We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding family run hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sourmeli Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sourmeli Garden
Ranked #49 of 80 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Outstanding family run hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is our second visit to this small family run hotel. They advertise the hotel as a budget hotel. It is a low cost - high value hotel. Spotlessly clean with daily room service to a high standard, lovely quite setting, within walking distance of the town of Mykonos - just perfect.

What make this hotel special is the very special family that own the hotel. Amy, her husband Giannis, and their children Maria and Dimitris. From the time you are collected at the airport you feel one of the family. You are never a room number, they become firm friends. As returning guests we felt this time we know them personally, exchanging recipes, and eating with the family made our stay very special.

We plan to return to Mykonos and would stay no were else but here.

Stuart & Ron.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    42
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
72
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two weeks. It was immaculate
We arrived early due to a flight change. Amy made us a cup of tea and made us very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and the whole family were lovely. Would recommend eating here amy is a great cook. Quiet location give you maps and very informative about the island. Would recommend

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chimpmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffel Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Amy & Giannis are wonderful people, we stayed a fortnight on the upper floor with a good terrace, this is THE friendliest hotel ever ! The pick up at the airport was super, five minutes later we arrived at the hotel, we had breakfast outside ( shade or sunshine you can choose), the location was a 8 minutes walk to Chora (Mykonos town), if you wish there is a busstop 20 meters further down the road which brings you to Agios Gialos or Paradise beach, we enjoyed every minute of our stay, and the price was wonderful too, hurry to book because everyone returns to Sourmeli if your going to Mykonos

Room Tip: the upper floor has a better sight from the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon trip to Greece and Italy. We chose Mykonos because we wanted to visit Delos. And we chose the Hotel Sourmeli Garden based on others TA's reviews. We were so pleased!

Iannis and Amy are wonderful hosts. Iannis picked us up at the airport. They offer breakfast and/or lunch at their property. Iannis prepared a wonderful plate of olives and bread with tomato and oregano to show us a sample of a Greek breakfast. As one of the TA's reviewers stated, Iannis just recently lost his father and sister due to illness. This has not impeded his ability to serve and make "you feel good". Both Iannis and Amy are the signature of hospitality. Upon our departure, we walked to Mykonos town, and Iannis brought our luggage to the port, where we took a boat to another island.

Our room was spacious, simple, clean, with multiple towels, a refrigerator and a TV. It is at walking distance from Mykonos town, but we recommend that if you walk, do so during the day, since there are no sidewalks in Mykonos.

This is a great value hotel. We highly recommend it. If or when we return to Mykonos, we will stay at the Sourmeli again! Iannis and Amy, we wish you the very best, and God bless you and all your family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOLAS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I chose this hotel based on past TA reviews & loved it! It's a family-run property - Amy & Giannis were more than hospitable during our stay. The location is great: a 5-10 minute walk to Mykonos town and a short bus ride from Platys Gialos (there is a bus stop 20m from the hotel). The rooms were quaint and had a TV, as well as a seating area in front of each unit. Mykonos is also great!! Would definitely return again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iva_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
566 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Despite having just lost his sister and his father (to death) this past month, Yanni and/or his wife, Amy, communicated that our ferry tickets for onward journeys had been received and that he would be at airport 'singing' "Sourmeli Garden". We laughed after realizing he meant 'signing, Sourmeli Garden' :-). The room was one w/o breakfast but was a good value (ESPECIALLY for a small family group. There were 3 extra beds in the entry room nearest the door). The bathroom was large and if desired, had a tub. We were told about the store (thankfully, open 'Easter' Sunday just when we happened by for beers!) and the bus stop which we were able to use to/from Paradise Beach the next day. Stroll back and forth to town was made worthwhile by the feeling of 'privacy' (we did not care for Mykonos crowds in town) once you were there. Yanni took us and another couple to the ferry. Something we wish we had realized is that the ferry port for Piraeus is almost again as far from the FIRST ferry port we'd walked to on Sunday from Sourmeli. Get all your doings in town 'done' before taking Yanni up on his $5 (per couple) transfer fee to the port...or pick up cheap 'eats' near Sourmeli before going. There's only a small 'cafe' w/ paninis, icecream, beer, softdrinks at this (large) ferry port.
I was never able to get Internet to work. I could pick up signal but even after getting password right, couldn't 'connect'.

Room Tip: those to the left of the parking lot, ground floor; think there were 2 or 3 just off the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Upon reaching Mykonos we couldn't figure out how to get to the hotel, Yiannis came and picked us up from the port immediately. We were traveling in a group of 5 people - one room with 3 people and the other with 2 people - Yiannis upgraded the room with 3 people to a very large room with its own courtyard for no extra cost. Also very helpful with recommendations and directions on how to get to beaches. The hotel itself is a 5-10 minute walk from Mykonos town and a minute's walk from the bus stop to all beaches, so it's perfectly located. The owners also have a two really cute puppies and a couple of dogs which is an added plus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Varoon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Charissi Hotel
Charissi Hotel
#31 of 80 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milena Hotel
Milena Hotel
#21 of 80 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nazos Hotel
Nazos Hotel
#35 of 80 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jason
Hotel Jason
#37 of 80 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibiscus Boutique Hotel
Ibiscus Boutique Hotel
#46 of 80 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madalena Hotel
Madalena Hotel
#45 of 80 in Mykonos Town
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sourmeli Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sourmeli Garden

Property: Hotel Sourmeli Garden
Address: Vrissi, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Mykonos Town
#27 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sourmeli Garden 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sourmeli Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sourmeli Garden Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing