We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and very clean!”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice and very clean!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent a few night at the Pelican Hotel during our recent visit after reading the reviews. Everything about the hotel and our stay was as expected, especially the warm welcome and help provided by Sofie at the front desk. She was very sweet and willing to make our stay even better. Try to stay in one of the rooms with a balcony...its a nice convenience to have on a day you don't feel like going out (no pool at the hotel).

The only negative I would say about the hotel is the location - distance is very close to town center but there is a pretty steep hill to get there on the way back from town. Either stay low on the heels or be prepared to make a slow climb...either way though we would recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    87
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
163
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at the Pelican Hotel with five friends in September and can honestly not recommend it enough. Before the trip, I was adamant that I had to stay somewhere with a pool but friends who'd been to the Pelican before were adamant that if you really wanted a swim, you could easily use any of the pools in other hotels around town. I'm very glad I went with their advice. For what is an insanely cheap price compared to the more expensive hotels in town, the Pelican is just wonderful. Luxurious, four-star-style rooms, amazing views, great breakfast and honestly the friendliest, loveliest staff you could ever hope to meet. We were all thoroughly looked after all week and were even kissed and hugged goodbye by all the staff before we left. Apart from that, they leave you alone to enjoy your holiday, the rooms are always clean and they honestly can't do enough for you.

As many have highlighted on here, the Pelican IS at the top of a steep hill out of town. But, it's not THAT steep (some people would have you believe you need crampons to get up it). You can still be in town in ten minutes and honestly, I felt a lot less guilty about the huge meals we ate in town after we were able to burn off a few calories getting back to the hotel. Do not let it put you off - the Pelican is really special.

Room Tip: If you can afford an extra few euros per night, go for one of the rooms on the Top Tier with their o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanClegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

What with it being a two star, we expected something fairly average, but it turned out to be far closer to a three or even four star hotel, but at two star prices! Big, cool room, firm, comfortable beds, big bathroom with powerful shower, airy reception/breakfast room/lounge with nice breakfast served right from 8.00am up until 11.00am - a very sensible hour! Great croissants, nice fried eggs, good juice, cake, cold meats, cheese, hard boiled eggs, the whole shebang! Best of all was the terrace that all the chalet like rooms gave out onto: a sweeping vista of Mykonos where everyone would congregate in the evenings for drinks and the dramatic sunsets. The staff were absolutely lovely, so warm, friendly and attentive, and they delighted in bringing us a free bottle of wine one evening because they found out it was my partner's birthday - a nice surprise for both of us! Defiunately one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George_Sawer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Hotel is in a location close to the main town centre of Mykonos and is just a short 10 minute walk to the wind mills, little venice and the old harbour. The Hotel is up on the hill so it is a physical walk up the hill but you get the nice views as a reward. Rooms are simple design but nice size and clean. Room 35 gave us a great view. We could even open the windows and allow the beautiful sea breeze into the room, very refreshing. Breakfast was adequate with some hot dishes and seating in a nice open area with good views. The recommendations from Sophia really made our short stay excellent. Taxis can be hard to get in the peak summer time and make sure you ask them to use the meter. We had dinner at a restaurant called Matthew, which was also excellent on meal size and flavour with a moderate price. They even arranged transport to and from the restaurant. My girlfriend and I Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just got back from my Mykonos holiday, I've been in this hotel sever times: with my wife, with my friends and always is the right place to begin the Mykonian adventure.
The staff are really kind and professional and the structure of the hotel is well positioned, just outside the noise of the centre town but in the direction to the best beaches.
I'll come back for sure next year, can't wait !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FaccioDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Loved this place! SUCH friendly and helpful staff, nothing was too hard for them. Breakfast buffet is big, tasty and served to 11 which is perfect after a significantly sized Mykonos night. Rooms are modern,luxurious and spacious and the view is just stunning. Lack of a pool is unfortunate as is the trek up the hill each night but it's definitely still worth the very affordable price! Highly recommend these wonderful hosts!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DangerMouse2482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast, australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was our second time at the Pelican, and we were greeted like old friends. We felt very special the whole week. The rooms are simple, good size and very clean. Our room had a great balcony that overlooked Mykonos Town. The breakfast is very good too. Nothing is a problem for Chryssoula or Sophia. Only two minor downsides- no pool, (but the Elysium is accross the road) and you have to climb the hill to get home (but you can't get the views without some height) A wonderful experience and we look forward to coming back again next year, if not later this year!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mykonos Town
0.0 mi away
Nazos Hotel
Nazos Hotel
#36 of 82 in Mykonos Town
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibiscus Boutique Hotel
Ibiscus Boutique Hotel
#40 of 82 in Mykonos Town
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ilio Maris Hotel
Ilio Maris Hotel
#27 of 82 in Mykonos Town
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pelican Bay Art Hotel
Pelican Bay Art Hotel
#7 of 26 in Platys Gialos
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carbonaki
Hotel Carbonaki
#34 of 82 in Mykonos Town
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#15 of 82 in Mykonos Town
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: PO Box 645, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Mykonos Town
#9 Spa Hotel in Mykonos Town
#16 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Mykonos Town
Pelican Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing