We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just gets better and better - fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just gets better and better - fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

My partner John and I have just returned from our 2 week stay at this fabulous hotel, our 9th consecutive year there for our annual 2 week holiday in Mykonos each September. The stunning views from the hotel and our room terrace never ever cease to amaze us. Add to this that we get such a warm welcome from Sophia and her family each year it really does feel like we are returning home. Each year Sophia and the family have made additions and improvemnets to the hotel and its facilities. This year there was a fantastic pool bar that served snacks and a great range of cocktails, we can certainly recommend the Mojito's and Pina Colada's, and great value too! The range of food at the breakfast buffet also gets better each year and you can get a full cooked breakfast with eggs, bacon, mushrooms, sausages etc. as well as a great range of cakes, melon, fruit and yoghurt. The rooms are always spottlessly clean and a nice little touch this year were the new fluffy white towels fresh every day bearing the hotel name, a nice touch! Our bedlinnen was changed several times a week.
We will be returning again next year and would recommend this hotel as the perfect place to stay, the views as I have already mentioned are the best on the island overlooking Mykonos town and the harbour.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Muscle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    163
    34
    6
    13
See reviews for
71
376
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pavia, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I spent my vacation time in this hotel for ony 1 night with a group of friends.So I did not want something special or luxurious.Alkyon Hotel has actually all these.It is a very nice hotel on the top of the town but very close to it.The view is beautiful.You can enjoy the sea and the city centre like you are in the sky.Everything is in a very short distance ( bars,restaurants,shops ).
We hired a small car from the hotel in order to drive around and Sophia gave us some good directions on where to go and what will be interested to see.When we ever visit Mykonos we will definitely stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gi0rgi066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend for five nights during the first half of September and were extremely impressed. It has an outstanding view overlooking the town and the sea, a great swimming pool and pool area, great bar, first class staff and lovely rooms. I couldnt recommend it higher. Also had good buffet breakfast.

There is an easy enough walk down to the town from the hotel, however we always got a taxi back up as it was quite a climb. Taxis never charged more than €5 so that wasnt an issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRaftery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

On our recent trip to Mykonos, we were overwhelmed by how great this hotel was. First, the hospitality. Personal interaction from the outset matched the pleasantness and professionalism of my email dialogue with Sophia to secure a booking. During the course of our stay, although without having many requests, the service was prompt and attentive each time that we did. As an example of how great the service was, in our haste to move to the next hotel in Plati Gialos for the remainder of our stay (which, I might add, we regretted), I forgot some clothes in a bedside drawer; Not only was our new hotel prompted of this ahead of my discovering my lapse of concentration, but when I went to pick up the clothes from Alkyon, each item was individually folded and placed neatly in a bag for me to receive - I've got to say, I didn't expect this, but was greatly surprised. Location is good, but hire a quad bike or scooter - Don't bother walking, the expense for transport hire is reasonably nominal in the scheme of a stay in Mykonos. Go for a superior room - Ours was massive compared to the room we had in Plati Gialos, and had a private terrace which was great for watching the awesome sunset over a bottle of vino. Breakfast, too, was plentiful and tasty (and I'm a fussy eater). Overall, a great experience, and it won't be our last (This was our fourth trip to Mykonos, and we still haven't tired of it). Keep it up, Sophia and team!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our stay at Alkyon but nothing short of amazing! The staff is so attentive and polite, and always have a smiles on their faces... The hotel is a family business, and they're always there, taking care of their guests. They handle everything for you, from ferries, to cabs, to restaurant recommendations and reservations, to rides to the airport. The hotel […] is literally 5 minutes away from the airport, and about a 15 minute walk to Mykonos town. It is a perfect location! You don't want to be right in the middle of Mykonos town because it can definitely get a little too crazy... The hotel pool is absolutely amazing!!!!!!! The views are unbelievable, the drinks are great, the blues from the pool, ocean and sky are from a Conde Nast magazine! You will be in awe the entire time! The rooms are nice, clean, comfortable. The breakfast is very nice, pastries, fruits, veggies, cheeses, eggs, jams, cereals, yogurt, lots of stuff! The staff is really what makes the place, you feel right at home!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views. If you want to be in a more "private" area, then get a vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apollo1682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Alkyon hotel was perfect for my boyfriend and I.We went there because a friend of us recommend it. But the reviews on trip advisor were positive so we think why we do not give a try?When we arrived at the airport the hotel driver was waiting for us to take us to the hotel by a hotel mercedes bus.We felt very comfortable from the first moment as we thought that this movement was very professional (not all the hotel provide free pick up service)!When we entered the hotel we met Sophia who was very smily and she welcomed us very warm.She is a perfect hostess!Then we went in our room and we could not believe how big it was and what an amazing view was offered from our balcony.It was exactly what we wanted.Pool was great and the breakfast was big enough.We would like to thank alkyon hotel and the staff for this nice stay that we had with them!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon, and were absolutely thrilled with the place. It's situated at the top of the hill overlooking Mykonos town, and in our opinion has the best view of the sunset on the whole island. You can follow the path down to town in ten minutes. The people who run the hotel are so welcoming and accommodating, the rooms are nice, big and clean, and the pool is gorgeous! Breakfast is wonderful as well. I cannot recommend the Alkyon Hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katpet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
#12 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
70.1 mi away
Andronikos Hotel
Andronikos Hotel
#4 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vencia Hotel
Vencia Hotel
#8 of 82 in Mykonos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Poseidon Hotel - Suites
Poseidon Hotel - Suites
#13 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#11 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aeolos Mykonos Hotel
Aeolos Mykonos Hotel
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Property: Alkyon Hotel
Address: Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#15 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#20 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alkyon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing