We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“My favorite hotel in Mykonos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Hotel to your Saves list
Pelican Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 645, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
138 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in Mykonos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed at the quaint, serene, hotel for the past 15 years and I've seen it go through renovations. I absolutely love this little hotel. The balconies have one of the most refreshing, relaxing views in the world. Perched over a little hill overlooking Mykonos town, all the way to the port, it takes its fair share of breeze and sometimes wind. The sunset nap there is so relaxing, with white drapes caressing you as you fall asleep. Mornings are beautiful too, with the distant sounds of the arriving and departing ships.

I've been there with my partner, and with friends, always a good experience.

Friendly staff, nice breakfast, clean rooms. Love, love, love Pelican.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazenKh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    75
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
136
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stay in this hotel the last two years and for sure i would go again back. The staff is...AMAZING! They are so friendly. All the rooms are nice but the rooms on the 1st floor have super view all the town. Every room has a big balcony. The bathroom and the room are big enough.
The only disadvantage is the breakfast. Not big variaty. The hotel has free wi-fi.
It is next to Elysium hotel and you can use the swimming pool there!

Room Tip: You need to book your room in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pietro_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arranged for a roundtrip port pick-up - glad we did bcos the hotel is uphill. at least we won't bring up our luggage just in case we didn't decide to take a taxi.

The reception looked just exactly as the photos online. The lounge area looked great and there was a sitting area outside it so you can have breakfast outside. we were given a map that was very helpful. they had a list of activities and other information about Mekong that is quite helpful for those who didn't really have a set itinerary

rooms - originally we thought we'd get the 2nd floor rooms with a private balcony, but we had 1st floor rooms with a private balcony but there was a walkway. this was good since ours was a corner room which was near where the wifi signal was so we could still get wifi access. the room was big and clean. great view. sometimes we can hear footsteps upstairs so not sure if we wanted our room to be in the 1st or 2nd.

bathroom - exhaust wasn't that great, the bathroom was quite big. water pressure and water heater worked well.

breakfast - great food, not a lot but basic for a breakfast. we had some yogurt with fruit as in some hotels this wasn't available. we had either hot coffee/hot chocolate as options, some just didn't offer hot chocolate, just tea/coffee or juice.

staff - very very friendly and accommodating

location - uphill, going down was not a problem, but when we returned it was quite a trek. i won't recommend staying here if you are unfit or senior citizen, other than that, the location shouldn't be a problem, near mykonos town so i'd say i like the location of the hotel, near port also, around 10-15 mins from port.

we had a glitch in our flight, we were supposed to stay 2 nights, but ended up only staying for a night. they were very nice in not charging us the extra night probably bcos there were already closing since it'll be winter. we were even given a late checkout also. wish we had more time in mykonos. if ever we will be back, we'll definitely stay here again. we highly recommend this lovely hotel. we had a great time here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovedollygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

very good hotel. family managed, it's quiet (really remarkable on Mykonos), with extremely clean and recently refurbished rooms, decent restaurant. the pool is mainly decorative, as it's really small, but it does the trick. The real plus is the view and the nearby beach, although the rough sea and wind usually do not allow you to enjoy it so much. Service is good and breakfast is excellent. the spa is basically non existent, but, hey, who cares on an island?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simone g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Lovely room with amazing balcony overlooking the bay of mykonos. Toilet looked brand new and everything so beatifully decorated.
Service was good, location was quiet and it is recommended to rent a car not to go all the way up every time.

Room Tip: try to get a room with balcony overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent a few night at the Pelican Hotel during our recent visit after reading the reviews. Everything about the hotel and our stay was as expected, especially the warm welcome and help provided by Sofie at the front desk. She was very sweet and willing to make our stay even better. Try to stay in one of the rooms with a balcony...its a nice convenience to have on a day you don't feel like going out (no pool at the hotel).

The only negative I would say about the hotel is the location - distance is very close to town center but there is a pretty steep hill to get there on the way back from town. Either stay low on the heels or be prepared to make a slow climb...either way though we would recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at the Pelican Hotel with five friends in September and can honestly not recommend it enough. Before the trip, I was adamant that I had to stay somewhere with a pool but friends who'd been to the Pelican before were adamant that if you really wanted a swim, you could easily use any of the pools in other hotels around town. I'm very glad I went with their advice. For what is an insanely cheap price compared to the more expensive hotels in town, the Pelican is just wonderful. Luxurious, four-star-style rooms, amazing views, great breakfast and honestly the friendliest, loveliest staff you could ever hope to meet. We were all thoroughly looked after all week and were even kissed and hugged goodbye by all the staff before we left. Apart from that, they leave you alone to enjoy your holiday, the rooms are always clean and they honestly can't do enough for you.

As many have highlighted on here, the Pelican IS at the top of a steep hill out of town. But, it's not THAT steep (some people would have you believe you need crampons to get up it). You can still be in town in ten minutes and honestly, I felt a lot less guilty about the huge meals we ate in town after we were able to burn off a few calories getting back to the hotel. Do not let it put you off - the Pelican is really special.

Room Tip: If you can afford an extra few euros per night, go for one of the rooms on the Top Tier with their o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanClegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mykonos Town
1.8 mi away
Pelican Bay Art Hotel
Pelican Bay Art Hotel
#7 of 24 in Platys Gialos
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vienoula's Garden
Vienoula's Garden
#8 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nazos Hotel
Nazos Hotel
#41 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Charissi Hotel
Charissi Hotel
#33 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Gorgona
Hotel Gorgona
#36 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Milena Hotel
Milena Hotel
#20 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: PO Box 645, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Mykonos Town
#7 Best Value Hotel in Mykonos Town
#16 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Mykonos Town
Pelican Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing