know where she gets of but she basically wrecked our time in Mykonos which was a shame.

We spoke with other guests who had experienced her terrible attitude and they said they would never return to Sofias Village.

The hotel itself has a great pool and bar of which George runs, no frills rooms with Air con and views of Mykonos Town. Its a steep walk back up to the hotel from town which can be a pain if you want to head to town more than once a day. We stayed for 100 Euro per night in the peak period of August which I thought was reasonable however there were other guests that paid a lot more for the same room type. Trick was to get off the ferry and Sofias son will be standing at the port asking if you want accomm. Negotiate to 100 EUR or less if you must stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jdogg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This fmaily run hotel provide free transport form/to airport and port. Big plus for me. The WiFi is free and breakfast are 5EUR extra. The pool is superb and the view from the hotel terrific. The only con is the location. It is around 10 minute walk to town and 20 minute back. The hill is killer :-) You will love the guy behind the bar.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tatranka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Sofia Village in September 2010 for 3 nights. We were picked up from the airport and check in was simple and painless. The room we were given was a double with small kitchen and a clean, modern bathroom. The room was clean and comfortable and the pool area was great with plenty of sunbeds and a view down to the sea. This is a great value hotel (we paid €30 per night) and for that price we'd certainly recommend staying here. The only draw backs were that the staff weren't quite a friendly as elsewhere on the Greek Islands and it is a 15 minute walk down a steep hill into town, as long as you're relatively fit that shouldn't be a problem!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mykonos Town
0.3 mi away
Galini Hotel
Galini Hotel
#66 of 82 in Mykonos Town
81 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lithos by Spyros & Flora
Lithos by Spyros & Flora
#1 of 13 in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#24 of 82 in Mykonos Town
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Madoupa Boutique Hotel
Madoupa Boutique Hotel
#70 of 82 in Mykonos Town
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milena Hotel
Milena Hotel
#19 of 82 in Mykonos Town
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vienoula's Garden
Vienoula's Garden
#10 of 82 in Mykonos Town
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Village

Address: Outskirts of Mykonos Town (400m. From the Town) | School Of Fine Arts area, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range: $132 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofia Village 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofia Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Village Mykonos Town
Sofia Village Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing