We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel with perfect owners.”
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 night honeymoon stay at this hotel. It was simply amazing.The location of the hotel is breathtaking, stunning views and perfectly located above of Mykonos centre.The service is perfect,you don't have to worry about anything at all, they do it all for you, always with a smile, and you don't even have to ask as the staff knows what you want before you.We stayed in a double deluxe room.It was beautiful and elegant, tastefully furnished, extremely big and very clean.Breakfast was the biggest plus-big variety to choose from and fresly cooked daily.Just to mention that all the amazing reviews you read about Alkyon hotel are absolutely true.Thank you so much Sophia and family for the wonderful stay in your peace of heaven.We will see each other again very soon!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victor805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 763 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in the middle of September. Sophia arranged the complimentary transfer for us from the port, and made sure we were settled in our room despite the fact that we arrived in the evening. In fact, Sophia always seemed to be around, to answer questions or provide suggestions and directions, with endless good humor. The hotel is located on several levels, above town on the road leading both to the aiport and to the port. Our room, with a panoramic view overlooking the sea, town center, and port, was large and comfortable, with shuttered windows on two sides and the typically picturesque double wood doors leading out to our private terrace. Sleeping with the doors wide open was a treat, especially with the full moon setting over the sea. The bath was also enormous and well appointed. Breakfast, served on the terrace overlooking the sea, was ample and delicious, with Greek and continental choices, and frequently replenished. The main lobby area was very nicely decorated, with a bar and adjacent terraces overlooking the sea (located below our room). While the infinity pool looked very inviting we just didn't have time to try it. Other posters have talked about the location above town as an issue, but we enjoyed walking down the steps into town, checking out local stores, homes, and architecture on the way. Taxis were available from Taxi Square back up to the hotel for 4 euros (although if one were staying in the middle of summer, finding a taxi right away might be an issue). Moreover, the hotel is located right next to a bus stop that will take you to delightful beaches - we spent more than 1/2 day at Elia Beach. Check-out was a breeze, and Sophia made sure our complimentary transfer to the port for our departure was arranged. All in all, this was our favorite hotel during our entire trip to Greece and Turkey, and we felt that it was great value for our money. We already have recommended the hotel to a couple we met later during our trip, in Santorini.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCintrepidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I could not be more satisfied with my stay here!This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in..It is clean,recently renovated with a magnificent view of the bay and the sea.From the first moment we checked in we felt like home!Sophia is very helpful and available any time for any question we may had.Our room was modern with big bathroom and a large veranda overlooking the sunset of Mykonos!We had a free pick up and drop off at the port which was another plus.Free Wi-Fi all over.Breakfast is plentiful served in a nice big breakfast area with a perfect view too.We will certainly come back and recommend it to all of our friends and family!

Room Tip: Book a pick up and drop off the ferry port or the airport.It is very useful and it is free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alehandranvesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

For a honeymoon stop, we found the Alkyon hotel through a hotel search and was attracted by it's price vs other similar hotels. We were able to email the owners in advance with questions, and they were able to secure our booking without a deposit, extremely flexible in this regard.

Pool was clean and lit, surrounded by umbrella'd deck chairs, and breakfast service was stocked with a combination of continental and greek items. Breakfast area had the same view as the units themselves, so it was a treat to have you tea/coffee watching the cruise-ship and docks. Rooms themselves had a (moderately hard) bed, fresh linens, and shared patio deck with an elevated view of the port (something you couldn't get with a centrally located hotel). TV featured mostly greek programming, and wifi internet connection was functional but occasionally slow. In acknowledgement of our honeymoon, they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine waiting in our room! This was much appreciated.

Sofia, Nick and their father were extremely helpful during our stay. Sofia suggested restaurants, beaches and other activities for our stay on the island, and arranged for an ATV quad rental nearby (only a block from the hotel). The hotel staff were able to drive us to/from the port & airport (even at super-early hours), and helped us print our boarding passes for our flight. We can't say enough about their service, as it was a highlight amongst the mostly average service we felt everywhere else in Greece, hotels or otherwise.

The location was the only shortcoming -- a 10-15 minute walk downhill to Mykonos-town, it was a nice pleasant way to explore but features some steep rocky steps. Please be aware and cautious, just in case. We were comfortable with the walk for our 3 days, but any longer may wear on other travellers. To travel back, we hired a taxi from the town centre (4 EUR on average), which you could use in your budgeting comparisons vs other hotels. In the end, we felt this was a worthwhile tradeoff for the class of hotel we received.

Of all the stops at our European trip, this was close to the best hotel experience we had. We would recommend this hotel to friends & family for it's value.

Room Tip: Taxi's from Mykonos town centre average 4 euros, without tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed here with two kids, had a room with a double sofa bed.
And it was the most comfortable sofa bed I have felt. And the most comfortable matresses in our 12 days in Greece.
They picked us up from the port, and returned us there. Great rooms, great pool and a 5 minute walk down to town.
In six weeks in Europe this was the best value place we found.
Hope to be back

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew1971Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Alkyon hotel for 3 nights mid-September and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. The staff was amazing, from rearranging rides to and from the port, to helping us with our excursions while on the island. Our room was spacious, clean, up-to-date and accompanied with a fantastic balcony view of Mykonos town directly below. (If you look at the hotel website, the pictures are definitely accurate and stand true). The pool area was beautiful and the breakfast area was great from the Sea and town views to the food. Just outside the hotel was a pathway where a 5 minute walk will get you to the heart of the town. I ended up passing by alot of the other hotels I looked at along the walk, but I honestly would have missed the quiet and the view in staying directly in town. Alkyon was perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at Alkyon for 3 nights. Great email confirmation prior to our arrival. Free port/airport transport. Room was nice and clean. The mattress wasn't the greatest but the strong shower was good. Sophia at the front desk was the best. She provided us with a map and list out places to see and restaurants she likes. We were worried about our flight to Athens due the strike. She volunteered to call our Athens hotel to confirm everything for us. She also printed out our online boarding pass for us at no charge. Location is also convenient since there were bus stops right outside and a 15 minute walk takes you to downtown.

2 small complaint: uncomfortable mattress and slow wifi.

However the customer service we received was great and it deserves 5 star!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudypita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Vencia Hotel
Vencia Hotel
#5 of 83 in Mykonos Town
1,569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 83 in Mykonos Town
1,310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#14 of 83 in Mykonos Town
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aeolos Mykonos Hotel
Aeolos Mykonos Hotel
#1 of 83 in Mykonos Town
1,235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#7 of 83 in Mykonos Town
970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Damianos Hotel
Damianos Hotel
#6 of 83 in Mykonos Town
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Address: Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#20 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range: $104 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alkyon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing