We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over and beyond - Hosting done right”
Review of Charissi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Charissi Hotel
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over and beyond - Hosting done right”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have travelled a great deal in my days. From backpacking to uber hotels with hotel staff straight out of GQ wearing matching shirts and boat shoes. Hotel Charissi was one of the most lovely experiences i have had in a hotel period. This comes down to the warmth of the family running the place. The daughter, Dimitra, with perfect english was sooo helpful from helping book flights, ferries, diving, scooter etc etc. While her parents dont speak english so well, they arrest you with their charm from when they pick you up at the airport to serving you homemade yoghurt with breakfast to seeing you off at the airport with a warm goodbye. They invite you into their hotel with the beautiful views but you feel you get a whole lot more for not much cost. I did and it really rounded my experience on beautiful Mykanos.

Room Tip: I like the upper floor as there are wonderful views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    50
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
75
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Charissi on the first night of our holiday before visiting a couple of other islands and we returned for our last night.

The hotel is in a decent spot, being within walkin distance of Mykonos town and it was immaculately kept. But what set this hotel apart for me was the hosts. They are a warm and friendly family and nothing was too much trouble. We had a good sized room with plenty of space for 2 adults and our 2 young children.

Overall it had everything we needed for a good price. I'll definitely stay there again if we return to Mykonos.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

There was a little confusion regarding being collected at the port as we had corresponded by email confirming that they would be waiting with a sign to collect us. However, after a wait we decided to ring (luckily having the information required to hand) and Stephanos came to collect us.

We made a small error by communicating our pleasantries to him in greek (the only greek we know) and he continued to have a very one sided conversation with us in greek as we made it all the way to the hotel. Once there it was immediate to see that the Charissi family were so friendly and caring wanting to make our stay as great as possible.

Dimitra explained various things with a map (her english is very good) and helped to inform us of what we would do whilst we stayed there. I am happy to say that even though Mykonos was in the middle of party-fever with various countries' students around wanting to beer-it-up Charissi remained calm and we were unaware of things happening around us.

Breakfast was lovely with great views which were also shared by the well proportioned bedrooms.

The rabbits in the driveway were interesting, not overly sure how they fitted into Mykonos life but they seemed pretty happy.

Just across the road from the hotel was a mini-market and a bus stop. Being young(ish) and full of energy(ish) we decided to walk most places - as it wasn't too hot at the time of year we went (beginning of June). We quickly fell in love with Ornos Beach (20 minute walk) and in the other direction you'll find the windmills, Little Venice and some over-priced bars (20 minute walk).

The hotel was perfectly located for us, the hosts were always smiling and the place was clean.
I would really recommend it if you want your stay in Mykonos (in early June) to be quiet and convenient for most attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in August. The room was fantastic. The breakfast was huge. As part of the service the hotel picked us up and dropped us off at the boat. The staff are really lovely and very helpful. It is located about a 15 minute walk from the old town. Be warned the road is extremely busy and there are no footpaths but traffic is aware that pedestrians do walk here. The bus stop to the beach is really near the hotel.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just spent a week in Hotel Charissi. It is fairly basic but the hosts are wonderful and ensured we had a great stay. The beds are comfortable and although the rooms are spartan you really wont be spending much time in them as Mykonos is so wonderful. They are very clean, have a small fridge, a safe, small bathroom, and most importantly they have good air conditioning. Didnt have any mosquitoes. We had a seaview room and loved looking out in the morning at the cruise ships. We found the breakfast perfectly adequate. Its within walking distance of town which meant never having to wait for taxis and that was great as there were often long queues at night. I did not find the hill back a problem. The bus stops outside and its 1euro.60 to Platis Gialos which is a lovely beach but you can also get a boat from there to other beaches such as Elia. This cost 7 euro return. It was nice to sample other beaches but Platis Gialos turned out to be our favourite. Its the owners that make this hotel so special. They have a natural warmth and friendliness that is not found in too many places today. Dimitra speaks fluent English and was very helpful. We were collected and brought back to airport, another nice touch. Loved our stay and will be back.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I can't say enough about this great hotel. The best of it all is the family that runs it. They are extremely gracious, friendly and helpful. I felt as though I was staying with friends/family rather than just a hotel. The location is conveniently very close to Mykonos Town, about a 10 minute walk, or a cheap taxi ride. The bus also stops close by. The hotel is very clean and nice. Our room was spacious and well maintained with air conditioning, cable tv, a clean bathroom, fridge, free high speed wifi and a great deck area that has a nice view of the ocean and town. They also offer a delicious breakfast with great jams, breads, coffee, hard boiled eggs, etc (see image). We only stayed 3 days, which sadly was not nearly enough. There's so much to do in Mykonos, you will not be bored! I visited Mykonos Town, Delos, many beaches, and many great restaurants and feel like I barely touched the surface of what Mykonos has to offer. I can't wait to go back, and I'll definitely be staying at Charissi hotel.

Room Tip: Don't miss their delicious breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a lovely hotel run by a lovely family. Our room was spacious and cool with a great view over the sea. The breakfasts were excellent and we were able to have tea and coffee whenever we liked, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is handy to the bus and to the town, and I loved my stay on Mykonos, largely due to this family hotel, thank you all very much. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Milena Hotel
Milena Hotel
#23 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vienoula's Garden
Vienoula's Garden
#10 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sourmeli Garden
Hotel Sourmeli Garden
#56 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gorgona
Hotel Gorgona
#37 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jason
Hotel Jason
#38 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charissi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charissi Hotel

Property: Charissi Hotel
Address: Vrissi, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charissi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charissi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charissi Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing