We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Amazing Hotel in Greece!”
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Most Amazing Hotel in Greece!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I absolutely recommend this hotel to EVERYONE! I spent two weeks in Greece and stayed at a variety of places ranging from a hostel for 10 euros a night all the way up to a 5-star hotel. Believe me when I say this is hands-down the best hotel in all of Greece! The views are amazing. The hotel is extremely clean. The rooms are spacious. The breakfast is delicious. And best of all, the hosts are AMAZING! Sophia is without a doubt the best concierge on the planet. She is not only extremely helpful with everything you could ask, but also seems genuinely happy to be of service. That is a rare thing in the hotel world. Sophia made our stay so wonderful that it exceeded all expectations. The hotel runs a free shuttle to take you to/from the port, Sophia arranged the rental of a moped for us, and she gave us the most accurately description of the island that we could have asked for. She has fantastic restaurant recommendations, wonderful entertainment insights, and made us feel truly welcome to stay at the hotel. Sophia also fluently speaks several languages including Greek (obviously), English, and French. She may speak others as well but those are the ones I heard. The price is extremely reasonable considering the great location, the amazing views, and the stellar service!

The location of the hotel is excellent - located on a hill overlooking Mykonos town, which provides for incredible views. It's only about 400 meters to walk down the hill to the town. The hike up and down the hill is very manageable for most people. However, in full disclosure, if you are a senior citizen or mobility-impaired, the hotel is probably in a very inconvenient location for you. If you don't fall into one of those two categories, this is absolutely the hotel for you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    172
    36
    7
    14
See reviews for
77
396
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Would highly recommend the Alkyon Hotel in Mykonos. Spotlessly clean, towels changed every day, breakfast is good. Day of check out we were able to stay in our room until 12 when our free transfer to the airport was ready.

The views were tremendous. Down side was the hike into town, great going down, but hard work returning, but taxi,s back are cheap

Room Tip: It does promise Internet through out, we had sea facing room 123, only had access in the room on day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We've just returned from a one week stay at the Alkyon and could fault nothing. The whole experience was wonderful. Sophia and her family are lovely and could not do enough to ensure our holiday was a memorable experience.
The hotel is situated on the hill and it is quite a steep walk into the town which is not for the elderly or the infirm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a group of friends in Summer 2011 and it was nothing short of a wonderful experience - starting with the complimentary bus that was sent to collect us from the airport. Once at the hotel, check in was a breeze and the reception area inviting. Sophia (the manager) answered any questions we had and was always super friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The view from the Alkyon is incredible - a major plus of the hotel. If I had to be picky, I'd say that a pool side bar would have been great. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaM612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went in this hotel last summer (July 2012) and we enjoyed it.It is a nice hotel, 500 meters from the city though but you get nice views.The staff there is very helpful and nice with the visitors.Swimming pool was fantastic with lounge chairs and a pool bar from where you could get nice snacks and drinks during the day.The only negative was the Wi-Fi connection.Sometimes we could not get strong signal.If we ever consider to go back we would not have had any hesitation to choose Alkyon for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivipafeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I went in Alkyon as a part of a business trip in last September.This hotel is very well located 500 meters away from the city centre and it offers magnificent views of the town and the sea water.When I decided to visit Mykonos I already knew that I wanted a nice hotel in a peaceful location.So Alkyon was all these.They organised my pick up from the port (even though my ferry arrived late), a beautiful room with a big double bed and a nice balcony enjoying the sea.Breakfast was delicious with fresh meal products and it was prepared by the mother of the family (it is a family owned hotel).Sophia was very friendly and hospitable.When I was ready to leave I promised that I would be back and I will (I have already booked for this year)!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that are above of the reception area.These are very guiet and they offer nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasoGilo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Well, this was my first time in this hotel and I did not feel disappointed.This is a nice, clean hotel centrally located.Sophia was the best host ever! She was responsible in the front desk always with a smile in her face,very hospitable. Our room was large consisting of a king size bed and a big bathroom with a bath tub and a good hot water.Our balcony was facing the Mykonos town and the harbour.Our arrival & departure shuttle service was really fast.We were very happy with our choice.We will apsolutely be back the next time.Why don't you try either?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alSimins33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
#14 of 82 in Mykonos Town
661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#8 of 82 in Mykonos Town
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#6 of 82 in Mykonos Town
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#15 of 82 in Mykonos Town
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vencia Hotel
Vencia Hotel
#7 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Property: Alkyon Hotel
Address: Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#15 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#20 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alkyon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing