We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“High Above Mykonos, Greece Birds Eye Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Ranked #51 of 81 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High Above Mykonos, Greece Birds Eye Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Elysium Hotel is an incredible place for the views, the meals, the staff, and the accomodation sits at the highest point overlooking old town Mykonos. The rooms allow for natural sea air, so they are very modern in decoration, but practical in design.

Room Tip: The rooms furthest from the pool would be the quietest. In high season, at sunset the party begins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    64
    37
    32
    41
See reviews for
2
109
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was our second time at Elysium. We stayed there for 12 nights and when we get back next summer we will stay there again. The staff is great, always welcoming, a big smile and with the ambition to really take care of you. The atmosphere is relaxed and I love to stay at the pool in the late afternoon after the beach. The only thing that needs to be improved is the gym, it needs air condition.
Tobbe from Sweden

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobbe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Didn't stay at this hotel, and so glad we didn't. We'd heard about the Happy Hour 2 for 1 cocktails at the sunset bar so we decided to go into town and then take the big walk up the hill to the Elysium (or should we call it the ASYLUM). Great view of the harbour, but you can get this view for free elsewhere.The bar staff, rude and obnoxious knew how to work the punters. We asked if it was Happy hour and they wouldn't give us a straight answer, so we had to assume. After 3 lousy cocktails each, we were presented with a bill of 90 euro!!! 15 euro each for dreadful cocktails in plastic glasses. We complained to the manager who just shrugged his shoulders and couldn't care less. I would just like everyone who visits this place to BEWARE of the game playing from the bar staff, I would actually advise you to go elsewhere, you'd have a much better time than wasting your money on this tired old joint who heavily rely on and abuse the pink pound.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mykonos Town hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very welcoming staff and helpful, Good location with beautiful view, clean room with suitable amenities. Only had breakfast in the hotel and it was good. Pool area is nice and well attended with varieties of food and drinks to be served. Pool gathering (daily between 8pm to 10pm) was nice yet the music at the beginning should be a bit merrier. My friends and myself had a pleasent stay over a weekend and certainly will reccommond the hotel and will be back again in September

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustafa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

It is very well dohe hotel!!!
Beutiful ambient with a amzing view of Mykonos Town...
Staff are very kind... From cleaning service until barmen...
Terrific Service!!!

Every Noon Time Around 19:30 is amazing to watch sunset and listen cool ambient music until the show start (show time: 20:00 - 22:30)...
Even during the day at the swimming pool are very cool chill-out music (suggest some synthpop or 90's)...

I will rate this hotel EXCELLENT even I had a few small complains...

1st Internet Connection should be better (not reaching all the rooms) and
2nd The Bathroom are too small... (especialy for bear guests)

It is very worth to stay...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EBSerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hersonissos, Greece
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

What a shame that TA does not let you rate a property as 'Below Average', because that is how I would like to rate it in comparison to gay hotels in general!

The reception area is what you would expect to find in a boutique hotel and makes a wonderful first impression , but then, my room at any rate, completely let the place down. The room is a good size but the furniture is very basic (Mykonian Rustic style!) and not at all stylish, and I would expect a lot better furnishings and decorations at this price and in a gay boutique hotel. A decent comfortable chair would be nice and a coffee table to sit at to go with it, there is plenty of room for it.

There is a fridge but no kettle so you cannot even make a cup of tea in the morning!

I was booked into a ‘standard single’, which appeared to have a double bed but which was actually two singles pushed together (not unusual in Greece!). But what is this? The mattress is as hard as rock, which for me, meant that I got the BEST NIGHT'S sleep (for three nights in a row) that I have had in any hotel in years!

The American breakfast is what you would expect, fresh fruits, yogurt, cereals, cakes and sweet pastries, as well as bacon, scrambled eggs, and little Frankfurter sausages (all of these last three could and should have been kept hotter than they were), plus a selection of cold meats and cheeses.

What a shame then that the fruit juices were not fresh.

The coffee is passable, but as a plus the bread is some of the freshest and crustiest that I have ever had in Greece and you had to cut it yourself. It would have been a crime to toast it!

Only trouble is I have had just as good breakfasts in tourist hotels in Peru and Athens that cost a third of the price!

The location is great for the view and the Elysium appears to be not far from Mykonos Town except that is at the top of a steep hill (the climb up to the School of Fine Arts is not too bad), and if you have dodgy knees then you will have a problem (at a guess I would say that the main age groups that can afford the prices here will also be those that are beginning to show such signs of age!), just like I did. As others have pointed out taxis are as common as hen’s teeth in Mykonos, although when you do get one they are not expensive, but look forward to a wait of over an hour to get a taxi at 1am.

The pool and bar area are nicely laid out, but do allow for the fact, as is usual with Greek web sites, that some of the photos have been ‘Photoshop’d’ to death.

The bar prices are even more expensive than down in Mykonos Town, which bearing in mind the price of the rooms is a bit unfair, a 330ml bottle of beer is 7 euros, a campari and soda is 10 euros. The pool area is crowded at 'Sunset Hour', but most of them are not guests at the hotel.

Up until now I though the worst drag show I had ever seen was in Santiago de Chile, I can now say that the worst drag show ever is at the Elysium. On the first night the main drag artist used the same line twice, and it wasn't funny the first time, and was an old joke when I was young, On the second night she made a very tasteless comment about Kylie Minogue and breast cancer. The main drag artist is apparently in great demand, presumably from people who have never seen a decent drag show in their lives, and is hoping to start getting dates in the UK. I think she shouldn’t get her hopes too high. (Yes Mr. Moderator I spotted the bit you did not like in the first review!).

The Go-go dancers should do just that.....

Avoid rooms on the road side of the hotel, when the sun gets up you will be too, and on a Sunday morning the road is a busy thoroughfare for people on quad bikes and scooters at 6am, although rooms 116 and 117 do have ‘Juliet’ balconies where you act as concierge and watch everyone arriving for the ‘sunset hour’.

Staff are generally young and friendly, reception staff are helpful and informative, I like the idea of staff uniforms but at these prices I would expect them to be wearing proper shorts not sloppy creased up ‘cut off’ track suit bottoms.

A final tip, if you arrive by ferry there is no taxi rank and you will need to call a cab to get one to come for you, the taxi office number is 22890 23700. The hotels Nazos and Zannis are across the road from the Elysium, if you happen to see their courtesy buses at the port, ask them nicely and they might give you a lift! On departure the reception staff could not even get through to the taxi office to call me a cab so they got one of the staff to take me down to the port. At 210 euro a night i would have expected them to offer to pick me up on arrival too!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview and on the first floor, that way you do not get the sun waking you up, and you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mitselakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I didn't stay at the hotel as it was double the price of equivalent properties. The sunset parties are great, however a beer costs €9 when at the bars in Town is half the price. Stevie at the bar is a real gem and Vanessa the show queen is superb. Worth the extra costs of the drinks. The sunsets are stunning. On viewing the property and rooms friends were staying in I must say for half the price I was getting the same quality and closer to Mykonos Town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Geranium Residence
Geranium Residence
#70 of 81 in Mykonos Town
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#15 of 81 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Despotiko Hotel Mykonos
Despotiko Hotel Mykonos
#59 of 81 in Mykonos Town
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ilio Maris Hotel
Ilio Maris Hotel
#27 of 81 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
#14 of 81 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Beach
Grand Beach
#21 of 81 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Property: Elysium Hotel
Address: Area, School of Fine Arts | PO Box 84600, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elysium Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Hotel Mykonos Town
Elysium Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing