We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS hotel!!!”
Review of Mykonos Theoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mykonos Theoxenia
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The service, food, hotel rooms, amenities, pool, and location of this hotel are perfect for your stay in Mykonos! It is a gorgeous hotel, very safe, with its own gate out front. Theoxenia has its own beautiful bar, great for meeting everyone before going out for the night. All the staff (especially Georgios!) are fantastic! The hotel is on the water, so you can go jump in the Aegean sea, but the pool is such a beautiful spot to lay in the sun. You will love this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missyrsvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Dear guest,

A big thank you for this lovely review about the Mykonos Theoxenia!

We are delighted to read that all our sevices were up to your expectations and that you loved the pool, the food selection and the perfect location close to the town.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 463 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed here for a week and wished we could have stayed a lot longer. It is located right next to the town (but far enough away to avoid the noise). Believe me, being close to town is a major advantage on an island with so few taxis! It is only 5 minutes walk from the main restaurant and bar area. The views are unforgettable, particularly at sunset and the pool is gorgeous with plenty of space around it for sun loungers. It also has a significant advantage that it is right on top of a hill so it gets the benefit of the cooling sea breeze which makes Mykonos such a good place to stay in August.
The staff are exceptionally warm, friendly and helpful and, as other reviewers have noted, the breakfasts are excellent.
From the outside, the hotel is far from being an architectural gem, and the bedrooms are quite plain (but kept spotlessly clean) but these are mere quibbles and they are more than outweighed by the hotel's many advantages. The grounds are quite extensive and well maintained and the hotel is a haven of peace amid the chaos and clamour of Mykonos. Except at breakfast, we were not keen on the restaurant food but there are oodles of good places to eat in the town. It was wonderful to sit on the terrace of the hotel bar watching the sun set before setting off for dinner in the town.
The only comparable property we saw was the Belverdere Hotel which is a lot glitzier but it is right next to a very busy road and the pool is not only a lot smaller but the pool area becomes a restaurant in the evening ( the Japanese retaurant is part of the Nobu group and is well worth a visit). We would far prefer to stay in the Theoxenia.
It would be so nice to go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irishguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Mykonos Theoxenia, managed by Louis Hotels.

It is a pleasure to read that you really enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that the location was perfect for you, close to the town but quiet enough to relax.

We are glad that the attention of our friendly staff made you feel at ease, and that you were satisfied with our services and facilities.

Should you wish to visit Mykonos in the future, we will be more than pleased to welcome you in our hotel. As an extra incentive, we would like to inform you that we are upgrading our breakfast even more next year, and above all, the restaurant menu.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Orange curtains and rugs are not really 2011 as is the irritating lack of wireless internet access in the rooms. Excellent loation near to but far from the madding crowd. Food was good but as with much of the Island never great. Superb pool.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richb0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear guest,

We are pleased to read that you found the services of the Mykonos Theoxenia very good, as well as the location, the pool and the relaxing atmosphere of our hotel.

You are right that we have no wireless in the rooms, however we remind you that we do have wired high speed LAN.

Thank you for your comment and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Just came back from the Theonexia. This is our second year back at Mykonos and our second year at the hotel. This year was a very different experience from last year. The hotel seems to be getting really tired and worn and dropped in both quality and servce . The hotel staff whilst very pleasant and nice just don't seem to have that 5 star feel and are sloppy in places. There was 1 intern (Elaine I think) who was great - so bubbly and personable. The others were as said before were nice, just not overly attentive. Don't get me wrong - when you called for them or asked for something they were nice, they just didn't seem to be overly proactive.

The best thing about this property is its location and the swimming pool. It is right next to the old town which makes it easy to get home after a night out. The reality is though that there are so many GREAT hotels now popping up on Mykonos that the Theonexia really needs an overhaul. Or better yet.... be sold to a bigger chain who can truly run it like a 5 star property. Quite a bit of money needs to be spent to bring it up to 5 star standard though. It is tired and needs more than just a coat of paint, it needs a complete overhaul.... or drop the 5 star spiel, rate is 3.5 - 4 stars and charge accordingly. Keeping it at £285 per night is just not right. We would rate the property as a 3.5 / 4 star property. It is DEFINITELY not 5 star. There isn't even WiFi or internet connection in the guest rooms, just the public areas.

When we go back next year we will more than likely stay at somewhere like The Belvedere or one of the newer more spectacular properties like Semeli, Cavo Tagoo or Rochari. Friends who stayed in these properties this week rated them as exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneysidersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear guest,

First of all we are delighted to see that you have honored your promise by visiting the Mykonos Theoxenia again this year.
We are pleased to see that again, your overall stay was enjoyable and that you particularly enjoyed the location and the amazing swimming pool.

You said that your experience this year was different from last year, and we can only agree that each experience is unique; thus it can slightly differ from one time to another, in part because your expectations evolve with the time.

We are a little disappointed to read that you wouldn’t rate our hotel as a 5 star and that our high standards of services were not exceptional during your stay. This feeling is accentuated by the fact that in your first review about us last year, we were “by far one of the best hotels” you “have ever stayed at”.
We are doing our best to deliver services from a high standard and this is a permanent challenge because we are working in a very demanding and competitive industry.

We believe that rating us down to a 3.5 star is slightly unfair, especially when we consider all the positive feedback left on Tripadvisor and the great scores we receive for our services and facilities.
Last but not least, you previously said that our staff members “remember you, your room number and all the small details”; if a bigger chain takes it over as you suggest it, our hotel will lose its charm and all the personal touches toward our guests.

There are a lot of places and hotels to visit in the Mykonos, in Greek islands, in Europe and all over the world, and by all means you should do that. We acknowledge the fact that certain hotels in Mykonos are very modern but our hotel has a special charm because of its old architecture. You should be aware that our hotel is protected by the Greek Government and we cannot make infrastructural changes. It has been designated as one of the most traditional locations in Greece so our hands are little bit tied at the moment.

Thank you once again for your comment, and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My wife, me and another couple friends stayed at Theoxenia on August 10th until the 14th of 2011.The hotel is located at a great location, only 2 to 3 minute walk from the center, it has its own parking area which is very convenient because there is no way you will find a parking spot in the center. The personnel was very helpful when called upon, the room was very clean, breakfast area overlooking the sea, breakfast buffet plentifull with a large variety of food. The only negative comment is that the room smelled of meald dew when we first entered, but after a little ventillation and the use of the airconditioning it disappeared. Overall a good hotel, in which I will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyriacos_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Mykonos Theoxenia, managed by Louis Hotels.

We are pleased to see that you much enjoyed the perfect location of our hotel as well as our services and our friendly staff members.

Hopefully we will accommodate you again in the nearest future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This was a fantastic hotel with great service. The breakfasts were amazing and 1st class. The pool is beautiful and the service at the pool and the entire hotel was great. Yes, it is expensive but everything in Mykonos is expensive. It is well worth it when you look back at all the great memories and beautiful photos!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear guest,

Your review about the Mykonos Theoxenia is much welcomed and we thank you for leaving your comments.

We are happy to read that you had a fantastic time when staying with us and that you enjoyed our services and facilities, as well as the quality of the food.

We are delighted when our guests have a memorable stay and we hope we will have the pleasure of accommodating you again in one of our Louis Hotels.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Great location in Mykonos Town. Beautiful rooms. Really nice breakfast. Friendly staff. Lovely pool area. We will certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlmroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Mykonos Theoxenia. We thank you for sharing your impressions about us and for choosing to come back for your holiday next year.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 83 in Mykonos Town
1,310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#12 of 83 in Mykonos Town
629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#7 of 83 in Mykonos Town
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vencia Hotel
Vencia Hotel
#5 of 83 in Mykonos Town
1,569 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kouros Hotel & Suites
Kouros Hotel & Suites
#8 of 83 in Mykonos Town
838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Myconian Kyma Design Hotel
Myconian Kyma Design Hotel
#18 of 83 in Mykonos Town
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mykonos Theoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Theoxenia

Address: Kato Milon, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Mykonos Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range: $250 - $767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mykonos Theoxenia 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mykonos Theoxenia boutique hotel in Mykonos Island is one of the most famous boutique hotels in Greece. With fresh, luxurious, modern aesthetic and strong 60s glam elements, Mykonos Theoxenia boutique hotel in Mykonos Island, is about to unfold its very best, in order to captivate you as the best of Mykonos Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mykonos Theoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mykonos Theoxenia Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos Town Theoxenia
Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos Theoxenia Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing