We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel. Amazing island. I can't wait to go back.”
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Alkyon Hotel is a gem of a hotel on a jewel of an island. Everything about the hotel was spot on - from the service, to the pool, to the amazing sunsets from our terrace every evening. Sophia, the hotel manager, is a wonderful host and the hotel is very well run. We we glad for the airport pick-up service, and Sophia helped to organise quad bikes, restaurants, excursions to Delos Island, and much more. Mykonos is a beautiful place, and if you're planning to visit, you should definitely stay at the Alkyon Hotel. I can't wait to go back again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joegriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
There are newer reviews for Alkyon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 753 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent four nights at the Alkyon hotel and loved every moment of it. It is perfectly located, about 20 minutes walk from the town of Mykonos with a spectacular view of the village, the ocean and the sunsets. It is located just far enough from Mykonos town which can be very busy with tourists. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff are friendly, efficient, smiling and always ready to help. We enjoyed talking with Sophia at the front desk and with the waiters from whom we learned a great deal about Greece and the names of the best seafood restaurants in the village.
For all the advantages that the Alkyon has to offer, it is truly inexpensive and a great deal.
Ann and Gabor Kato
Geneva, Switzerland

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKato11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is conveniently situated close to the airport but also close enough to have amazing views of Mykonos Town. My husband and I were amazed at the view of the sea as soon as we entered the lobby. The interior of the hotel was clean, crisp and comfortable. Sophia gave us a lot of help planning activities and arranged for a scooter rental. It is a short walk downhill to the maize of streets in Mykonos Town but was nice to escape all the other tourists and return back to the hotel at night and have amazing views of the sea and town. From our seaview room we could watch the sun set and see all of Mykonos Town including the windmills.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBonner2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

It is not often in life that you go to a hotel where you are already thinking of booking your next trip to the hotel and Mykonos as you are being checked in, but Alkyon Hotel is the place this will happen.

This is the second time I have been lucky enough to stay at the Alkyon Hotel and as ever I am taken back by the level of welcome and service that Sophia and her team provide when staying at the hotel.

It is a place where you feel you are staying with dear friends and not just paying for a room in a hotel.

From the moment you enter the hotel and are welcomed by Sophia to your first view of Mykonos Town from the balcony this hotel will always be with you.

The rooms in the hotel are all big and roomy with all the luxuries you need and unusually for Mykonos Town have a full size bath.

I was lucky enough to have a sea view room with a terrace looking straight over the wonderful view of Mykonos Town.

The pool area is an oasis of calm with padded sun-loungers to relax on and a pool that is refreshing cool to dive into when the heat of the sun gets to much.

The lounge of the hotel in my opinion is an underused area of the hotel by guests as it is a fantastic place to watch the Mykonian sunset on comfortable sofas with a bar on hand and is the perfect way to relax at the end of the day before enjoying the nightlife Mykonos Town has to offer.

The only grip I have ever heard about the Alkyon Hotel is the walk to and from the hotel to Mykonos Town but let me reassure you after completing this journey over 20 times it is not long or difficult as the walk, going down into town takes under 5 mins and is not strenuous and the return walk takes 10 mins which is only ever difficult in the midday sun.

Having said that the calories burnt on the route are a perfect way to burn off the calories put on from the hotel's ample breakfast lol.

If you are ever lucky enough to visit the island of Mykonos you will fall under it's spell and allure and want to return and the same is true with the Alkyon Hotel.

i look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had a fantastic four night stay, with Sofia and her team. All beautiful people, who's mission it is to make my holiday, and boy they did. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is beautiful through-out. The rooms all have a view of some description - so please don't get hung up about "my room isn't on the front", you will still have a wonderful view. This hotel isn't for babies in pushchairs, neither is it particularly for the elderly / wheelchair bound as there are a lot of steps. Breakfast was more than adequate, with fruit and greek yoghurt, both hot and cold dishes, and sweet pastries too. The rooms were lovely and clean, with a fridge in the room, which was useful. If you take the steps down to Mykonos town, it takes about 10 minutes, probably 20 by road, but both have incredible views. You can take a taxi back for 5 Euros.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just returned from a week away at this beautiful little hotel with amazing views over Mykonos Town. The hotel is owned by a lovely family who ensure you have a very comfortable stay. From the moment we arrived the short transfer from the airport was swift and the information given by Sophia on check-in about the town and the island was very good. The rooms are spacious and beds incredibly comfortable with full bathroom (don't often get a bath in Greece). Each room has a nice little terrace with wicker chairs and lovely view of the sea. The public areas of the hotel are beautifully furnished and the lovely pool area has sunbeds with big thick cushions! Everyone mentions the hike down into town, and I must admit it nearly put us off staying here. However it's worth it for the amazing views and to be honest we walked into town during the day and also in the evening but got a taxi back at night - (only 4 euros). Mykonos in general seems more expensive than some of the other islands but there seems to be restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets.Its also worth hiring a car of quad bike (which we did 20 euros a day) to discover the island. Delos is worth a visit on the ferry (takes about 20 mins)from Mykonos Town 17 euros return plus 5 euros for entry.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enj0ymyh0ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I absolutely recommend this hotel to EVERYONE! I spent two weeks in Greece and stayed at a variety of places ranging from a hostel for 10 euros a night all the way up to a 5-star hotel. Believe me when I say this is hands-down the best hotel in all of Greece! The views are amazing. The hotel is extremely clean. The rooms are spacious. The breakfast is delicious. And best of all, the hosts are AMAZING! Sophia is without a doubt the best concierge on the planet. She is not only extremely helpful with everything you could ask, but also seems genuinely happy to be of service. That is a rare thing in the hotel world. Sophia made our stay so wonderful that it exceeded all expectations. The hotel runs a free shuttle to take you to/from the port, Sophia arranged the rental of a moped for us, and she gave us the most accurately description of the island that we could have asked for. She has fantastic restaurant recommendations, wonderful entertainment insights, and made us feel truly welcome to stay at the hotel. Sophia also fluently speaks several languages including Greek (obviously), English, and French. She may speak others as well but those are the ones I heard. The price is extremely reasonable considering the great location, the amazing views, and the stellar service!

The location of the hotel is excellent - located on a hill overlooking Mykonos town, which provides for incredible views. It's only about 400 meters to walk down the hill to the town. The hike up and down the hill is very manageable for most people. However, in full disclosure, if you are a senior citizen or mobility-impaired, the hotel is probably in a very inconvenient location for you. If you don't fall into one of those two categories, this is absolutely the hotel for you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
#14 of 82 in Mykonos Town
675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#7 of 82 in Mykonos Town
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sunrise Hotel and Suites
Sunrise Hotel and Suites
#50 of 82 in Mykonos Town
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#13 of 82 in Mykonos Town
665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#6 of 82 in Mykonos Town
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Address: Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#15 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#20 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range: $105 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alkyon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing