We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, does the job!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great staff, does the job!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Currently sunbathing overlooking the Aegean sea and Mykonos town, basking in the sun, thoroughly enjoying the Hermes hotel.

As is many previous reviews the hotel is situated above town, roughly 15 mins walk from town down the windy roads or one of two shortcuts, some would consider the walk quite steep, so if you have difficulties walking you will need a taxi.

Breakfast is basic but good, fresh ingredients, you can help yourself to coffee, tea, juices, egg, bacon, sausage, toast, greek breakfast, cereal and pastries, you won't go hungry!

Other reviews mentioned the noise of the passing traffic, you do hear it but soon get used to it, quads, mopeds and cars pass by regularly but this wouldn't put me off.

Rooms - We were allocated 212, spacious, fairly modern, balcony over looking the road and car park, bed is comfy, shower and bath with good pressure and decent temperature control, air con proved a little temperamental at times but did pump out cold air. Overall this is a nice bright room, I would rate it between 3 & 4*'s.

The hotel grounds and reception are immaculately kept, the staff work tirelessly to keep this place spotless, they are a great team, friendly and willing to help all the time.

It does get quite windy due to the location, with the wind rolling off the sea and up the hill, the sun can be quite deceiving due to the wind cooling you down, keep you sun tan lotion well topped up!

I would recommend the Hermes to anybody wanting a comfortable stay in Mykonos, this hotel does deserve it's 4*'s, it is typical of other Greek 4*'s I have stayed at.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    159
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
50
366
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. It is a more standard hotel room however the pool, lobby etc are beautiful & modern. Everything in the hotel was well kept & clean. We couldn't fault the hotel at all.
It is a short 10-15min walk into town & a nice hike back up but that's not a huge issue.
The pool is lovely & the view is gorgeous.
Staff were always readily available to help & prompt.
If your interested in somewhere cost effective, close to home with some home creature comforts then definitely think about staying here!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sammy1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip in Greece. The hotel was VERY clean, wifi was quite decent and breakfast was included in our rate. The breakfast buffet was fairly extensive and we enjoyed it every morning. We even had breakfast the first day we arrived before checking in. The hotel is not right in town, it's a short 10min trek down, but a bit longer hike uphill to go back. We had no problems with the location as we rented an ATV for the 3 days there.

The room we had was accessed from outside, beside the pool. We had to walk up a flight of stairs, which was no problem, but I might not recommend that for the elderly. The room was a good size, had luggage bench and tables to put all your stuff, easy access to plugs to charge your electronics and a decent-sized safe.

The washroom was really big and clean. The only minus is that there is no ventilation in the washroom and the one window in there strangely opened out to a hallway. (Though I'm finding most of the washrooms in Greece are not ventilated.) They also use Korres products for hair and body wash if that is your thing (I loved it!) So overall a really great experience for our first hotel in Greece.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue-Jane81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel & our room were very clean & well kept. From meeting the driver of our transfer at the airport, all if the staff were extremely helpful, providing lots of information on the local area & short cuts to town as soon as we arrived. Great breakfast every morning & great service any time we needed anything. Just a short walk to town, so a great location too.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is on the hill with a nice view on the town.
The room is pretty and clean. The sheets smell really good :)
The terrace is large and hanging out there from 6:00 to the sunset is amazing.
The only negative point is that it's a little far from the town. If you plan to party, you will have to climb up the hill for about... 15 minutes (?) depending how sober you are.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerorine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Many hotels in Mykonos do not open until May 1. After some research we chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. Notwithstanding the glowing reviews, reading between the lines, we were prepared for a B&B experience. In our mind, we got what we expected.

Rooms are clean but very basic. The hotel does not have king beds but rather two singles pushed together under a king sized headboard. Mattresses are reasonably comfortable. The TV is not very large but service is OK. Noise carries from outside the rooms as well as from above and from rooms next door, including plumbing noises. The hotel is between two roads which can be quite noisy although at night time traffic is next to nil. Breakfast is very basic. Wi-Fi, which is free, is weak and/or inconsistent. Our room had a very nice patio overlooking the town and sea.

The hotel is built on a hillside and there is a modern elevator between the lobby and the breakfast room. No other meals are served although snacks like sandwiches are readily available.

Much has been said of the view and sunsets. Frankly, we have seen many better views and sunsets in other parts of the world.
The intent of this review is not to be critical but rather to manage expectations. This hotel is in the ''luxury hotels'' category in Tripadvisor. The overall rating is 4.5, identical to the King George which is in Athens and which is truly a luxury hotel. At best the Hermes is a 3 star hotel operated by hardworking management and staff who try hard to please guests. If one goes to the Hermes expecting a B&B experience, one will be very satisfied. We expect that most of the hotels in Mykonos town will be in a similar category.

Tripadvisor is becoming sophisticated enough now to start differentiating hotels so that hotels are compared by category. This is not the first time where we have stayed in a facility that has had a very high overall rating but is not at that standard. Guests who stay at, say, the King George, have a higher expectation and thus tend to be more unforgiving than one paying a lot less to stay at a hotel such as the Hermes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank randltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

stayed for the weekend and couldn't fault the hotel.

the sea view rooms (well worth any supplement) have stunning views and high quality bedding, towels, bathrobes etc.

the hotel will pick you up from the airport/port and take you back - if you contact them with your flight/ferry details.

Breakfast was of middling quality but perfectly acceptable.

the location is high up overlooking the town. as other reviewers say, it is an enjoyable walk town and an expensive taxi back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjh2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#5 of 82 in Mykonos Town
893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#3 of 82 in Mykonos Town
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vencia Hotel
Vencia Hotel
#7 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#17 of 82 in Mykonos Town
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#11 of 82 in Mykonos Town
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Mykonos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Mykonos Hotel

Property: Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Address: Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#11 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#12 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermes Mykonos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermes Mykonos Hotel is situated in a quiet, unspoiled and picturesque area, 5 minutes from Mykonos Town [Chora]. The breathtaking scenery of the white-colored houses with the sensational view of the sea and the surrounding islands blends in the most harmonious way with the arched emerald pool, easing your senses under the cloudless Greek sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hermes Mykonos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Mykonos Town
Hermes Mykonos Hotel Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing