We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Beautiful Restaurant, Sketchy Service”
Review of Matsuhisa Mykonos

Matsuhisa Mykonos
Ranked #116 of 217 Restaurants in Mykonos Town
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Restaurant, Sketchy Service”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

My best friend and I were staying at the Belvedere hotel in which Matsuhisa is situated for last years annual trip to Mykonos!

The night of our arrival we checked in, changed and went straight for dinner in the restaurant.

May I start by saying it is absolutely stunning. Set around the hotels small pool with trees and pergolas drenched in tea lights and candles it really is a dream!

We had a excellent meal, trying almost everything and washing it down with a bottle of champagne!

We booked at the table for the next night as our experience had been so great.

On the second evening we arrived only to be sat down a kind of alley with four tables occupied by honeymooning couple which made our idea of Friday night cocktails a little awkward.

We asked when something else became available to be moved as the table really was bargain basement. We were assured we would be able to move before out main course.

Main course arrived, still nothing, by the time the deserts were served we had asked maybe 5 times to no avail so gave up.

Although fantastic, the food is really only half of the experience here and being hidden in a covered room with no view of the surroundings, sky or view really does make the restaurant unremarkable.

We didn't complain or kick up a fuss, these things happen, but Matsuhisa should probably consider losing these four tables and giving every paying customer the same experience.

Our third meal there on the last night of the Mykonos leg of our trip was truly wonderful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sammie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMentzelidis, Manager at Matsuhisa Mykonos, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding Matsuhisa Mykonos. Even though you enjoyed most part of it, we were disappointed to read about the negative experience you had and would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    33
    29
    20
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“What an expensive, pretentious place”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went to Matsuhisa in Mykonos last week during our one week holiday in Mykonos and we definitely left not happy.
During our traveling we went to different Nobu around the wold ( Dubai, New York, London, Miami) and we loved it every time.
Of course you know that when you decide to go for dinner to one of those it is not going to be a cheap dinner, actually you are prepared to spend quite a lot of money. But we were not prepared for so much more money and so no good quality.
This place is outrageously expensive, the staff in so unpleasant and pretentious, the wine is so over price that I would definitely never go back.

The setting I have to admit is beautiful, the restaurant is inside the hotel Belvedere, a five star hotel just a few minutes walk from Mykonos Town. The lighting, garden and atmosphere are lovely but the family spirit that Matsuhisa restaurnts should have, it is completely missing.
Yes because Matsuhisa restaurants are suppose to be the more brasserie, family ones while Nobu restaurants are suppose to be more trendy. Well definitely not this one.

The food was good without been excellent for the price. But good. The new tacos sashimi are definitely a great, very tasty idea, especially the chicken one. The classic black cod in Miso was ok but not at the same level as the Nobu one. Overall good but not worth all the money we spent.

Just a tip.... be prepared to pay 18/20€ for a shot of Ouzo ( hello!!!! the bottle is a couple of euros) and 20/25€ for cocktails! CRAZY

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishItalian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvonglis, General Manager at Matsuhisa Mykonos, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank your for visiting our establishment and regret we did not meet with your approval. In case you will be in our area again - ask for the GM and I will do my best to make you feel much more comfortable than all the other Matsuhisa restaurant you have visited around the world. Thank you for appreciating the location of the hotel and next time you are going to be in Greece do not miss in Athens our Matsuhisa restaurant- within the Astir complex of Vouliagmeni- under the supervision of Starwood hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great restaurant, beautiful view, perfect food (they made their sugestion and it was great), and all the staff was very professional and fun, with all the greetings when people arrive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvonglis, General Manager at Matsuhisa Mykonos, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for honoring us with your visit. Hope to have you back soon in our premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordighera, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere !”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is worth for the great location, but the food has nothing to do with other nobu like in Milan or New York !
For that price I expect a good service and not one like I had, they should invest more money on it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elisa_1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvonglis, General Manager at Matsuhisa Mykonos, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments which will be taken under consideration for making results better for future clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiathos, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional experience”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Everything was perfect. Food, service, atmosphere. Excellent. The staff friendly, polite and helpful especially when explaining the choices we had, as far as food was concerned. Whatever we asked for, arrived fast and always with a smile!! Everything we tasted was a exceptional, nicely presented.Loved it!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thanasis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvonglis, General Manager at Matsuhisa Mykonos, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
A great pleasure and honor having received your positive comments. Till the next, remain at your disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuhisa Mykonos also viewed

Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Matsuhisa Mykonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing