We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far from anywhere”
Review of Villa Matina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Matina
Ranked #47 of 66 Mykonos Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Lovely view and pool and a restaurant across the road. However 20 minutes walk up or down very steep hill or stairs (if you can find them on your way back) into town. Not near bus stop and taxis hard to find in Mykonos at night. Shower was less than a square metere with a broken rail and shower head was handheld making for very unpleasant and difficult showers. Room was clean and outside seating area nice but smelled of sewerage at times.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 104 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2006

I am from India. I lived at the Pension Matina during early October 2005. Location wise it is not very good unless you are hiring a buggy. One can see the sea front but it takes about 15 minutes to get down and you can forget climbing back , a cab is necessary. The room was spacious. There is an electric oven . There is not much in the form of staff but they r cordial and the rooms are well maintained.

5  Thank DrMrinmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2006

We stayed at the Pension Matina in Aug 05 and had the absolute time of our lives. We were warmly welcomed by Yannis and his family and interacted fantastically with the staff (Anna, Helena and Martin especially). Amazing views, great location, excellent vibe with pumping trance and dance music all day by the pool whilst drinking the most amazing marharita's!.
We are already planning to go back in 2007 for a month.
After travelling around the world - this is my favourite place, this is the place my mind escapes to most and occassionally when i think about it, i can almost feel the hot sun on my shoulders........what a great lifestyle!!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildfire975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
England
15
Reviewed March 19, 2005

We stayed at the Pension Matina five days this June,Our room was new,decent size and clean and the bathroom was nice and there was a in-room safe. We had a Balcony with nice view of Mykonos town and harbor.The pool area is nice and big.The location was so and so,cuse there was a downhill to follow so you can go to the center of the town but it isn't far,it's a 10 to 15 minutes walk.
We had a great time at Pension Matina.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2004

We stayed at the Pension Matina three days this July. Our room was new, nice, a decent size and clean. We had a very big porch (with furniture) with a nice view of Mykonos town and harbor. The bathroom was nice but the shower had no shower curtain. The pool area is also nice and big. Breakfast is not included and there is no in-room safe. The worst part about this place, however, is it's location. It is way up on top of a very steep hill from Mykonos town. There is a short cut (if you could find it...for pedestrians only) that goes straight up the hill but it is very steep, and dark at night. It's about a 10-15 minute hike and very tiring and annoying at 3am (suffering from inebriation) or 3pm (suffering from heat stroke & dehydration). Trying to catch a cab is next to impossible. I have nothing against Pension Matina except it's lofty location.

5  Thank worldtravellerLINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2004

Stayed at Matina for 3 days last July. Was OK as hotels go. Pickup from the port (but they all do that), air conditioning, TV, ensuite facilities, good breakfasts, nice swimming pool... A bit expensive, but then, everything on Mykonos is.

The biggest drawback was the location. It is NOT in Mykonos town... it's up the hill and quite a walk, especially at 4am after a night of partying in the town. There's a path that's a bit more direct than taking the road, but it's full of steep climbs, rocks, and isn't so clearly marked. As a woman walking through alone, it made me a bit nervous.

I love Mykonos and I had no specific complaints about the Matina, but if I go back I'll definately look to stay closer to town.

3  Thank segacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2004

The hotel is straight up the hill from the ferry dock--a steep climb not for anyone not in great shape. That said, taxis to and from the center of town are inexpensive. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms very nice and modern. There was an attractive pool area with a sunbathing deck and lovely view. I would definitely recommend it as a good buy, but the owner was VERY rude. I had no hot water on my first morning, and no power in the wall outlets, and when I went to talk to her about it, she made me feel that it was my fault. She refused to take my credit card, even though she had a card machine and obviously COULD have taken it--I had to pay cash. So, maybe she was just having a bad day--or maybe you get the rudeness along with the good bargain.

Thank bestmor46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Cavo Tagoo
Cavo Tagoo
#20 of 82 in Mykonos Town
850 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leto Hotel
Leto Hotel
#45 of 82 in Mykonos Town
350 reviews
1 mi away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#8 of 82 in Mykonos Town
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bill & Coo Suites and Lounge
Bill & Coo Suites and Lounge
#4 of 82 in Mykonos Town
595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harmony Boutique Hotel
Harmony Boutique Hotel
#25 of 82 in Mykonos Town
607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#12 of 82 in Mykonos Town
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Matina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Matina

Address: Xondros Gremos, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece (Formerly Pension Matina)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Mykonos Town
Price Range: $60 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Matina 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Matina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Matina Hotel Mykonos
Matina Hotel Mykonos
Villa Matina Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing