We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Alkyon for 10 days in May. We had a lovely bright, clean room with it's own little balcony with sea view. The room was cleaned everyday. The pool area was fantastic with amazing views over Mykonos town and the sea. The service we experienced was second to non. Sophia and team will go out of their way to make you feel welcome and were happy to recommend places to visit and restaurants to dine in. Sophia also organised a trip to Delos Island and the hiring of a Quad bike for us too. We were greeted at the airport by Alkyon staff who took us straight to the hotel free of charge. Breakfast was buffet style which consisted of a good selection of continental foods with egg and bacon. The hotel is located at the top of a hill so be mindful that there are alot of steps to walk up and down, however it only takes between 5 and 10 minutes to reach the centre of Mykonos town. All in all I would recommend this hotel as it was great value for money, fantastic location and the views are breathtaking.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    170
    36
    6
    13
See reviews for
73
387
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I stayed here early May with my partner for 2 days and I felt very impressed with this property and the service that provides.It is a family run hotel consisting of Sophia and her family.The cleanliness was excellent and above of high standards.The lobby area is recently refurbished and it seems like you are in a boutique hotel rather than in an A class hotel.Our room was big enough with light coloured linen and a magnificent view of the town and the bay!The staff and especially the family was extremely helpful.Everything you need you had it at once!We felt very warm there and we will certainly come back!
It was an excellent choice and we are happy that we spent our vacation time in Alkyon hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenssweet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed two nights, 3 adults and 1 2 year old child. The walk down the hill was not that bad and we can confirm it was about 10 minutes, but you could not use a stroller down the hill. It was only 4 euros to take a taxi to/from town which to be honest is just as fast (and easy to take the stroller).

The hotel was very nice. The staff were great, but they were probably understaffed by one or two. Bring cash as they prefer cash on check out. Food/drink was cheaper than the town.

It was probably a good spot to bring a toddler.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_UpperWestSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my older son and daughter. I can't say enough about the courtesy and professionalism of the staff, in particular Sophia. They were gracious and helpful with inquiries at all times. The hotel itself is lovely and has been recently renovated. It has a fresh, airy feeling and looks much more luxurious than its price suggests. Overall, we felt we got great value and our stay at the hotel was very pleasant. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytravler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Yes, a breathtaking view, great service that makes you feel welcome, pampered and welcomed warmly. Excellent breakfast and beautiful surroundings. Great ambience.
Not so expensive. I really recommend.
The guys working there are very kind, truly available and nice. Pretty ready to help in anything you need. It was a pleasure to stay there!

Room Tip: Ask for the see side view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lentisco_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The hotel is probably lately refurbished and its lobby is certainly one of the best decorated. It gives you a feeling of staying in much more expensive premise, very elegantly decorated and spacious. Sophia was very friendly and had done us a good introduction of Mykonos on a map.

Room was clean. Size was average. TV is a flat panel one with a lot of channels - surprise! Even more surprise with the modern bathroom which is equipped with a tub - not to be found with the majority of similarly priced places. The shower was one of the best with great water pressure and hot water.

Breakfast was buffet style and served in its dining room with an open-air terrace with a view over the town and sea. The choice of food was reasonable enough.

Transport to/from port was free. Given the rate of 55 euros, this place is a bargain for what it has to offer. Although it is a 10-15 minutes walk from the town, it's still worth considering for a stay outside the town proper in Mykonos.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank life_on_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We found Alkyon Hotel through Trip Advisor page.The most reviews were perfect so me and my husband decided to book here and we did not regret it!We had a beautiful large room (I could say the best one) with a marvelous view over the town and the bay.We were looking the sunset from our balcony every day!It was super!Sophia and her family are lovely people always smily and very welcoming!!Sophia gave us some very good tips on what to do while our stay there.She takes care very much of her quests and she knows how to do it.We thank her very much for this.Mum Maria is a very good cooker.She was preparing the breakfast for us which was delicious.We promise that we will come back the next year!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
#12 of 82 in Mykonos Town
634 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#4 of 82 in Mykonos Town
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vencia Hotel
Vencia Hotel
#7 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#3 of 82 in Mykonos Town
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#11 of 82 in Mykonos Town
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Property: Alkyon Hotel
Address: Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#15 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#20 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alkyon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing